We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ludwig

Hotel Ludwig
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kitzbuhel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ludwig
Save Saved
You added Hotel Ludwig to your Saves list
Marchfeldgasse 6, Kitzbuhel, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Hotel Ludwig is the jewel in Kitzbuhel's crown, it's clean, comfortable, warm and friendly. The friendly part is supplied by Walter the attentive owner. We had no complaints apart from our headaches which were all of our own making. Hotel Ludwig is suitable for groups (as we were), families or couples and is in a quiet spot but close to the main lift.
Walter will organise everything for you and can boil the perfect egg.
Kitzbuhel is much better value than the big French resorts, the bars and restaurants are run well with friendly English speaking staff and there is plenty to do such as swim, skate or go to the Ice Hockey.
I really can't see us skiing anywhere else other than Kitzbuhel and Hotel Ludwig in future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

thinking about our holiday in Kitzbühel, we definiteley have to point out that our stay at the Hotel Ludwig made our trip unique.
It is a beautiful property owned by Walter and Maria who offer as mentioned in previous reviews an outstanding service from arrival to departure.
The rooms are spacious and very clean. The hotel is in walking distance (about 5 minutes) to the centre and to the Hahnenkamm (about 3 minutes)
The breakfast buffet offers a big choice of local products, complimentary W-Lan in your room, the sauna as well as a ski room with heating for your boots are excellent features which make your stay just perfect. I would highly reccommend "Hotel Ludwig" and we can't wait for another trip to Kitz.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

We were a group of 8 that stayed with Walter at Ludwig in March. The hotel was excellent and 4 of the group stayed with one of Walter's apartments in town that was 2 minutes walk from the cable car and right in centre of the town. We would highly recommend the hotel and apartment. For location it cant be better and Walter was a great host letting us have shower etc after 2pm on the last day after skiing. Id also recommen Take 5 nightclub for some Eurotrash partying. Very late but great. Londoner, The Highway and Jimmy's all good too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2008

Recently stayed at the Hotel Ludwig. Good location close to the Hannenkam lift and not far from the centre. Very quiet. The hotel is basic but the beds are comfortable. We felt it was over priced for the standard of accommodation. Walter is helpful but a little inflexible. Be wary of his precious toaster! He will organise taxi's, reservations etc which is good but we weren't allowed to order take away or dry our clothes! The heating never seems to be on so after a wet days skiing its a little difficult to get dry! On the whole we had a pleasant trip but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2008

I have to agree with the previous reviews, Walter really does make your stay a pleasure. The hotel is in a nice quiet position just a few minutes stroll to the town centre and the Hannenkahm lift. The rooms are all nice and clean and decorated in the typical Austrian style. We enjoyed the breakfast which was self service with plenty of choice. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Staff friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2008

I booked this Hotel at the last minute, and I must agree with the other reviews that I have read. The owner, Walter went of his way to make our stay enjoyable. He was full of advice and even brought our key which we had forgotten to the pub when the apres ski went on a bit long. The hotel is close to the lift,train and village, 5 mins walk. I think that it would suit couples and families rather then big groups. The rooms are excellent, clean and bright. I travel a lot and do not write reviews, but in this instance I thought that Walter and his hotel deserved it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

We booked the hotel at the last minute by phoning from a list of available properties received from the Tourist Office, and were pleasantly surprised.

The owner (Walter) went out of his way to be accomodating and was very knowledgeable about the local area, ski lifts, rentals etc. The hotel is well located, a short walk from the cable lift and the town centre.

Our room (suite) consisted of a double bedroom with an amazing amount of storage and a seperate living room with a 3rd bed for our teenage daughter. The rooms were nicely decorated, and included an immaculate bathroom with shower. Mountain views were amazing.

Hotel was dog friendly and accommodating og our Bernese Mountain Dog.

Breakfast was excellent, and the bar was cosy.

  • Liked — excellent service and location
  • Disliked — Nothing really springs to mind
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ludwig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ludwig

Address: Marchfeldgasse 6, Kitzbuhel, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Also Known As:
Ludwig Hotel Kitzbühel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ludwig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.