We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sporthotel Reisch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sporthotel Reisch to your Saves list
Sporthotel Reisch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Franz Reisch Strasse 3, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My room was large for a single, quiet, on the back side of the building, bathroom separate from the toilet, which I like. The mattress was too hard, though. Staff was very friendly and always helpful. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    25
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
41
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We were warmly welcomed on our arrival and although it was 9pm, we were offered a full meal in the restaurant. Our room was well decorated, spacious and spotless. The food was fantastic - there was an excellent range of cereals, breads, meats, cheese, juice etc. available at breakfast. The evening meals could not be faulted, with plenty of choice on offer. The family and staff were very pleasant and made sure that we were well looked after. As with the other reviews, if we had a niggle, it would be that the room was quite hot but we knew there was no air conditioning before we booked and it would not stop us choosing this hotel in the future.
The hotel is centrally located in Kitzbuhel and both cable cars, shops, bus stops, etc are easily accessible. It provides a good base for exploring the area. I would recommend buying a lift and bus pass if you intend to travel around.
Overall, we would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a place to stay in Kitzbuhel. It is certainly one that we will go back to.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were greeted warmly into this family run hotel. There is free parking either out back or opposite the hotel in their own lot. The hotel looks typically Tirolean and is spotlessly clean. Our room was recently renovated – most particularly the bathroom, which was lovely and had an interesting finish on the walls called I think, Terra. I loved it so much I want it for the bathroom we’re renovating at home. Our room was large with a wide bed, a separate sitting area with sofa and a balcony overlooking the park behind the hotel. Ask for a Hannenkahm view room as these are far quieter than the ones at the front of the hotel. We enjoyed dinner there on the first night with Tirolean specialties. The breakfast spread is amazing, everything you could possibly think of! So many varieties of tea, cheeses, cereals, breads, cold meats and hot food and even honey in the honeycomb for your cereal or toast. Free wi-fi in our room was much appreciated by both of us and very easy to connect to. There is a wellness centre in the basement and I enjoyed a fantastic 2 hour all over massage that really got rid of my aches and pains. We felt very comfortable and welcome at the Sporthotel Reisch and would definitely stay here again when visiting Kitzbuhel. Worth more than 5 stars!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated Hannekahm view room. Very quiet and with a balcony overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This really is a first rate hotel. The staff, the food (the best we have had in the 9 years of skiing in Austria), the location couldn’t be faulted at all, absolutely fantastic. The only small niggle would be that the room (front facing) was a little too hot and there was some very late night noise from outside, but this could only be heard if you opened the window, so it was never a major issue. Having said that I wouldn’t stay at any other hotel in Kitszbuhel (and I have tried others). I can’t really add anything more to what others have already said and praised so highly. This is a family owned and run hotel with the owners visible each day, and it shows by their attentiveness and keen to please approach, many thanks to them for making the stay so pleasurable. The Tripadvisor ranking is 15th is a joke, there are photos of several guests who have stayed in the hotel in the past, amongst them are Franz Beckenbauer and Damien Hill – enough said!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Terrific hotel, well-run and very welcoming. We had two rooms - one a renovated "legends" room and the other not yet renovated. The Legends room was really beautiful, with a sleek decor, wooden floors and a gorgeous bathroom. The other room was very nice as well, more traditionally furnished. Both were on the garden side of the hotel which was very quiet. If you are a light sleeper, be sure to book a room on the garden side. The breakfast was simply amazing. Yes, there is an issue with cigarette smoke in the dining room, but it was not a huge deal.
Loved this hotel and would definitely return!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Not a five star review because the room is too warm. No way of controlling the heat apart from opening the window, and you can't do that because drunks from the Londoner opposite will wake you at 4am or street cleaning carts at 6am. There is no air con so it must be murder in summer; it's not that old a building so this is a terrible omission in its design.

I had a single room, which was very large for a single room with just about a double sized bed, and the large TV gets 3 BBC channels. I wish Austrian hotels would provide a way of making tea or coffee - just a kettle would do as there is a supermarket directly opposite, but perhaps I'm being too British..

The food is good, but again not great; the breakfasts are excellent with a wide choice, but the dinners I had were really 4 star not 5 star. Half board now seems a really good deal; you get free choice from the a la carte menu for 3 course, value perhaps €40+. Worth factoring in if you have the option.

But... some of the dining room is still smoking. Why is Austria so far behind everyone else? It's a dying habit! There are small no smoking areas, but this for a start is the wrong way round - if people want to smoke it should be a small hermetically sealed area for them, avoiding spoiling everyone else's enjoyment of food; be brave Hotel Reisch and ban smoking in the restaurant.

(Smoking is common throughout bars and restaurants in Austria - the law is separate areas have to be provided for smoking and non smoking if the facility is above a certain size; the degree of success for this is varied. Sometimes it is with doors, but sometimes like the Reisch it is just different areas all open to each other.

Also, a small bug bear of mine; we are heating up the world enough as it is, but patio heaters in an outside bar? Really? The indoor bar however is one of the nicest in the town.

More plus points: excellent boot room in the hut outside with heated boot bars, and the hotel is quite close to the main gondola - about 200 to 300 metres as a guess, a little uphill. You can leave shoes at the main gondola for €2 a day if you'd rather not walk in boots.

Hotel staff very friendly; provided plasters daily :) Wifi is good and free.

There is free parking on a piece of hotel land opposite but from what I could see this is often used for other purposes (avoid Fasching week if you don't like awful euro disco rubbish blaring out in the afternoon opposite your room from stands set up on this space); there are 8 or 10 spaces in a parking area under this at €15 a day - book in advance by email. Transfer from Salzburg by car, 75 minutes. Can be skiing by midday with the right flights.

Kitzbuhel skiing suffered a bit this year (2014) with enough snow up top but very warm temperatures meaning skiing back to the town was not good at the end of the day, but kept open somehow with artificial snow and incredible work by the piste bashers. Also the ski area is strung out quite a bit with a few flat runs needed to get to good skiing. Lifts are mostly very fast, but there are queues on sunny days (on cloudy days all you seem to hear up the mountain are British voices!) The town has great character though.

Room Tip: At the back at all costs in summer especially; you don't want to have to open the windows at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This hotel is central in Kitzbuhel with easy access to the slopes, the ski lifts, the pubs and restaurants, and the shops. The hotel is very clean with friendly, professional and always helpful staff. The hotel food is excellent. We where a group of 16 for a weeklong ski holiday, and nothing was to much for the staff to make us feel comfortable and happy.

Kitzbuhel is a very expensive town. So it does not matter where you book, it is expensive.

The Sporthotel Reisch is highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sporthotel Reisch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Reisch

Address: Franz Reisch Strasse 3, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporthotel Reisch 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sporthotel Reisch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Reisch Kitzbühel
Sporthotel Reisch Hotel Kitzbühel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sporthotel Reisch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.