We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, inexpensive and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aurach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aurach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aurach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Passthurnstrasse 2, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 49 hotels in Kitzbuhel
Munich, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, inexpensive and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Title says it all. Nice place for a short trip skiing. Only downside is after about 5.30PM there are no buses running, so the only way into Kitzbuhel center (about 5km) is by Taxi costing around 10 Euro.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    19
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Far exceeded expectations given the price. Location is perfect to ski Kitz but also the surrounding areas- very close to the bus stop.

Food was excellent, and service was extremely homely.

Get used to the 'Austrian twin beds'- they're 1 double bed frame with 2 single mattresses! We stayed in a front facing room.

Andreas was amazing as was Karen.

All in all, not a bad word to be said!!

(Stayed 2-9 March)

Room Tip: Even though we faced the main road, we didn't find it noisy at all as the windows are so thick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanshanger, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Aurach for seven nights in early March 2013. The experience was flawless and special.

Andreas, the Manager, and his chief assistant Karin are kind, welcoming, efficient, generous - and just good fun.

As Kitzbuhel and Kirchberg regulars for the last ten years, our group of "first lift up, last piste down" all day skiers had some concerns about location. But it proved just perfect - with simple and effective connections by free bus or cheap taxi. We made the first lift every day.

Breakfast and evening meals were excellent, and the management team were helpful and accommodating. Restaurant and bar facilities are excellent. Ski room is spacious and neat. Sauna is handy. Rooms are just perfect, well ventilated and warm, with good storage space and very comfortable beds and bedding.

Aurach is highly recommended and I would be happy to stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The service and flexibility by Andre and his staff and general great value for money far outweighed our concerns prior to booking about location, great connections into Kitzbuhel and surrounding areas. Fresh breakfast and tasty evening meals, with nice bar and lounge area, I would recommend, and would like to go back...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here the same week as the lady that said it was terrible. The hotel delivered everything we had hoped for and expected and was an excellent base to ski from. Food was good and Andreas and his staff were really friendly and helpful. Room was clean, comfortable & with lots of wardrobe space. Bonus was the beautiful view of the mountains from the balcony.
Sauna was a real must after skiing to ease those aches & pains.
As a venue to ski from, we believe that this hotel offers good value for money... If you want 5 star, then book and pay for 5 star. If you want the middle of Kitzbuhel, then pay for a hotel in the middle of Kitzbuhel, but don't expect it to be the same price as this hotel. Also, if you want smoke free, then don't go to Austria!. Snow conditions were absolutely fantastic & we had a great time. Thank you Andreas & team...Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the rear because the views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were at the hotel 1st week in Feb 2013. This was our 2nd stay at this hotel and both via Crystal Ski. We thought the food had improved from last year. The service and kindness from Andreas and Karin was also better than last year, which we thought would be improbable. As last year the hotel was clean, comfortable and value for money. Whilst we were there, there was an Austrian festival - the staff took this seriously and everyone had a great time. The Irish Coffee here is amazing and it is an experience to see it made, both Andreas and Karin has their own techniques - you will have to have two.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Extremely dissappointing place to stay, but luckily the skiing and Kitzbuhel were lovely.
Three full paying adults are squeezed into a small twin room with a very basic uncomfortable camp bed added. It was uncomfortable and my daughters feet stuck out of the end.
The food was dismal -school dinners.There is a very regimented dinner time schedule
Lots of the crockery was cracked and chipped
The fire/lounge area wasnt nearly big enough for the amount of guests staying
Cigarette smoking is allowed in all areas of the hotel, and it is very smokey
The good points are a sauna (4-7pm only) and the rooms are very clean(but very small with little storage space)
we would never stay here again

Room Tip: book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aurach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurach Hotel

Address: Passthurnstrasse 2, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#9 Family Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aurach Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Aurach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurach Hotel Kitzbühel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.