We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just an excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Goldener Greif

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Goldener Greif to your Saves list
Hotel Goldener Greif
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hinterstadt 24, Kitzbuhel, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Certificate of Excellence
Evanston, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“More than just an excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is one of those reviews you almost hate to write, because you'd rather not let others know how great of a place this really is. However, the people and the property definitely deserve the praise.

I stayed at the Goldener Greif during Hahnenkamm week and had an excellent stay. I was in a single room on the fourth floor. Some would say small, I think it was cozy and well-designed and well-furnished. It was lacking nothing...even had a balcony looking out to the Kitbuheler Horn.

Given the season, the rates were extremely reasonable for the value received. Not just in my room, but in the rooms (of various configurations) where friends and family stayed. The common areas were geniunely decorated with art of and describing old Kitzbuhel, always appropriate, never cheap or garish.

The people--from the front desk staff and the bartenders up to the owners themselves were always helpful and kind....even to those not staying in the hotel who needed a bit of information. Genuine hospitality. Many of the guests...old AND young...were repeat customers, and spoke highly of the place.

I will definitely go back to Kitbuhel for the Hahnenkamm, and stay at the Goldener Grief, because the Hotel played a large role in making my visit so enjoyable.

Is it cheap? No. Is it a great value? Yes, very much so. If you don't know the difference, then, perhaps it is not your sort of place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    7
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
13
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

There were incredible things about this hotel and then there were not so good things unfortunately.

To start off I have to say that the location is second to none! You are right in the middle of the centre with access to absolutely everything within walking distance. Shopping, restaurants, bars etc 1 min walk and to the main Gondola (Hahnenkamm) and the train station 5 mins. You can either leave your skis etc in the hotel or you can rent a locker at the gondola station to make the walk even easier.
The staff is wonderful, they were so friendly and welcoming and ever so helpful, nothing seems too much to ask. If you have an allergy or intolerance they are more than happy to help and provide for that. Breakfast is as a normal European / Alp buffet breakfast and if you would like something else they will organise that for you with a smile.

We had a junior suite (facing the Hahnenkamm) with a balcony and it was lovely and spacious. There was an entrance hall to hang your jacket and leave your shoes and suitcases and then it was one large room with a sitting area. The bathroom had a shower cabin and a bathtub which was lovely to soak in after a day's skiing. The bed was fine but the pillows a bit "so so", we did ask for more though and got them immediately.

Unfortunately there were a few things which weren't so good. Firstly as soon as we stepped off the elevator (2nd floor) there was a terrible smell of smoke and it followed us down the hallway (but not in to the room). I am a smoker and have been for 25 years so if even I think it smells bad you can imagine how it is for a non smoker... It is only for a minute or so but every time you step out of your room or the lift there it is.
For me the worst was the fact that the room and the hallways were absolutely stifling hot, we did switch the heat off which made it bareable but still the air was so dry we both left Kitzbühel with parched skin and terrible throat ache. Opening a window at night in order to get a bit of humidity is not an option when it is -20 degrees outside and also when the snowremovaltrucks come at 6am... Apart from that there are no blackout curtains and when there are shutters with a gap between every slat and you have the streetlamps straight outside "lighting up your room" it means a terrible night's sleep. We did try to attach towels to the windows but putting them up every night and taking them down every morning was a bit annoying. Admittedly we were offered a change of rooms but since the air was making it hard to sleep anyway we decided it wasn't worth the effort to pack up all our gear again in order to unpack again a minute later.

Finally the dinner, again the kitchen was amazing when it came to accommodating intolerances and there simply wasn't anything they wouldn't do for us. However, and this is no fault of the hotel's, the typical Austrian food that was on offer was not our cup of tea. I know, when in Rome and all that :) but still it is worth pointing it out because it could have been so different.

All in all a lovely hotel with a few things that affected us very much but could be very easily fixed with a blackout curtain (or at least thicker curtains) and the option of a humidifier if you want it. My rating is for the wonderful staff, if it hadn't been for them it would have been a 2 because no matter how central something is, if you can't sleep...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed in this hotel with our 2 kids, so perhaps the staff stuck us in a corner room. I was underwhelmed by the decor in the room itself. The hotel has an amazing location could not be more central and we walked to the lifts everyday. ( Renting a locker at the Hahnenkamm lift.) The staff was friendly and the breakfast was only o.k.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We showed up without a reservation, walked in and were lucky enough to get a room here. The room was fantastic - lots of wood, red upholstery, four-poster canopy bed, dining table and chairs, big windows and a balcony with great views. We felt like we had stepped into a room in a medieval castle. The staff were somewhat frazzled (they were hosting an Italian seniors bridge tournament while we were there), but very friendly, helpful and managed us to squeeze us in for a second night. Location was just outside the pedestrian zone in the centre of town so a 30 second walk to restaurants and shopping. Their parking lot is a couple of blocks away so it is a minor inconvenience, but everything else was great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed in the hotel for one night during our summer Road Trip to Austrian Alps. This trip was an eye-opener for me. I had had the misconception that Germanic peoples could never be as cordial and hospitable as, say, Italians, or Latin people in general. Well, nothing further from the truth. The people in the Austrian Alpine regions are among the friendliest and most welcoming you will ever meet.

The receptionist in the Hotel Goldener Greif, for example. He welcomed us to the hotel and helped us park the car. He engaged us in a friendly conversation (to the extent that my limited German permitted), and recommended a Blues-music event which took place in the village that night (it turned out to be excellent). When I mentioned that I had a slight headache, he suggested it might be due to drinking too little liquids on a hot day, and offered a glass of water. Can a hotel check-in be any more pleasant?

Kitzbühel is a distinctly upmarket resort (we're talking Tiffany's and Louis Vuitton on the Main Street), so I was expecting astronomical prices. It didn't even occur to me that centrally-located accommodation might be within our budget. Fortunately, I was wrong (again) - at scarcely EUR 60 per person per night (plus additional child discounts), the hotel is very affordable and good value for money in my opinion.

The most interesting thing about the Hotel is that it is dates back to medieval times - apparently, back to 1270! The door frames are unusually low, perhaps due to the fact that people in middle ages were on average much shorter than us today? The interior design does a good job of evoking the medieval atmosphere - all in all a truly special place. It is full of Christian religious symbols, though. We didn't mind at all, but I can imagine that people belonging to other religions might find it objectionable.

Unfortunately, the internet connection was positively medieval too. A coin-operated computer in the hallway, if you can believe it.

The room was smallish, but very clean (apparently a norm in Austria), and nicely appointed - again evoking that ancient atmosphere. The bathroom was thoroughly modern - looked recently renovated. Good quality cosmetics.

The hotel is located as centrally as possible: On the Main Street. Our room faced the other side - sort of a park where the schools is. At first we were sorry not to have had the view towards the Main Street, but then realized this was probably a blessing due to the live music event which took place there at night.

The breakfast (included) was very good, in a beautiful (again) medieval-looking hall featuring a fireplace and a large wooden panel with a carving of what the village looked like in 1620. Good selection of hams, cheeses, jams, fruits, and the like.

At the check-out, another nice surprise: We had been quoted the price for a superior room, but charged the (lower) price for a standard room (I don't know what type of room we had - probably standard).

A very nice experience overall. I can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

We originally booked at another hotel in Kitzbuhel and had to move. The staff at the Goldener Greif were very friendly and helpful. We had a Junior suite with a balcony which was heaven. The beds were very comfortable, our bathroom was fitted with a sauna style shower, which was perfect after a long day skiing. We stayed half board, with breakfast being great and evening meal was a five course menu that always left you full. Perfect location for the ski lift, local shops and bars. Will not hesitate to book again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

The Hotel is excellent, staff is very friendly and kind, the chef is very professional and personally interested for the guests, the location is best. We stayed for 8 nights, the room was big, very clean and with a wonderful view. I would not have any second thoughts in staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Goldener Greif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Greif

Address: Hinterstadt 24, Kitzbuhel, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Goldener Greif 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Goldener Greif reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Goldener Greif, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.