We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, quirky and very Austrian.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Strasshofer

Save Saved
You added Hotel Strasshofer to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Strasshofer
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vorderstadt 11, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Dumfries, Scotland UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cute, quirky and very Austrian.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We didn't choose the Strasshofer for its star rating or base our choice on reviews by former guests - we just fell in love with its quirky decor and the fact that its location is so great.

The hotel is even nicer in reality and is really cosy and spotless throughout.

We arrived during the Hahnenkamm race weekend which added to the thrill of leaving a very wet UK behind. Watching the racing was one of the best things we have ever done on holiday and it set the scene for a brilliant week.
We were blessed with snow and charming company at the hotel - if you prefer the anonimity of a more flashy larger hotel this one possibly isn't for you as we soon knew our fellow skiers and the hotel staff by their first names.

It was good to be within walking distance of everything - no need to be clambering on and off buses in ski boots and this was one of the main attractions for my husband and I.
Also we preferred to be served dinner by the charming Tony rather than fighting eachother round a buffet and if we preferred to go out for a wee wander after dinner rather than use the Hotel Bar, everything was right there.
I'd say the Strasshofer is as good a couples small hotel as you can get and equally there were bigger groups of very satisfied guests there as well - many of whom return year after year.

Room Tip: We were very satisfied with our room (24). Plenty of space and a great outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    30
    19
    13
    7
See reviews for
16
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

First time at this hotel and could not have been more pleased. Friendly, helpful, welcoming staff and simple but good food. Usual continental breakfast with toast and eggs available, choice of evening meal with salad buffet. Our room was very clean and comfortable and we did ask for a room with a bath which we had. Being right in the middle of town it is a bit of a hike to the ski lift and although there is a bus stop outside the hotel it is not for the ski bus. It is good being in the centre of town in the evening. Drinks prices were fair especially compared to other establishments in town. On the whole good value and better than some 3 star hotels we have stayed in.

Room Tip: No lift so try and get a room on a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Booking a three star in the middle of town had advantages. It was so central it was easy to walk to places to eat. The hotel is a three star and a very fair star rating indeed. Its a bit plain. You get what you pay for. A small room. No lift and bland food. But who cares it was cheap.
We dinned out half the time and had fun. The usual things to be aware of, don't use the hotel phone system, we did to book a local restaurant which took less than a minute. Noticed it was €8 on the bill. We booked a sleigh ride Christmas day right from in front of the hotel and Boxing day we all did the Paragliding with Element 3. They are a great bunch, well worth €130 per head for the jump. The sleigh ride was €300. Im not really bother on holiday with being mean, we just wanted fun. I last visited this town 25 years ago, its low low altitude resort, which means you have to be lucky with the snow, or they could be none. We managed, but there were plenty of rocks showing and the whole place was green. On balance I would not bother returning when there are so many high altitude resorts available. I normally go to Zermatt where I have never ever notice a lack of snow. A couple of things seemed to raise an eyebrow, a very basic meal for 3 for lunch on the slopes, the chips with something variety a glass of wine two cokes, nothing really, €80 (£67) seemed steep, and was about average. The ski lift queues were at the bottom 10 to 15 minutes at peak, with 5 to 10 mins at the top. Several runs were closed. After a week the place seems small. There are many blue runs which end up on very narrow tracks, meaning those snow ploughing hold everyone up and the piste becomes bare. The best way to deal with the boots and ski gear is not to carry them daily back and forth but drop them off up the mountain, its 2 euro per night, well worth it just to be able to walk the 500 yards back to the hotel free of junk. I never saw a ski bus anywhere near this hotel. So be aware its a hike.

Would I return to this hotel, not if I could help it. Its just to plain. But if money is tight try it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just back today (14/8/13) from a fabulous 10 day stay.

We (2 adults plus our kids) first went to the Strasshofer over 6 years ago. Every time we go, Gabi, Anita, Franz and the others work hard to make sure our stay (and that of others) is enjoyable. Every time they have succeeded.

As one of the other reviewers said - it's a 'little gem in the centre of town'. It's close to the two mountains and if you feel the need, Café Praxmair on Vorderstadt and Bäckerei - Café - Schmidt on Im Gries are close by and well worth a visit.

Some people might be put of by the lack of a lift. But if you are looking for great value, service that frankly many 5 star places cannot better, along with a central location (between the two mountains and close to the best cafes) you cannot go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook Vorderstadt can have a great view of the Hahnenkamm mountain and those overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just returned from a early season holiday at the Strasshofer June 2013. Had a really great time. In some ways the Hotel is a little simple in places, maybe even basic if you are looking for 4 or 5 stars, especially if you pay full price. We got a late booking discount from Inghams, so we think we got a great deal, and the Hotel was great value for money, a real gem.
The rooms are not big, but are cosy, very clean, and comfortable, the shower/toilet looked brand new, and the chambermaids did a great job. No lift can be an issue if you are on the top 2 floors.
We had a couple of very minor issues which were immediateloy taken seriouisly and dealt with within minutes- great service by Herr Stasshofer.
There isn't a choice for evening meal, but all the meals were tasty, most were Pork based, but there was a divine Beef Goulash on the Friday, and vegatarians seemed looked after. In terms of choice there isn't a huge spread for Breakfast either, and if you are prone to a lie-in, you may miss the odd treat. Packed lunches were included, which were the same every day, but local Supermarkets are everywhere, so you can easily upgrade with fruit or cakes etc if you want.
Our room overlooked the main street, so Fridays and especially Saturdays can be lively until late-ish (as there is a Club next door) but it's not really a problem. We felt the central location was a real benefit, with shops and bars all around, and a Brass Band Concert outside on Fridays, and a Market on Saturday morning.
The 'secret' stairs out the back are great, going under the Hotel to take you down right to the bus stop for organised trips etc.
We've had bigger rooms, a lift, and more choice for dinner and breakfast in Austria, but not right in the centre of town, so overall we would recommend it, and most of the British people we spoke to in the Hotel had stayed several times, so that says it all. A little Gem in the Centre of Town.

Room Tip: Room 24 was a little larger than the standard twin, and on the second floor, 2 doors from the sauna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMPSHIRE, UK
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have just returned from another very enjoyable ski holiday in Kitzbühel. This year we decided upon a very good value package holiday with Crystal. The comfortable family-owned (for over 100 years!) 3 star hotel is located in the middle of the town’s pedestrian area & amongst all the shops, cafes, (even McDonald’s) plus bars, restaurants & the swimming arena. It appears to host mainly guests from the UK, of the main holiday companies, Crystal/Thomson & Inghams.
It is a good 10 minute walk (in normal shoes, not ski-boots) to the Hahnenkammbahn, so unless you are fit, or a hardened skier, it is well worth leaving your skis & boots in the Intersport lockers underneath the gondola (from 3 euros a day). Incidentally, Intersport are very helpful for ski equipment rental – we always use them when renting. There is also a ski-bus service from right outside the hotel.

I am going to clarify some facts and info. which is also available on their own website, in ski brochures & on the internet, which is worth noting, together with some of our experiences:

NO LIFT – the hotel is very old and there is no lift. I think we drew the short straw (or paid the least money!) and were allocated rooms on the top floor (When booking I had asked THOMSON/CRYSTAL to request Room 12, which is on the 2nd floor). When arriving Gabbi (the owner’s wife) checked us in and gave us keys to our 5th floor room! (Some reviews mention the size of the rooms on the top floor, which are angled in places). I queried this, to be told “it is a 3 star room!” Anyway, up/down 50 steps plus landings, from top to bottom, a minimum of 8 times a day is good for fitness! Other rooms on lower floors and in the adjoining chalets are bigger.

ROOMS – well-cleaned and comfortable. We had a bath, in what looked to be a new bathroom, with a 5ft 6” long bath (fine for small people) & a shower attachment, but no curtain. Hot water was always available. There was a 14” Philips TV on the wall (like the one I used to have in 1995!) with approx. 10 stations + BBC World Service. The double glazed door to the small balcony provided the light to the room. This was our room, which was one of the smaller ones. There are others!
INTERNET – there is a chargeable wireless-lan service which is available in certain areas of the hotel, but not your bedroom. (which other guests & I found to be frustratingly inconsistent) Cost: 20 Euros per week.
(Free internet is available at McDonalds & Intersport Kitzsport at the gondola)
PARKING – there is a small car park at the rear of the hotel. Cost: 8 Euros per car per day.
BREAKFAST - 3 choices of cereal & 3 different jams; fresh rolls and bread for toast & a small selection of fruit. Just one person usually serving ALL of the tables, so hot drinks arrived when they arrived . Breakfast from 7.30am included hot scrambled eggs, but if you were down later you could be unlucky and not have any! I agree with some other reviewers, which also extends to the evening meals: adequate but not extensive.
DINNER – soup, small salad buffet, a choice of 2 main courses plus a dessert, daily.
Always hot. The order in which people were served amused us! Whether you were first in, or last in, it didn’t matter. With just Gabbi & Anita serving all of the guests (probably because it was end of season?) you were given the courses when they were ready! A bit disappointing that the advertised weekly farmer’s buffet was cancelled, without notice or reason. There was no draught beer left by the last night! Good for the hotel owners, not so good for those of us wanting a cold draught beer!


Another reviewer has made a very good point, which we totally agree with: basically, you get what you pay for! If you want 4 or 5 star accommodation/service then pay for it! The Top 10 Kitzbühel hotels are listed on Trip Advisor and they are all very good. But, staying in this excellent resort can be expensive and the Top 10 hotels are often fully booked, especially during high season.

HOPES & EXPECTATIONS - was this hotel good value, in terms of what we paid? Of course it was! We paid £ 396 each to Crystal for a 1 week end-of-season holiday, including flights, transfers to resort, a clean & comfortable hotel room, small breakfast and a meal in the evening… especially when flights only were costing £ 250 - £ 350 into Salzburg, Innsbruck and Munich!

Room Tip: If travelling with a UK Holiday Company your request will likely be ignored. If travelling independ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a week in late March 2013. Perfect setting right in the centre of Kitzbuhel. We stayed in an adjoining chalet flat which was ideal for our teenage son, so we had plenty of space. The steps climbing up to the hotel from the chalet were a perfect pre ski warmup exercise! Staff were lovely and very accommodating. We would go there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Strasshofer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Strasshofer

Address: Vorderstadt 11, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Strasshofer 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Hotel Strasshofer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strasshofer Hotel Kitzbühel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Strasshofer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.