We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem in the Centre of Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Strasshofer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Strasshofer to your Saves list
Hotel Strasshofer
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vorderstadt 11, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Bath
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Little Gem in the Centre of Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just returned from a early season holiday at the Strasshofer June 2013. Had a really great time. In some ways the Hotel is a little simple in places, maybe even basic if you are looking for 4 or 5 stars, especially if you pay full price. We got a late booking discount from Inghams, so we think we got a great deal, and the Hotel was great value for money, a real gem.
The rooms are not big, but are cosy, very clean, and comfortable, the shower/toilet looked brand new, and the chambermaids did a great job. No lift can be an issue if you are on the top 2 floors.
We had a couple of very minor issues which were immediateloy taken seriouisly and dealt with within minutes- great service by Herr Stasshofer.
There isn't a choice for evening meal, but all the meals were tasty, most were Pork based, but there was a divine Beef Goulash on the Friday, and vegatarians seemed looked after. In terms of choice there isn't a huge spread for Breakfast either, and if you are prone to a lie-in, you may miss the odd treat. Packed lunches were included, which were the same every day, but local Supermarkets are everywhere, so you can easily upgrade with fruit or cakes etc if you want.
Our room overlooked the main street, so Fridays and especially Saturdays can be lively until late-ish (as there is a Club next door) but it's not really a problem. We felt the central location was a real benefit, with shops and bars all around, and a Brass Band Concert outside on Fridays, and a Market on Saturday morning.
The 'secret' stairs out the back are great, going under the Hotel to take you down right to the bus stop for organised trips etc.
We've had bigger rooms, a lift, and more choice for dinner and breakfast in Austria, but not right in the centre of town, so overall we would recommend it, and most of the British people we spoke to in the Hotel had stayed several times, so that says it all. A little Gem in the Centre of Town.

Room Tip: Room 24 was a little larger than the standard twin, and on the second floor, 2 doors from the sauna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    30
    19
    13
    7
See reviews for
16
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
HAMPSHIRE, UK
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have just returned from another very enjoyable ski holiday in Kitzbühel. This year we decided upon a very good value package holiday with Crystal. The comfortable family-owned (for over 100 years!) 3 star hotel is located in the middle of the town’s pedestrian area & amongst all the shops, cafes, (even McDonald’s) plus bars, restaurants & the swimming arena. It appears to host mainly guests from the UK, of the main holiday companies, Crystal/Thomson & Inghams.
It is a good 10 minute walk (in normal shoes, not ski-boots) to the Hahnenkammbahn, so unless you are fit, or a hardened skier, it is well worth leaving your skis & boots in the Intersport lockers underneath the gondola (from 3 euros a day). Incidentally, Intersport are very helpful for ski equipment rental – we always use them when renting. There is also a ski-bus service from right outside the hotel.

I am going to clarify some facts and info. which is also available on their own website, in ski brochures & on the internet, which is worth noting, together with some of our experiences:

NO LIFT – the hotel is very old and there is no lift. I think we drew the short straw (or paid the least money!) and were allocated rooms on the top floor (When booking I had asked THOMSON/CRYSTAL to request Room 12, which is on the 2nd floor). When arriving Gabbi (the owner’s wife) checked us in and gave us keys to our 5th floor room! (Some reviews mention the size of the rooms on the top floor, which are angled in places). I queried this, to be told “it is a 3 star room!” Anyway, up/down 50 steps plus landings, from top to bottom, a minimum of 8 times a day is good for fitness! Other rooms on lower floors and in the adjoining chalets are bigger.

ROOMS – well-cleaned and comfortable. We had a bath, in what looked to be a new bathroom, with a 5ft 6” long bath (fine for small people) & a shower attachment, but no curtain. Hot water was always available. There was a 14” Philips TV on the wall (like the one I used to have in 1995!) with approx. 10 stations + BBC World Service. The double glazed door to the small balcony provided the light to the room. This was our room, which was one of the smaller ones. There are others!
INTERNET – there is a chargeable wireless-lan service which is available in certain areas of the hotel, but not your bedroom. (which other guests & I found to be frustratingly inconsistent) Cost: 20 Euros per week.
(Free internet is available at McDonalds & Intersport Kitzsport at the gondola)
PARKING – there is a small car park at the rear of the hotel. Cost: 8 Euros per car per day.
BREAKFAST - 3 choices of cereal & 3 different jams; fresh rolls and bread for toast & a small selection of fruit. Just one person usually serving ALL of the tables, so hot drinks arrived when they arrived . Breakfast from 7.30am included hot scrambled eggs, but if you were down later you could be unlucky and not have any! I agree with some other reviewers, which also extends to the evening meals: adequate but not extensive.
DINNER – soup, small salad buffet, a choice of 2 main courses plus a dessert, daily.
Always hot. The order in which people were served amused us! Whether you were first in, or last in, it didn’t matter. With just Gabbi & Anita serving all of the guests (probably because it was end of season?) you were given the courses when they were ready! A bit disappointing that the advertised weekly farmer’s buffet was cancelled, without notice or reason. There was no draught beer left by the last night! Good for the hotel owners, not so good for those of us wanting a cold draught beer!


Another reviewer has made a very good point, which we totally agree with: basically, you get what you pay for! If you want 4 or 5 star accommodation/service then pay for it! The Top 10 Kitzbühel hotels are listed on Trip Advisor and they are all very good. But, staying in this excellent resort can be expensive and the Top 10 hotels are often fully booked, especially during high season.

HOPES & EXPECTATIONS - was this hotel good value, in terms of what we paid? Of course it was! We paid £ 396 each to Crystal for a 1 week end-of-season holiday, including flights, transfers to resort, a clean & comfortable hotel room, small breakfast and a meal in the evening… especially when flights only were costing £ 250 - £ 350 into Salzburg, Innsbruck and Munich!

Room Tip: If travelling with a UK Holiday Company your request will likely be ignored. If travelling independ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a week in late March 2013. Perfect setting right in the centre of Kitzbuhel. We stayed in an adjoining chalet flat which was ideal for our teenage son, so we had plenty of space. The steps climbing up to the hotel from the chalet were a perfect pre ski warmup exercise! Staff were lovely and very accommodating. We would go there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have just returned from this pretty hotel in the centre of Kitzbuhel. Location is great
right in the middle on one of the main streets with all the pastel painted building facades.
Our room was apartment 2 which was large with a good modern bathroom .Its location in an annexe down steps may prove difficult for the old or unfit,(NO Lift in Hotel) but by the end of the week the trek up to breakfast did seem easier.The owner Gabbi was welcoming and helpful with advice and the small bar next to the restaurant was ok for a pre dinner drink,smoking seemed to be on the balcony so didn't waft through to the dinning areas.
Breakfast was adequate but not extensive but found all the evening meals for the week to be
enjoyable and filling .Waitress service at our table from Annita was good at all times.A larger selection of wines with dinner would be my only request.
If skiing book a locker up at the cable car base station Intersport,so don't need to walk in boots or carry your ski's through town but it is possible from this hotel and ski storage area in hotel.
Normally would not pick a three star hotel but was surprised by the good service and food
and due to its great location would recommend this hotel highly for a ski trip.If you want a swim
or massage facilities the aquamarena complex is only 5 min walk away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Booked lads trip last minute with Thomson's. The staff are a bit frosty, however, apart from that the rooms were clean, lots of space with plenty of storage for your clothes. The food was fantastic, plenty of it, Typical Austrian. However, there was only just enough room at the table for 6 chaps which took a bit of careful planning when geting up for refills at the salid bar.

The location is perfect - 10 mins walk to the lifts, 2 mins away from all the great pubs in town.

Having checked with the lads we all agree that it was great value for money and if you try hard enough you might even get a smile out of the staff !!

Room Tip: Room 10 on first floor is brill if there are three or four of you sharing. Plenty of room for 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have been visiting Kitzbuhel regularly for over thirty years, both in winter and summer time, however this was our first visit to the Hotel Strasshofer. We just wish we had chosen this hotel on a previous occasion as one could not fail to be impressed with the service and facilities for a Hotel of this classification. The hotel is well located in the centre of town and a five minute walk from the Hahnenkamm gondola lift. Although the hotel has a ski and boot room, which were more than adequate, I would advise renting a ski/boot locker at the gondola station, it does make the start to the day a lot easier. The owners and their staff are very efficient and were most helpful in dealing with any requests. We had made a prior request for a room with a balcony overlooking the Kitzbuler Horn and we were extremely impressed with our given room, room 12. The room was of a good size, with a good quality bed, and both the room and bathroom were immaculately maintained. The daily breakfast provided was good, each morning there was a good choice of cereals, breads, cold meats, cheeses, eggs, fruits, etc. Throughout the week there was a varied choice of menu for the evening meal, and again for a hotel of this classification we found the evening meals to be very good, both in quality and content. the dining room service was excellent. Wifi internet was available for a small charge and worked without any problems. There is a small bar area adjacent to the dining rooms, this was a pleasant place to relax before and after the evening meal, and the drinks are reasonably priced. We have stayed in many different hotels in Kitzbuhel over the years and in our opinion this hotel is without doubt one of the better choices, especially in this classification. We look forward to a return stay in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed for two nights for a Wedding and was absolutely surprised at the quality of both service and amenities for a hotel of this grade. Kitzbuhel certainly has a lot to offer for a small town in the Alps, but for what its worth the Strasshofer was fantastic. The location was second to none, great views of the surrounding hills and mountains, and great staff. Would easily stay here again if on a budget. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay!

Room Tip: The rear of the hotel has views of the mountains which can be viewed from your balcony or bed throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Strasshofer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Strasshofer

Address: Vorderstadt 11, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Strasshofer 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Strasshofer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strasshofer Hotel Kitzbühel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Strasshofer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.