We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and trendy hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schwarzseestrasse 8-10, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 49 hotels in Kitzbuhel
Channel Islands, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good location and trendy hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel Kitzhof deserves its Four stars. We found it a trendy alpine retreat and it is located 5 mins walk from Kitzbuhel centre. We booked a junior suite which was very nice with separate seating area, two TVs and separate WC. We were only there for three nights and it was May so the weather was touch and go, however had we been there for longer in the summer I would have been disappointed by the lack of a balcony. Especially as all the standard rooms seemed to have one. So if you book junior suite make sure it has balcony if you want one!! Also right beneath our room was an outside decked area on which the staff would have a cigarette. This was a bit like rubbing salt in the wounds when we had no outside space! This was really our only complaint. Breakfast was good with plenty to chose from although one day there was less which I think was due to few guests as it was very quiet! Car parking is in the garage for €10 a day.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitzhof_Resort, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear SnowQueen007,

thank you very much for spending the time to evaluate our hotel. We always appreciate new comments and try to improve our quality standard by means of your advices.
We were very delighted to hear that we can fulfil the expectations of a four stars hotel.

Please excuse the lack of a balcony with booking our junior suite as it really is a family room. We just have two of these and unfortunately, both of them do not have a balcony.
We excuse the incident that our staff had a cigarette just underneath your room where you had no possibility to go outside out off your room.
This note has already been passed on to our crew to refrain from smoking on this balcony.

It is very nice to hear that you could enjoy our range of breakfast and our its adaption due to our quantity of guests.

At this point, we would like to thank you for chosing the Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort as your accommodation and we would be very delighted to welcome you again in Kitzbuehel.


Until then - best regards,

Your Hotel Kitzhof Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    45
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
23
75
2
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We usually stay at the Stanglwirt but friends convinced us to stay with them at the Kitzhof and try this hotel....

as said in the headline, once you arrived, you are left alone..... We have in one week not being approached by anyone of the staff or the managers ( not visible) and asked how our stay is....
there you see the difference between a managed and owned hotel like the Stanglwirt that is being run by the family and you feel the Tyrolean hospitality, which is completely lacking at this Kitzhof.

The breakfast buffet is not up to par what other hotels offer in the region, nice to have Ruinart champagne for breakfast, but I would prefer a better upgraded breakfast and save the Champagne.... Service at breakfast is trying hard, but no management there....

Restaurant is closed for lunch, which was surprising to us, so we had to go to other hotels in the area for lunch...

nice touch that the WiFi is free, but to log in every five minutes with a ridiculous bandwidth I rather pay for the internet service.

rooms and beds are not very comfortable and all is to much heated. the lobby bar has no atmosphere.

Saunas are too crowded, area is too small for this hotel.

we will not be back since there are better options in the upper price range.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitzhof_Resort, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear A_luxury_traveller,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us because the impression of our hotel from the guests' point of view is very important for us to improve our deficits.

We always try hard to satisfy our guests in the matter of diversity of food and beverage as well as personal interaction. The circumstances you experienced in these days does not correspond with our quality standards. We urgently ask you to excuse that.

In addition to this we already informed our service staff to care more intensively about the personal interests and concerns of our guests to indulge you every wish.

Regarding the lunch, it must have been a misunderstanding as we offer lunch every day from 12:00h to 14:00h as well as it is possible to get snacks at the bar in the afternoon.

Admittedly, our internet is not very fast and we are terribly sorry for that, but unfortunately it is not possible to receive a higher bandwidth through our internet provider.

Despite the inconvenience you had, we would be gratified by welcoming you a further time in the Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort.


Best regards from Kitzbuehel,


the Hotel Kitzhof Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I spent three days at Kitzhof on a business trip. The hotel has very pleasant rooms, wonderful SPA and spacious lobby and restaurant. Hotel breakfest is one of the best I've seen in Austria and also dinner was good. Pool and the relaxation area is just superb after a long day at the slopes or in meetings. This is definately a destination that suits for families as well.

Room Tip: Rooms towards east have a very nice morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitzhof_Resort, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Jouni S,

thank you very much for choosing our hotel as your accomodation and location for conference.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort in that way and that our SPA and interior design was appealing to you.
Our kitchen staff will be very delighted about your positive estimation about our breakfast.

It is very nice to hear being recommended as a family destination as well and it would be an honour for us to welcome you again in the Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort.


Until then,

best regards from Kitzbühel


the Hotel Kitzhof crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at kitzhof hotel, I should say that I couldn't sleep well for 6 nights because of uncomfortable bed, pillow and the hot temperature even we were keeping the window open all day. Room was very small, we stayed at ground floor, and I wasn't very comfortable because my window was looking to the hotel's tunnel and people were keeping walking by and you should always keep your curtain close. This is not designed for skier because there is no hanger in the room for your ski clothes. Spa facilities are great but don't forget to book massage on your arrival it's almost full everyday. Breakfast and dinner were great I have nothing to say, they are using local products mainly and it was fresh& delicious. However there were something wrong in the front desk, we left our car to the reception on our arrival and they told us that they will bring our bags to our room but we waited like 20 minutes nothing arrived. Than my husband went to pick up. After they told us that they will carry the ski equipment to the ski room and will bring back the empty bags to us and never happened so we went to collect them. They have shuttle service to the lift but only to kirchberg, if you want to go to Hahnenkamn they call a taxi for you! If you have a car I suggest you to go by car you pay only 6,5euro to parking and taxi costs around 19 euro round trip. Also the shuttle service is until 11:00 sharp if you go at 11:02 they will a taxi again! At check out they tried to charge 6 nights car parking however we parked only 1 night and than they say that the computer shows 2 nights. I was confused because if computer shows 2 nights why you charge 6 nights??? Finally I only paid for 1 night and honestly I was thinking why I paid so much money for 6 nights bad sleep.

Room Tip: ask them for upper level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitzhof_Resort, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Choufleuris,

Thank you for going to the time and effort of evaluating our hotel.
Your feedback is a fundamental part of our quality and performance supervision - we value constructive criticism as important as commendation and only through this way we can guarantee a continuous improvement.

We apologize the inconvenience you had at our front office and with our concierge - it is not the common standard you experienced at these days and we take your feedback seriously to enhance the situation.

Despite the trouble you had, we would be pleased to welcome you at the Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort a further time to persuade you of our performance.


Best regards from Kitzbühel,


The Hotel Kitzhof Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hotel is well located in the center of Kitzbühel, but has a terrible service. Hotel staff managed to nearly destroy our entire experience of the Alps. This is not recommended and we will never return to this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitzhof_Resort, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Lars L,

Thank you for going to the time and effort of evaluating our hotel.
Just because of your valuable advices we are in a position to assess our strengths and weaknesses from the point of view of our guests.
All remarks of our guests are taken seriously and we can assure you that your experiences in our house do not correspond with our usual quality standard.

Certainly, we already discussed the situation with our division managers to improve the quality of our service through professional trainings.

Despite the inconvenience you had, we would be please to welcome you at the Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort and as well in Kitzbühel a further time to persuade you of our performance.


Best regards

the Hotel Kitzhof crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naarden, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for a week training organised by my company. After a week I found out that 250 euro was stolen from a closet where I kept it. The manager said he fully trusts his employees so he wont do anything about it! Basically it was my own fault that I haven't kept it in the safe. So if you decide to stay in this hotel make sure that you keep everything in the safe!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay in Kitzbuhel at the Hotel Kitzhof. From the moment we pulled our car into the entrance we were greeted with a very warm and friendly welcome which kicked off our stay. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to town center and a free 5+ minute ride to the ski area (free shuttle provided by hotel one-way only but hotel is within walking distance of free ring bus). The hotel is modern in design - room was fine no real complaints (ok the bathroom was a bit small) but the room is extremely quiet! Breakfast was included and it was very nice. We ate dinner at the hotel one night and the food and service was equal to meals we ate outside of the hotel.

We also enjoyed the sauna and pool area which is a nice treat after a day of skiing!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitzhof_Resort, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear AlwaysgoneFlorida,

That you very much for your evaluation.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your short holiday at the Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort and that we could fulfill your expectations.

It is always nice to hear that our interior design and spa area makes a good impression to our guests.

We are very looking forward to your next stay and remain with best regards


Your Hotel Kitzhof crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort

Address: Schwarzseestrasse 8-10, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#6 Spa Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish design meets traditional ambience in Kitzbuehel's Mountain Design Resort Hotel Kitzhof. Centrally located at the city park and offering views of the Kitzbueheler Horn and Hahnenkamm peaks, Hotel Kitzhof is just a five-minute walk from Kitzbuehel's idyllic town center. Following a complete makeover in 2008, Hotel Kitzhof offers a total of 163 guest rooms with three large suites and 27 Superior rooms. The Kitz Spa measures 600 square meters and includes an indoor pool, a Finnish sauna, a Sanarium, a steam bath and five treatment rooms. The spa treatments and products are based on the innovative JUST PURE moon phase concept. Three restaurants offer freshly prepared local and international cuisine. The Mountain Design Resort Hotel Kitzhof is a member of Design Hotels™, a collection of more than 200 creative and individually managed hotels in over 43 countries worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design
Hotel Kitzhof Ski Golfresort
Kitzhof Ski Golfresort Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.