We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel we've stayed at” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tennerhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tennerhof to your Saves list
Hotel Tennerhof
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Griesenauweg 26, Kitzbuhel A 6370, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Leighton Buzzard, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“The best hotel we've stayed at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I went to Kitzbuhel in June with my husband to compete in the European Age Group Triathlon Champs. We booked this hotel as it was the same price per night as the official team hotel and we were very glad we did. The service was absolutely superb. If we wanted our bikes the staff would happily bring them up from the locked cellar where they were safely stored. When I asked where I could wash my bike they offered to do it for me. I had brought a stomach upset out to Austria with me and they had special food prepared. Breakfast at 5.30 on race day was no problem. I had excellent massages in the 'health suite' and they turned on the sauna early for me after my race - and asked how I got on and offered to provide a congratulatory glass of champagne for me - except I don't drink! The room was delightful and you really did feel that nothing was too much trouble. However, service was never intrusive and they kept the lovely homely atmosphere. The food is superb. You'd see the chef picking he herbs for our meals and there's a fish tank outside the kitchen door so you know the fish is fresh!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    10
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
48
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We chose the Tennerhof for a last minute ski trip in March and were absolutely delighted by our choice. The hotel sits in a quiet rural suburb of Kitbuhel with a small orchard in the garden? From the moment we arrived until our departure the welcome and service were warm and faultless. We were delighted to be upgraded to a suite with a fantastic view towards the mountains. The hotel was peaceful and we slept soundly in the very comfortable bed. The restaurant was of a very high standard and the breakfast was quite superb - a great start to a day's skiing! Access to the lifts was really easy and the free shuttle bus dropped us off and picked us up efficiently every time. The spa was impeccably clean and very very smart.
All the staff were very polite, warm and attentive but never intrusive. We look forward to returning very soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed a total of 1 week here with a group of 6 adults. We travel a lot and quite spoiled when it comes to good hotels and service. We are still at awe with the service we got! Superb, does not describe it! From the check-in, to the restaurants, to the spa to shuttle services, cannot say a single bad word (and, if you read some of my other reviews, you would know I am NOT shy about bashing, when need be :) ) I personally don't ski, but was shuttled to and from town for my daily excursions. The breakfast, which is included, is amazing in variety and quality. And, of course, the restaurant wait staff, made the experience 100 times better. The rooms are very spacious and cozy with an amazing views. The spa was great and I really enjoyed the massage. Would definitely go back and highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed here for a few days with a group of friends. The hotel was truly a delight in every aspect - from the inviting atmosphere, to delicious food, and of course impeccable service. The staff catered to our every need, anticipated our demands, and provided truly a luxurious experience. I would definitely come back and would recommend this hotel to the most picky travelers.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

From the moment we arrived we felt welcome . the rooms Although a little old fashioned (in a good way) were clean and comfortable with everything we wanted provided for. But what made it special were the staff , not once did anyone walk by without acknowledging us . Added to this was a really
Good plentiful breakfast with eggs cooked freshly to order. Also a shuttle to the lifts. Bit of a slope to walk back from centre of town was the only drawback

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAST SUSSEX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed for the second time at the Tennerhof over the Christmas period 21st-28th December 2013 in a Senior Suite on a special package which included full breakfast, 5 course dining every night (7 for Christmas Eve plus drinks), a beautifully decorated tree in our lovely room, gifts, and seasonal festivities. It was great value and a wonderful experience - the hotel team throughout are exceptionally helpful, cheerful, efficient and professional.

The hotel has an extraordinarily warm and happy ambiance, which is primarily why we went back for the festive season, although other good reasons are that the kitchen produces excellent food and the restaurant service is extremely knowledgeable and pleasantly attentive. The Tennerhof's situation is quite near enough to Kitzbuhel, it looks after skiers with all the usual facilities, and the very flexible shuttle works well. We booked airport transfers direct with the hotel which was just as well because Thomas the concierge was able to rescue us with the minimum of fuss when BA dumped us at Munich instead of Salzburg.

We know a lot of R & C hotels, and this is an exceptionally fine operation which is a truly delightful customer experience. We shall definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We spent a magical Christmas Eve at this hotel with our grown up family! The food,wine and ambience ,we were privileged to experience . We hope one day to repeat. Unfortunately we were non residents so I can only comment on the restaurant and it was just fabulous. We returned on the 27th for again an amazing dinner in case it was a one off but we were not disappointed.
The staff in this hotel are unique they love their jobs and could not do enough to please.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tennerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tennerhof

Address: Griesenauweg 26, Kitzbuhel A 6370, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#9 Family Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tennerhof 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais & Chateaux Hotel Tennerhof is the first five-star house in Kitzbuehel. The estate is a former farmhouse from the year 1679, and it combines the romantic and international flair with the comfort and service of a luxury class hotel. From the first moment on, you will feel the traditional values: hospitality, warmth, coziness, and individuality. Over the years, every room and suit has been decorated in loving detail with antiques from the family's own collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Splendia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tennerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tennerhof Hotel Kitzbühel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tennerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.