We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2wantab hikers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kitzbuhel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Edelweiss
Save Saved
You added Hotel Edelweiss to your Saves list
Marchfeldgasse 2, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 49 hotels in Kitzbuhel
belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“2wantab hikers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed at Edelweiss from 5th to 12th June. Had a great time walking and cycling. Klaus and Veronika were very helpful and would always make you feel at home. Food was good and plentiful and being able too make up a packed lunch was handy for long walks along the river and beautiful meadows. Kitzbuhel brass band had a concert one night in the town centre which we went too with friends and we all really enjoyed it. All in all a really first class holiday, a great hotel in a beautiful town, made new friends one of the best weeks my wife and I ever had. First time in Kitzbuhel and Edelweiss and will be returning soon I hope.

Room Tip: We stayed on 3rd floor in room opposite door to sauna which was brill, maybe one of the smaller room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    24
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
41
125
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at Edelweiss Hotel for 10 days from 23rd May 2013.

Klaus and Veronika were the perfect hosts with nothing being too much trouble for them. They were both extremely knowledgeable on walks from Kitzbuhel. As with other reviews we endorse the high quality of the food, comfortable accomodation and peaceful location.

The best recommendation we could offer is that we will have no hesitation of returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West UK
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of a skiing trip. It has a good location being a 5-10 minute walk along the train line to the Gondola or the town centre. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable and unusually have TV access to BBC Channels if you are keen to keep up with events at home.
From arrival to departure the owners try their hardest to be accommodating and run a very well oiled, efficient set-up. The food is plain but plentiful and seems to be directed toward its, mainly british, clientele. (Think 1970's mums home cooking!) Meal times can sometimes feel hurried and the dining room lacks ambience if you're looking for romance but it works well for larger groups.
It's fine to make up a packed lunch from the breakfast table if you want to. We prefer to contribute to the restaurants on the pistes but if you're on a tight budget this could be a godsend.
All the staff are well trained, helpful and friendly and work exceptionally hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
For afternnon tea and evening drinks, there's a bar/lounge area. It gets quite cramped at peak times and, as some people noted, it closes at about 10.30pm. As we have often found in Austria, the hotel does not skimp on heating and at times it becomes unbearably hot.
Bonuses are the ski/boot room and the sauna.
There isn't really a downside - after the basics which are good -it's all down to personal preference.
This hotel seems to be popular with retired, active couples. We encountered several guests who were "regulars" and they loved the homely experience and value for money.
Overall we had a very good experience and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

What a difference staying here made to our holiday. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and shown to our rooms in person by the owners and this set the scene for the entire stay. The rooms were pleasant (although there were huge variations in size among our party, from small to large enough for an extra sofa in the corner). The care and love that have gone into the place are evident everywhere you look, from the clean yet homely interior to the exterior decorations. Our room in fact looked like it had recently had some repairs and was unfinished, with undecorated MDF walls in one corner. However it didn't bother me, no other rooms had this, I'm sure it's something they'll fix in due course.

The food was great, and so plentiful. The breakfast was out of this world - a buffet as generous in quantity as in quality. Better still, they encourage you to make yourself a packed lunch to take up the mountain. I didn't spend a cent on food or drink all week!

Best of all, you get not one but TWO dinners per day, ideal for hungry skiers such as myself. First dinner (3 courses) is from about 4 until 5.30, help yourself to as much vegetable broth as you like, then something like roast pork slices or Speck or cheese on toast. Then for pudding, it's eat-all-you-can of delicious cakes and puddings, e.g. plum sponge. The puddings are bought in rather than made but they're very good.

After that, you can relax in the sauna upstairs before showering and coming down for second dinner, (5 courses) which consists of a soup (as much as you like), a pasta dish or similar (again, eat-as-much-as-you-can), a salad buffet, a main course (choose from two options in the morning, and choice of deserts, along with a free glass of wine. The mains were usually good, occasionally they were just 'ok', but all in all the food was hearty and plentiful and eating was always enjoyable. The service is very good too might I add, with one lady waitress in particular serving up some hilarious cutting banter along with the roast lamb..

The manager-hosts were fantastic. If I missed the 5.30 cutoff for first dinner Claus would sense my distress and leap to my assistance, running off to the kitchen to salvage pizza slices and soup for me, as well as bringing out a toaster just so I wouldn't have to eat untoasted bread. The owner even offered to lend me his high-quality ski gloves for free after I lost mine. They were infinitely patient and polite, even tolerating our imbecile friend Ed's puerile bellowing and general buffoonery with good humour.

The main area was pleasant and had a good warm atmosphere, most guests spent a good deal of time down here rather than locked away in their rooms.

The mattresses! Better than my own mattress at home! Where does one buy such a mattress?! Wow. And the pillows too. Soft but firm.

The only criticism was that the hotel was ridiculously hot, (at dinner I was sweating,) and it didn't occur to any staff to regulate the temperature by opening windows etc.

Location is fairly good, close to the Pleney lift. The hotel is near the town railway line but don't let that put you off, you will barely notice any of the 7 trains that pass through each day. Boot room is spacious and secure, with boot warmers. You can come and go as you please, there are security locks on all doors, so you feel your stuff is very safe. The sauna is clean.

Highly recommended, especially compared to any number of soulless chain horrors I've stayed in in the past. I actively intend to go back there one day, and I've said that about very few hotel.

I didn't fully realise just how nice Edelweiss was until we went to do a pub quiz at another hotel (run by a big UK tour operator and staffed by seasonaires) and saw just how bad it can get. It smelled revolting, looked a mess, was uncomfortable, had a bad atmosphere, and the barman couldn't get me a pint of beer because he smashed two glasses in the time I was waiting and "those were the last two glasses"). ***NOTE - I AM TALKING ABOUT A DIFFERENT HOTEL HERE, NOT EDELWEISS***

Room Tip: 112 isn't a great room. 109 is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was my second stay here this year, and again the Edelweiss and its charming management and service team didn't disappoint.

Managed to get a good deal for a week during the middle of March, and having stayed here with the extended family during January I expected good things, and wasn't disappointed. This time I was in a room closer to the railway track, 205 next to the small TV room. Didn't hear any other guests once so this wasn't a problem; and the occasional noise of a train didn't cause any difficulties either.

The food was the same as when I was here in January, but that was fine as it was excellent then and was just as good this time. Although the hotel doesn't have the amenities of many others, so no swimming pool or fitness room, it more than makes up with the excellent service provided by all the staff we came into contact with.

The location of this hotel is good, 7 or 8 minutes flat walk to the Hahnenkamm Gondola, although the hotel has an excellent ski/boot room we decided to store our equipment at the Gondola to save carrying with us on the short walk,and well worth considering if you don't fancy the hassle of carrying your gear each morning.

As already hinted at, the food is of an excellent standard, and I personally enjoyed the weekly sweet/cheese buffet. It is safe to say that I didn't have one meal that disappointed, and always found at least one choice to my liking.

What probably makes this hotel is the excellent service provided by all of the staff; everyone is professional without being stuffy, the team displays an attitude of 'nothing being too much of a problem', so are always ready to help and are always happy to chat even if busy. The owners Klaus and Veronika are likewise, nothing is too much for them and they always enquire as to how you day has been; and in fact on both occasions that I have stayed here this year, they have personally been on hand to 'say goodbye' and shake the hands/help with cases of guests when they are leaving.

The slopes at Kitzbuhel are good, and we had some excellent snow for the time of year.

If you fancy a Tirolean evening there is a good one at the Strief bar at the bottom of the Hahnenkamm on a Tuesday evening starting at 20:00.

So to try and sum this up; if you want good value for money, an excellent well positioned hotel that serves excellent food and is managed by staff and owners who clearly care about what they do, you cannot go wrong at the Edelweiss.

Thank you for being excellent again, and see you on my return later in the summer.

Room Tip: I have had a room on the top floor and on the middle floor, both seemed fine to me, to get to the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Lonsdale, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

When the owners greet you with a warm smile and a joke and the lounge and bar area welcomes you into warm Tyrolean style and solid Austrian comfort, the signs are that this is a classy hotel.
The rooms are spacious and well furnished the beds are simply suberb to drop into after a hard days ski ing or hiking.but not before you have had a refreshing Sauna prior to an excellent evening meal.
Wine and Beer are at very reasonable prices for Red wine try the Hause Blaufrankishe by the glass (not by the bottle as its a lot cheaper that way because they have it in a barrel).
The Hotel location is excellent as its only a short level walk from the main Hannenkham lift but a strong tip is not to leave your Skis at the Hotel (heated cellar) but spend some Euros on a locker at the bottom lift station below the Inter Rent shop, this means that you can pick up your skis boots helmet gloves out of you locker (big enough for two full sets)then drop them at night after the home run or if you come down on the Gondola.So if you want to wander down town for a little apres ski or just toddle back to the hotel for the inclusive afternoon tea and cakes its an easy stroll without lugging all your tackle every day,Kitz is a great resort for both skiers and walkers,lots of lovely coffee shops and very classy shops but smoking in some of the good smaller eating places is really irritating, happily though we didnt feel the need to eat out as the Edleweiss is totally no smoking and the food is as good as it gets.The owners Klause and Veronica are around all the time Sarah is an English lady who like the others has a delightful sense of humour. In the words of big Arnie (a Kitz resident) I will be back.


.

Room Tip: There is a railway line on the East side but the trains are electric so it wasnt a problem and of co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brompton On Swale
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Decided to book this hotel as I got a great price, I had also been looking at it for a few years. Looked on here after booking my ski holiday and i wasn't disappointed with the reviews.

If Klaus and Veronica could bottle the ambience they create it would be priceless. They and their staff are SOOOOO friendly, nothing is a problem. They chat to every one as long lost friends, help to serve at meal times. Nothing is a problem to them or the staff.

They lounge and dining room areas are cozy, adding to the ambience, our bedroom was basic but very comfortable, if a little weary looking in parts (NOT a criticism) the en-suite "pod" was quirky but practical with plenty of hot water.

A great variety of food at each meal time and plenty of it, the apres ski tea/cakes/soup/snacks where worth rushing back for, and the free pack lunch was a great money saver.

A nice warm ski/boot room with heated boot dryers is just 5 mins walk along from the Hahnenkahm Gondola and is no problem even carrying two pairs of skis each time.

When you chat to other guests that have been visiting for many many years you will understand why Klaus, Veronica and their staff!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Address: Marchfeldgasse 2, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#8 Family Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Kitzbühel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Edelweiss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.