We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular alpine golf resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Tirolia

Save Saved
You added Grand Tirolia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Tirolia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eichenheim 8-9, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Spectacular alpine golf resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Looking for a resort in the Austrian alps where our family (Mom, Dad & adult daughter and son-in-law) could find interesting activities, we discovered the Grand Tirolia. Located just outside the charming town of Kitzbuhl the resort features a spectacular 18 hole golf course, a luxurious spa, fitness areas, a variety of bars and restaurants and rental bikes. With easy access to hiking and skiing in the winter the resort offers something for everyone all year round.

The property is quite new and offers a nice change from the more traditional hotels in the region. The style is best described as contemporary rustic with all the latest amenities. The food, service, staff and the alpine surroundings are all spectacular.

For our entertainment we played golf, enjoyed the spa and fitness area as well as the mountain bikes and of course enjoyed the excellent Austrian cuisine.

We will return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandTirolia, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Tirolia, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Fraser,

thank you very much for your lovely feedback.
We are very glad to see that you enjoyed our facilities with your family and had a restorative stay.

I am very happy to share your feedback with our entire staff.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,

Jessica Peiler
Guest Relation Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    32
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
35
121
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel and we enjoyed everything very much. It is definitely worth staying during the week if you can as the weekends can be very busy. As on our first visit we found all staff members to be friendly and efficient without being intrusive. I find the spa area to be excellent and its nice to see that used towels etc are promptly removed. The breakfast buffet caters to every possible wish and is of very high quality. We did not eat dinner in the hotel this time but will on our next visit. It is a lovely gesture to give departing guests a small gift of home made jam, we are very much looking forward to our next trip to K'bühel and would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandTirolia, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Tirolia, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Mr. Rumpff,

thank you very much for your nice words.
We truly enjoyed reading your feedback and are very delighted that our little parting gift appeals to you.

We are also very much looking forward to welcome you back, to indulge you with our culinary delights at our restaurants.

In this context I would like to recommend you our events calendar on our homepage, where you can find our upcoming culinary events.

Kind regards,

Jessica Peiler
Guest Relation Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asten, Österreich
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Nice Spa hotel for a long weekend. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast buffet is out of this world. The staff in the spa area is knowledgeable and service minded. The poolarea (in- and outdoor) was really nice and it was great to mix swimming with steam sauna and relaxing on one of the comfortable chairs.
The hotel restaurant Eichenheim is highly recommended. The Golfbistro however did not match the standard.
It was an exceptional weekend and the price makes sure we will do this on special occasions only ;-)

Room Tip: The rooms are great. High floor is best but you basically cannot be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandTirolia, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Tirolia, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for this nice feedback. We are grateful to receive your comments.

We love to see that you are satisfied with our staff and the level of service offered, especially with our spa and the restaurant Eichenheim.

I am very sorry to read, that you have not been satisfied with our Golfbistro. With the choice of our three restaurants at the hotel we try to find the right culinary delight for every guest of us.

We are looking forward to welcome you for your next special occasion at the Grand Tirolia.

Best regards,

Jessica Peiler
Guest Relation Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Let me start by saying that the Hotel Rooms and Facilities are impressive and high quality. The Golf course is likewise and very much worth the experience. The staf were, on the whole pleasant. My problem was that there was building work going on that pretty much destroyed the SPA ambience. I also fell foul of the mis-understanding what the pre-booked half-board entailed. If you decline the set menu for the golf bistro, you still pay for the half-board, but get the Bistro meal at half price. This does make the bistro food very expensive. I reccomend not pre-booking the half-board to get around this problem. When things went wrong (which for me they did a lot) the staff were not empowered to do much about it. I have been assured that this will change.
In summary, very impressive but not particulary homely corporate Hotel. Very good facilities, but does not compare in hospitality terms with the more family-run Hotels in Austria.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandTirolia, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Tirolia, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Mr. Smith,

thank you very much for your feedback. We like to see that you like the hotel in design and style.

I am very sorry to hear that you got disturbed by the noise of our rebuilding and about the misunderstanding with your half board.

We still hope to welcome you at the Grand Tirolia again, might be for a round of golf in summer time.

Kind regards,

Jessica Peiler
Guest Relation Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very nice hotel with beautifully designed rooms; the pefect blend of alpine style and modern design, absolutely nothing to fault. The bar at the reception is a bit on the small side. The gournet restaurant is amazing, I would not be surprised to see it awarded a Michelin star if it keeps to those standards. Food was very innovative and excellent wine list. Spa was very good too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandTirolia, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Tirolia, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your wonderful feedback, which I shared with pleasure with the rest of the team.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked the hotel especially the spa area and our gourmet restaurant.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again at the Grand Tirolia Kitzbühel.

Kind regards,

Jessica Peiler
Guest Relation Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

It would be almost impossible to find fault with this hotel. The rooms are large and tastefully furnished, with large balconies out to the magnificent views. The bathrooms are huge, with a large bath and a great rainfall shower. The wellness facilities, including the indoor and outdoor pool, sauna, steam etc are immaculate. The location is beautiful and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Also for Austria, where it is rare to get a really comfortable bed, the beds are fantastic. All in all, this hotel is definitely amongst the best.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandTirolia, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Tirolia, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Foodjunkie66,

thank you very much for this wonderful feedback.
We loved to read your comments about our design and facilities.

It is nice to see that you enjoyed your stay as best as possible.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again at here in Kitzbühel.

Sincerely,

Jessica Peiler
Grand Tirolia Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay in August. We booked a superior double room and it turned out to be as large as a suite in many other hotels. The bathroom was similarly large with a good separate shower room. The hotel has a large indoor/outdoor swimming pool (with sunbathing area) and what looked to be an impressive spa, though we did not use its facilities. We were on half-board terms and ate every night at the hotel; which turned out to be a highlight of our stay. The meals were excellent (typically a choice from 3 for each course) and the staff were friendly and efficient. Because it was a hot, sunny August we were able to eat in the courtyard outside of the restaurant which has views of the golf course and the mountains (facing the Hahnenkamm station). The heat did however highlight one deficiency, the surprising lack of air conditioning in the rooms. On one of the days it reached 35C and this was followed by a sultry night. Even having the balcony doors wide open was not sufficient. Had the architect forgotten that Austria has hot summers? Another, more minor, quibble is that the wireless internet signal was weak. Upgrade your routers!
We played two rounds of golf on the surrounding course. It is a good but challenging course with some great views to console you for the unusual number of balls you will lose. Unless you are very fit, a buggy is recommended not only because of the inclines but due to the distances between some greens and the next tee.
We hope to return; but maybe when it is a bit cooler.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandTirolia, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Tirolia, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear mmmgolf,

thank you very much for your positive respond. We really like to read that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Tirolia and could play 2 nice rounds of golf, even when it was a bit exhausting, because of the challenging course. We are also happy to hear that you had some lovely evenings at our restaurant Eichenheim and could have a relaxable evening at the hotel terrace and dinner there.

We do know about the problems of our air conditions in the room during the summer time and will replenish them as soon as possible.
The same we will try with our wireless connection.

We would love to welcome you might be during the winter season for skiing.

Sincerely,

Jessica Peiler
Guest Relation Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Tirolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tirolia

Address: Eichenheim 8-9, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#4 Business Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Tirolia 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Tirolia Kitzbühel offers its guests 82 tasteful decorated rooms combined by tradition and modern.The Resort is located on the edge of Kitzbühel, in between an 18 - hole golf course, A Leading Golf Course and also provides their guests relaxation at the 1500 m2 Grand Alps SPA.At the three restaurants of the hotel you will get indulged by regional and fresh products.In winter time they offer a ski shuttle to the ski lifts: Hahnenkamm, Kitzbühel Horn and Jochberg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotel.de, Tingo, HotelsClick, Escapio, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Tirolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Tirolia Golf And Ski Resort
Grand Tirolia Golf & Ski Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Tirolia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.