We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel itself but the poorest service I have ever experienced in 16 years travelling the world” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roemerhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Roemerhof to your Saves list
Hotel Roemerhof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Romerstrasse 62, Innsbruck 6080, Austria (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 80 Hotels in Innsbruck
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel itself but the poorest service I have ever experienced in 16 years travelling the world”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We booked this hotel via Crystal Ski for 1 weeks skiing on Patscherkofel. The hotel is sited only 5 mins walk along the road from the Olex Ski area at the base of Patscherkofel Mountain. This walk is along the main road so the adverts saying the hotel is a "ski in/ski out" hotel are not true as theres no snow on the road!

Now we were met by a well presented male receptionist (Never got told his name) who checked our names and took us to the room without saying a word. He opened the door and then walked away! Entering the room (Room 16) we were pleasantly surprised at the size and quality. I cannot fault the room really except the pillows are not comfortable and trying to get another one proved a major task. Only other thign is there is no kettle/tea/coffee making facilities in the room. However, due to the lack of "welcome/introduction" we read through the hotel info folder. I read that for 20Euros deposit, a kettle/tea/coffee etc can be provided on request, however when I went to reception, was told in very poor english and after consultation with an online translation site that all the kettles were in use! I asked when I could have one and was told "when the next guest checks out! I tried the next day with a different staff member to be told the kettles were broken! (I smelt a fish now) I rang the Crystal rep who rang the hotel straight away and he was told we'd have a kettle straight away. The kettle didn't turn up until the next evening! And even then, I had to go to reception every day to ask for more tea etc!

There appears to be only one cleaner who although polite enough, doesn't realise that toilet rolls need topped up daily, again, a challenge to ask for at reception.

The "resteraunt" (more like a round room, has no atmosphere, no background music or such like. However, the biggest downfal is the service. I don't know if the staff are new, but between them all, they cannot run a resteraunt. No matter what time you turn up for your evening meal, you get your starter within 10 - 15 mins, and then they seem to hold all main meals and serve them all together, and then the same for the dessert. There definitely seemed to be a preferential treatment to Austrian/German guests over the British. They seemed to get salad and soup for starters for example, we were offered salad OR soup! Overall the food was lovely and very well presented however portion sizes are minimal, so if you've been skiing all day and are hungry, make sure you have your own snacks ready in your room!

The hotel advertises secure luggage area, No they just put your bags at reception/bar.

The basement spa area is lovely. A lounging area with wicker lounger beds to relax on. A water machine with fresh fruit free of charge. The jaccuzzi is luke warm, which spoils the effect. There is a lovely dry sauna (95degrees) and a freezing cold plunge pool. Also a nice variable shower. We couldn't find a steam room as advertised either.

All in all, the hotel itslef is lovely and I would love to reccomend it to all, however, unless your German or Austrian (or can at least be fluent in German) I cannot reccomend this hotel to anyone, and certainly not until the service is greatly improved.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    22
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
16
28
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Booked the "Internet Early-bird" non-changeable special on the Best Western website for a double on Sunday/Monday, September 12-13, 2010. No problem with the reservation, though your card is NOT charged until checkout, despite what the website says. The room was very, very nice - big bathroom with soaker tub and European hand-held shower head (though no shower curtain - strange), huge bed with a balcony, flowers in the window, etc. Very clean. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and it was very, very nice - strudels/tortes, various yogourts/Quarks/cereals fresh fruit, semmeln, etc. The location is spectacular for summer if you like being out of the city, in the mountains, with dozens of hiking trails to choose from. The villages of Lans, Igls, and Sistrans were charming and we thoroughly enjoyed being "away from it all" yet only 15 minutes from the bustling centre of Innsbruck. Walked all over the place, though weather and time prevented us from taking one of the big hiikes up into the mountain peaks. This hotel, bought by the current owners in November of 2009 (according to the gent at the desk) aims at the "Kur-crowd", which can be good, can be bad. Good: the rural, peaceful setting high above Innsbruck, the clean air, hiking trails, cowbells tinkling in the distance all make for a wonderfully relaxing stay. The basement has a spa (free for guests) with a lukewarm jacuzzi, nice Finnish dry sauna (80 deg C, no clothes allowed), a "Dampfenbad" or moist sauna with aromatherapy (I could smell eucalyptus and menthol but there might have been others) plus a cold (VERY COLD) plunge and cold shower, with light snacks, lots of water, and some lounges to lie on while recovering from your sauna. Very warm, and spotlessly clean. Not so good: Folks without a car need to be very careful with buses. From Innsbruck Hbf you need Bus 'J' - Olympia Express to the "Badhaussiedlung" stop, right in front of the hotel. The trick is finding the bus from the Hbf. To find this bus, first go to Tourist Info and get their free map of the city. Go up the escalator and go out the door - there should be lots of bus stalls in front of you - this is NOT where your bus departs! Turn right from in front of the Hbf entrance and walk 2-3 blocks to the Museumstrasse - bear right on Museumstrasse, go under the railroad tracks to the first pedestrian crossing - cross Museumstrasse, and then cross again to your left (make a right angle from where you leave) to get to the bus stop for Bus J - Olympia Express - you should see the sign to your right once you make the second crossing. Make SURE you take a bus "Olympia Express" - Landessportcenter doesn't work - you don't even get out of the city, and the Patscherkofel bus stops too soon, leaving you to call the hotel or walk uphill to the hotel (see below). The bus runs until 7:30 pm on Mon-Friday, but only until 4 o'clock on Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays. If you don't have a car and get to Innsbruck Hbf after these times, you must take a taxi to the hotel. If you are desperate, you can take a "Patcherkofel" bus but this only gets you to the base of the Patcherkofel lift - it is a 40 minute walk uphill to Romerstrasse, then a 200 m walk to your left to the hotel (this is what my wife and I had to do). If you have a cell phone, and can only get to Patcherkofel, try calling the hotel and they might come get you. Though the hotel has WiFi, you must bring your own PC - no PC is available for guests, and there is not internet cafe in Igls/Lans. Finally, the help behind the desk wasn't horribly helpful once they gave us a tourist map. Not rude, not dismissive, but not willing to go beyond their understanding of the rules. Once we learned what to expect, and figured out the buses, we had a wondeful time and have no hesitation recommending this as an alternative to the more expensive properties in the city.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

the hotel is 10 minutes by foot from the olympiaexpress ski area with a fantastic view of the patscherkofel mountain on one side and with a pastoral landscape in the other.
we received very friendly service,tasty breakfast(also in the evening an italian restaurant very special).we learnt to ski with snowsport igls ski school and we had a very good time.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

We stayed at the hotel in June for 3 nights, and had a wonderful time. The hotel receptionist (Hannes), went out of his way in helping us plan our day trips in and around Innsbruck. We got a very large room with lots of windows and balcony, we were probably upgraded. The breakfast was very good, with excellent service from the hotel staff. Next time we're in the neiborhood, we'll stay here for sure.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

The rooms were large and comfortable with a nice balcony and view from the room. The breakfast was very good. The hotel is great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

After reading these TripAdvisor reviews we booked the Romerhof through Booking.com, unfortunately upon arrival we were told that the hotel was fully booked and that 'booking.com' must've made a mistake (I later checked and they said they hadn't) but that a sister hotel was available in Telfes about 10km away. Romerhof staff were adamant that the ski runs in IGLS were largely shut due to a competition (which later turned out to be untrue as only a single piece of the hill was closed). Overall whilst being polite the staff did not seem to comprehend that we had chosen to stay in IGLS, that we did not want to stay in Telfes and that after a 12 hour journey my family were getting bored with travelling. In the end, we made my own arrangements, stayed in IGLS at the delightful Leitgebhof hotel in town, had a great short skiing break and will be going back...but back to the Romerhof, erm I don't think so.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

The owners were very accomodating, and the grustl (backpacker's delight) was the best meal in Austria!

Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Roemerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roemerhof

Address: Romerstrasse 62, Innsbruck 6080, Austria (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 80 Hotels in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roemerhof 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Roemerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Roemerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.