We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Innsbruck, viewed from the mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roemerhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Roemerhof to your Saves list
Hotel Roemerhof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Romerstrasse 62, Innsbruck 6080, Austria (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 80 Hotels in Innsbruck
Châteauguay, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Innsbruck, viewed from the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Visiting Innsbruck, we decided to get an hotel outside of the city. Mid-summer, we want the fresh air. Well this hotel has delivered! Nothing fashionable, rooms are great, clean and in good conditions. Free Internet delivers speed, and absolutely no noise! A car passes by every hour or so, but besides that, even the horses of the neighbours are quiet. Oh, and stay in for supper, because the chef will cook your favourite. And his trendy touch will send you directly in heaven.
Price-to-quality ratio, it is an extremely good hotel....worth the 10 min detour from the downtown Innsbruck.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
29
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Some points I'm not impressed about their services:

- We arrived a bit early and asked if the room is ready. The (only) hotel staff didn't check anything and told us that it is not and asked us to wait. Later, it appeared to us the he didn't even know which room we are booking (we're booking an apartment) and our room was actually ready long time ago.

- The internet didn't work when we arrived and the staff told us that they were working on it and would inform us when it worked. He didn't. We had to asked him again a few hours later to learn that it won't work. We also had to keep asking him this and that to learn that we can actually use the internet at the lobby. We had to visit him a few more times about the internet but let's not go that far.

All in all, we have a feeling that they are many small things that the staff could do to help us but he didn't care. A few other small things:
- It's said in the booklet that you can get some coffee. You can't.
- Our apartment has a terrible view. It seems that all apartment room is in the underground floor.
- The hotel is on the mountain which is quite far from Innsbruck (if that's where you want to go).
- They also have a sauna. I don't know if it's free for some guests but it's not for us who booked through booking.com.
- You can get only two accounts of internet usage.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Positive: Very pleasant staff, especially Raluca who really makes a difference to the welcome and ongoing service you receive. The hotel’s proximity to Innsbruck is convenient. Being opposite the bus stop also helps, especially when carrying skis. It is also approx 150 mtrs from the Patchekofel ski lift which is great. Breakfasts are very generous and the sauna, hammam and Jacuzzi make a welcome addition after a day’s skiing.

Observations and a negative: There is nothing around the hotel; not a single shop or restaurant. So, unless you are driving, you will have to take a bus into Igles (€1.90 each way) - 5 minutes or Innsbruck – 30 minutes. A large beer at the hotel will set you back €3.90 and there is the threat of a charge for use of a bathrobe €8.50, which, to be fair, was not enforced during our visit, but disappointing for a hotel that is rated 4*. However, our main gripe was in spite of having agreed a late checkout with the receptionist, who said it was no problem, when it came to checking out they informed us that the charge for late checkout €35; which we contested and settled at €20. Had they told us of this charge in advance, we would have made alternative arrangements.

A disappointing end to an otherwise pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This hotel has a real family feel and you do sense that you are staying in someone’s home rather than a generic hotel. The staff were so friendly and always happy to help. There were a few things missing like tea/coffee in the room and sometimes dinner was later. HOWEVER, the character and in particular the standard of the food completely made up for this. The food was home cooked and very authentic and staff were happy to cater for allergies/preferences. Austria is quite laidback compared to England so things were a little less regimented but if you are happy to chill and take things in your stride then you have come to the perfect place.
We went on a skiing trip and the hotel is very close to the Olympic lift but not right next to the town (although the town is a picturesque walk or free bus ride away). We would highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting lovely Igls.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Booked Hotel Romerhof in the beginning of December, 2011 hoping the ski slopes would be open. Unfortunately there wasn't enough snow for the very close by chair lift (Olympia Express) to be open. That said, we had a great experience The room was very spacious with a nice view looking up to Patscherkofel and the bobsled track. I imagine the back rooms on the other side would have an even better view looking down over Innsbruck. The bed was amazingly comfortable - soft memory foam-like mattresses and the pillows were perfect for us. The bathroom was also very large.

The service we received was very courteous and always friendly. We made use of the hot tub and sauna area, which we were lucky enough to have all to ourselves and was very pleasant.
The breakfast is typical European with a selection of breads, meat, cheese, fruit, and cereal. Nothing too special, but nicely presented and perfectly adequate.

We also ate dinner here two nights. There was only two things to choose from and the menu changed every night, but was usually a typical Austrian dish. A good chicken schnitzel one night and a beautiful pork chop the other, coming with a vegetable and potato each time. It was a good deal: 20 euro for salad, soup, bread, the main course, and a nice dessert.

Getting to/from the hotel is a bit inconvenient because of the bus schedule. There are two 'J' busses. One that ends at 'Patscherkofelbahn' (the cable car in Igls center) and one that ends at the 'Olympiaexpress'. The latter is the one that stops right in front of the hotel and stops running from Innsbruck at 7:30PM or 4:30PM on Saturday/Sunday, but otherwise runs every 30 minutes. If you get on the 'Patscherkofelbahn' J bus, it is another 20 minute walk up a quiet, narrow road through the woods to the hotel. I found it to be a very pleasant walk, but it was very dark at night. To take a taxi to/from Innsbruck costs 20 euro. There are no taxis that we saw to catch from Igls center.

All in all we loved the quiet location. It was perfect for a mountain getaway and would have been even better if the ski lift was open. But the bobsled run with a nice little 'Bob Cafe' was a great place to hang out as we watched luge practice and a youth competition one afternoon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

What a mixed experience. The hotel itself is fine, well presented and very clean, although it may be an idea to spend less cash on ornaments and more on pillows, as the ones they offer defy description. The main contention at this hotel, as other reviews confirm, is the level of management service, which from our experience is non-existent.
After skiing I was reading in the lounge when two fellow skiiers arrived only to be told by the young receptionist (in jeans and T-shirt) that their room had been already booked (an experience shared by a group already in the hotel). On asking to speak with the manager the receptionist entered the kitchen and returned to inform the couple that the manager was not in, at that point I very nearly intervened as from my position I clearly saw the receptionist and the "manager" conversing.
Dinner in the hotel is acceptable -if you are prepared to wait up to one hour and ten minutes between courses. One one night our party was so hungry (no bread with the soup in this instance) that the waiter/receptionist/cleaner/washer-up suggested we eat from the salad bar in the main dining area (we had been asked to eat in a side room) At the end of the holiday, when paying for the room bill -the hotel refused cash payments on the night- we were actually charged over TWENTY EUROS for salad, together with other over-charges on the bill. To resolve this issue our friends were given a refund and my wife and I were told to wait for the refund (we had already paid) until later as the "manager" had no money. Politely asking for our ten euros prior to departure we given a printed paper stating that the receptionist doesn't understand our English (I hold a Masters degree in the subject) and that, as we had eaten the salad (without being told it was an extra cost) we would not be getting a refund. This episode gives some idea of the level of service you can expect at the hotel, which is NOT ski in/ski out as described in the brochure. The mountains, however, are awe-inspiring.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We booked this hotel via Crystal Ski for 1 weeks skiing on Patscherkofel. The hotel is sited only 5 mins walk along the road from the Olex Ski area at the base of Patscherkofel Mountain. This walk is along the main road so the adverts saying the hotel is a "ski in/ski out" hotel are not true as theres no snow on the road!

Now we were met by a well presented male receptionist (Never got told his name) who checked our names and took us to the room without saying a word. He opened the door and then walked away! Entering the room (Room 16) we were pleasantly surprised at the size and quality. I cannot fault the room really except the pillows are not comfortable and trying to get another one proved a major task. Only other thign is there is no kettle/tea/coffee making facilities in the room. However, due to the lack of "welcome/introduction" we read through the hotel info folder. I read that for 20Euros deposit, a kettle/tea/coffee etc can be provided on request, however when I went to reception, was told in very poor english and after consultation with an online translation site that all the kettles were in use! I asked when I could have one and was told "when the next guest checks out! I tried the next day with a different staff member to be told the kettles were broken! (I smelt a fish now) I rang the Crystal rep who rang the hotel straight away and he was told we'd have a kettle straight away. The kettle didn't turn up until the next evening! And even then, I had to go to reception every day to ask for more tea etc!

There appears to be only one cleaner who although polite enough, doesn't realise that toilet rolls need topped up daily, again, a challenge to ask for at reception.

The "resteraunt" (more like a round room, has no atmosphere, no background music or such like. However, the biggest downfal is the service. I don't know if the staff are new, but between them all, they cannot run a resteraunt. No matter what time you turn up for your evening meal, you get your starter within 10 - 15 mins, and then they seem to hold all main meals and serve them all together, and then the same for the dessert. There definitely seemed to be a preferential treatment to Austrian/German guests over the British. They seemed to get salad and soup for starters for example, we were offered salad OR soup! Overall the food was lovely and very well presented however portion sizes are minimal, so if you've been skiing all day and are hungry, make sure you have your own snacks ready in your room!

The hotel advertises secure luggage area, No they just put your bags at reception/bar.

The basement spa area is lovely. A lounging area with wicker lounger beds to relax on. A water machine with fresh fruit free of charge. The jaccuzzi is luke warm, which spoils the effect. There is a lovely dry sauna (95degrees) and a freezing cold plunge pool. Also a nice variable shower. We couldn't find a steam room as advertised either.

All in all, the hotel itslef is lovely and I would love to reccomend it to all, however, unless your German or Austrian (or can at least be fluent in German) I cannot reccomend this hotel to anyone, and certainly not until the service is greatly improved.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Roemerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roemerhof

Address: Romerstrasse 62, Innsbruck 6080, Austria (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 80 Hotels in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roemerhof 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Roemerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Roemerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.