We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable hotel next to station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Innsbruck

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Innsbruck to your Saves list
Ibis Innsbruck
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sterzinger Strasse 1, Innsbruck 6020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 80 Hotels in Innsbruck
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
“Reliable hotel next to station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed here overnight when travelling by train from Italy through to Germany. It's right next to the station, in fact my room had a view right down onto the platforms (a positive if you're a train buff). There is an entrance directly from the lower level of the station, although you need a hotel key-card so it's no use if you've just arrived!

Of course with Ibis you know what sort of hotel you'll be getting - reliable, well-run and a bit soulless. I would say my room was bit bigger than the typical Ibis size. Everything worked well - shower, TV etc. There is free wifi/computer access in the entrance lobby (and in fact the wifi signal worked in my room too - might be worth asking for a room on a lower floor and close to the lifts).

Very welcoming staff at reception. You have to pay extra (11 euros) for breakfast, alternatively there are some excellent cafes in the station.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5174-GM, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Ibis Innsbruck, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Traveler,
Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel IBIS situated next to the Main Train Station of Innsbruck.
It is a pleasure to read that the underground connecting corridor between the Train Station Hall and our elevators was helpful for you, as well as our welcoming staff and our well-sized rooms with free wifi access.
We would love to welcome you back in our Ibis Hotels. Kind regards from Innsbruck
Your IBIS Innsbruck Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    411
    101
    14
    9
See reviews for
123
315
118
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel is right next to the train station / bus terminus with the lift going down below road level for direct access to the station so very useful is you have lots of luggage and are travelling onwards by train. Also convenient for airport as frequent Bus Route F is pretty much door to door service for a mere 1.80-2.00 euros (accepts cash on board) and is comparable speedwise to a taxi

Fairly small rooms, but twin beds can be separated a bit more if you lower one of the bedside shelves. Decent shower. No coffee making facilities in room. Free wireless with reasonable bandwidth. Surprisingly quiet given you are in the centre of town.

Opposite a cafe chain called Baguette which serves reasonable coffee, pastries and sandwiches and also contains a large supermarket (doesn't look it).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I like staying in an Ibis because it has a certain predictability about the stay. The room here is slightly bigger than the standard Ibis in other countries. The bathroom and shower are also slightly bigger so that made moving around inside a better experience. There was good water pressure from the Grohe system and I prefer the moveable shower hose versus those that are fixed. Few things were not similar to the other Ibis stay that I had : no mini fridge, no kettle and no hand towels. You can, however, ask the hotel reception to give you a bag of ice to cool your canned drinks. There was free wifi in the hotel and room.

We were travelling around Austria for 3 weeks by train so being next to the train station was the main criteria when I was searching for accommodation. Ibis Innsbruck is definitely very good for location near the train station. To get to the hotel, walk past the MacDonald's in Innsbruck HBF and turn right. You will see an Ibis sign. Walk straight and you will see a lift which will get you to the hotel. Walking to the main tourist street, the Old Town, takes about 10-15 min. It is a rather pleasant walk and pretty safe. There is a supermarket across the road which opens at 7am and closes at 630pm (Mon-Fri) and opens at 8am on a Saturday. If you need to get groceries later, head to Sillpark which is a 5-10min walk at the other side of the train station or one at Kaufhaus Tyol on Maria-Theresien Strasse. These outlets close at 8pm.

For dining, I highly recommend Europa restaurant at the nearby Grand Europa Hotel. It served the best Wiener schnitzel that I had eaten and my best meal in Innsbruck. For best hot chocolate, head to Cafe Katzung. Ibis Innsbruck is a good hotel for simplicity and convenience.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5174-GM, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Ibis Innsbruck, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Traveler,
We would like to thank you for the very detailed explanation on the web Tripadvisor talking about your recent stay in our Hotel IBIS Innsbruck.
We like to read that our location, our free wifi, and our IBIS standards were convenient for you.
Looking forward to welcome you back next time you want to visit back the Alps!
Your IBIS Innsbruck Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was in Innsbruck for 5 days and stayed at this hotel. It is conveniently located right next to the Train station. The rooms are decent although it would be nice to have a chair for reading. Apart from that I enjoyed my stay here, the staff were very helpful in giving directions and tips for what to do in innsbruck.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Caetano do Sul, Brazil
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have stayed in Ibis Innsbruck with my wife and 3 years old daughter for the Silvester and 2013 New Year’s celebration. The location is excellent: the hotel is right in front of the main train station of Innsbruck – in fact it is so obviously in front of the station that we took some time to figure out where it was! They have the well know Ibis standard (which we consider excellent for most of our vacationing needs, except for the lack of the microwave + fridge pair in the room). The rooms are very clean and we were given one of the rooms with the extra bed for our daughter. From the hotel, it is an easy 10 minutes walk to the historical/touristic center of Innsbruck and just a bit more to the Nordkette Bahn that bring us straight to the skiing station in less than 30 minutes. The front staff was always helpful with our requests for information and facilitated our check-in a bit earlier than regular time, what we appreciated a lot! Overall, we liked a lot the place and I would definitely recommend to friends and family for a nice budget stay in Innsbruck.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5174-GM, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Ibis Innsbruck, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Daniel,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your nice words regarding your stay at our Hotel IBIS in Innsbruck. We are glad to see that you and your family could enjoy our IBIS Standards and finally we would like to thank you very much for recommending us to your family and friends.
Kind regards from Innsbruck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights.
We were skiing in St Anton and its very convenient to the train station and only €15 by rail (1hr) to St Anton. Also walking distance to most interesting parts of Innsbruck!
The hotel is clean and the staff very friendly and all speak quite good English as well as native German.
The rooms are your average hotel room but the beds are quite comfortable! There is free wifi throughout the hotel and that's a bonus!
Its no 5 star hotel (no fitness centre etc) however for the price, I would definitely stay here again!
Ps - if you fly in to Innsbruck it's a €13 taxi ride or €3 bus ride (bus F) from the airport to train station (ibis has a private elevator you can get from train station under road walkway).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5174-GM, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Ibis Innsbruck, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Traveler,
Thank you very much for your opinion based on your stay at our Hotel IBIS in Innsbruck.
We are very pleased to read that our location in front of the train station was convenient for you and that you could appreciate the comfortability of our new "Sweet Beds" by IBIS.
Kind regards from Innsbruck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Innsbruck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Innsbruck

Address: Sterzinger Strasse 1, Innsbruck 6020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Innsbruck
#10 Business Hotel in Innsbruck
#10 Family Hotel in Innsbruck
#13 Romantic Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Innsbruck 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Innsbruck Hauptbahnhof hotel is located a few steps from the centre of Innsbruck, 6 km from the airport and 100 m from the railway station. Close to historic sites, Bergisel Stadion, the Landestheater and lake Lansersee, the hotel has 75 air-conditioned rooms with Wifi Internet access, including 2 adapted for disabled persons. A bar, a business corner, snacks 24/24, and indoor pay parking are at your disposal. You can play golf and tennis only 6 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Innsbruck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Innsbruck Hauptbahnhof Hotel Innsbruck
Accor Innsbruck Hauptbahnhof

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Innsbruck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.