We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do check this out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral of St. James (Dom zu St. Jakob)

Cathedral of St. James (Dom zu St. Jakob)
Domplatz 6, Innsbruck 6020, Austria
43 512 583902
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 36 Attractions in Innsbruck
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Do check this out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

One of the best churches we visited so far in Europe. It is not huge, but the rococo architecture is simply WOW. Very ornate, definitely check it out. It's not one of the top attraction choices like the Hofkirche or Hofburg in the guide books (don't know why!), but we definitely liked this the best in the old town. Makes for some very good pictures as well. The only thing missing was a good audio guide explaining the history of the church. There is a pay phone using which you can get information about the church and it's history in the language you chose, but we found that the content was very condensed and difficult to follow and remember.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    71
    18
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
502 reviews 502 reviews
310 attraction reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
287 helpful votes 287 helpful votes
“A BEAUTIFUL BAROQUE CATHEDRAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Austians are very faithful, and that is expressed by the emphasis given to the churches, that are many and very attractive. One i likes very much, is St. Peter's Cathedral in Salzburg, but i can say, that Cathedral of St. James in Innsburg is impessive as well.The architecture,The Organ, Our Lady and Child statue is really excellent,Jesus calling everyone is fantastic ! Don't miss it,is
worthwhile to visit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Do not miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were just visiting the town. Does not look impressive from the outside, but this is one of the best little churches in Europe (and anywhere). Extremely ornate and well maintained.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
98 attraction reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
406 helpful votes 406 helpful votes
“Lots of baroque!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

A simple building in shape but very well decorated with stucco, paintings and carving. There is a huge organ and if you can get to hear it at a concert it's a bonus. On the altar - but so far away -is the famous painting of Our Lady and Child by Lucas Cranach.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berchem, Antwerpen, Belgium
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is perhaps the most beautiful church I have seen! The organ in itself is something to behold!
This is not much from outside and this is perhaps one of the reasons why tourists don't peek in more. The inside is nothing like the outside! The art and the architecture are just amazing!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral of St. James (Dom zu St. Jakob) also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral of St. James (Dom zu St. Jakob)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral of St. James (Dom zu St. Jakob), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.