We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penz Hotel West

Save Saved
You added Penz Hotel West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Penz Hotel West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Furstenweg 183, Innsbruck 6020, Austria (Formerly Sporthotel Penz)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 79 hotels in Innsbruck
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great business hotel with a view of mountains, clean, nice room, comfortable bed and friendly, smiley staff. The hotel is near the airport. Free WiFi. Also free room service for the dinner.
Very good breakfast too.
Excellent value for money, i can highly recommend and I will be back once the opportunity arrises.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    67
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
36
12
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was in transit with an early flight and decided to book the Penz as it is and easy 3 minute walk to Departures. Check-in was very fast and efficient and I was in my room in 2 minutes flat. Very sleek room, comfortable, squeakie-clean, fast and free WiFi (just as I like it and expect it).

Had some trouble with a kind of techno-house beat penetrating the room and no discussion was wasted as I was given another room immediately - top marks for that. Bathroom was excellent and very clean, nice powerful shower, shaving mirror, the lot.

Biggest surprise was breakfast: I have not seen or tasted such a good breakfast in all my years travelling (bar maybe the famous Israeli buffet breakfasts). Loads of fresh fruits and very tasty extras that really made all the difference. Excellent coffee too (much appreciated by this caffeine-junk!).

Check-out was a breeze and I was on the way to catch my flight within minutes. For this price this hotel beats anything else available hands down!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated, within walking distance of the airport; so easy to wheel or trolley your luggage along a flat road. This allows you take in the AMAZING scenery and spectacular mountains; which makes for a fantastic start to the holiday; definitely not worth taking a taxi unless you have major mobility problems. To get to the center of Innsbruck, take the bus pointing to 'Baggersee' which runs extremely frequently! The bus stop is right by the entrance to the hotel and the ride by bus is approx.10 mins.

The breakfast every day was great; although if majorly critical; the hot plates could have had a little more variety than the scrambled egg, sausage and bacon for us Brits. Maybe a variety of eggs, black pudding, beans and a toaster. Needless to say; there were plenty of alternatives on offer.

The hotel staff were extremely helpful; multilingual in German, Italian and England and most importantly polite. The room was very comfortable; cleaned thoroughly when we wanted it to be; with spectacular panoramic views from room. We had a particularly long day and returned at 21:30 to the hotel. The hotel sauna shuts at 22:00, however the very friendly receptionist extended the period until 22:30 for us so that we could warm up after traipsing around in the snow all day long!

All in all, a great stay for the 5 days between Boxing Day and 31st December. Room for improvement-

A heated swimming pool to target the elusive 5 star band.
A more expansive English cooked breakfast.
Climate control for the bedrooms. It was very warm on a few occasions; so had to open the window a little.

I did get the vibe from proximity to the airport, decor and the business function rooms that the main clientele for the hotel were business commuters; however this trip was for my girlfriend and myself. At no stage did we feel unwelcome, to the contrary; so this hotel is also definitely suited to couples looking for a nice break in the Tyrolean Alps. Considering that the only 5* in Innsbruck is the Grand Hotel Europa; the Penz West fairs very well for a four star hotel; having stayed in a number of others in the region.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This quaint little hotel is not too far from the city centre, the rooms are noting fancy but clean and comfy and they have a wide range of tv programms. Had the dinner, they were very nice and accomodating to special dietary requests, but what blew me away was the phenomenal breakfast. Out of this world! From cold cuts and meats, different cheeses to grains, nuts, fantastic fruit-fresh strawberries and blackberries in December, fantastic granola, different yogurts,....one needs lots and lots of time to sample everything. Great little hotel, would love to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Excellent hotel in the center of Innsbruck. Great location, rooms very clean and functional, exceptionnal breakfast buffet (included in the price of the room) with a phenomenal variety of fruits, marmelades etc. etc. I can not imagine the sunday brunches... you may stay there only for the phenomenal breakfast buffet.
All rooms are very calm and quiet with TV etc. etc. Showers are comfortable with lots of pure water.
Finally the bar at the top floor with a spectacular view over the surrounding mountains is exceptionnal if the wheather is clear.

Room Tip: Request top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

this hotel is very close to Innsbruck's airport (walking distance). The rooms are very comfortable, with a large balcony. There is an excellent SPA for free on the third floor. The breakfast is very good and satisfying.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on the 23rd August 2012 as part of a 50 car European rally.

We were one of the first to arrive, got pole position in the free carpark. The hotel looks a little dated from the outside but inside was lovely. The free wifi is fast and we made good use of it uploading the days pictures to Facebook. The bar has a good selection of beers and wines.

Our room was smallish but very warm. No air conditioning but a small fan on the desk. Because the hotel is so close to the airport, we didn't open the windows due to noise. In the morning we were wrecked due to the heat and having been kept awake but the fan.

The breakfast was great and set us up for the rest of out trip.

I wouldn't stay here again in summer due to the heat.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Penz Hotel West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penz Hotel West

Address: Furstenweg 183, Innsbruck 6020, Austria (Formerly Sporthotel Penz)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Innsbruck
#11 Luxury Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Penz Hotel West 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Penz Hotel West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Penz Innsbruck
Sporthotel Penz Hotel Innsbruck

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penz Hotel West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.