We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I ADORE this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tyrolis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Tyrolis Hotel to your Saves list
Tyrolis Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Meilstrasse 36 | Zirl near Innsbruck, Innsbruck 6170, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 80 Hotels in Innsbruck
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“I ADORE this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Me and my partner recently returned from a weeks stay at Tyrolis in the pretty area of Zirl and, after months of anticipation, were not disappointed! After seeing the pictures of the outside before our visit we were sure the inside couldn't be as picturesque, but we were wrong, it was beautifully furnished in traditional style wood - the restaurant Maximillian is simply stunning! And the rooms were very nice and to my liking too! They were tidied on a daily basis and were supplied with shampoo, soap, hairdryer, tissues and even a mini sewing kit! The view from our large balcony was amazing. We could not fault the place, the breakfast was lovely, think cold continental, as you might expect, cheeses, cold meats, pates, pickles, breads, jams, honey, boiled eggs, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, many different types of tea and more. There was no limit to what you could have and it was beautiful laid out. The restaurant Maximillian itself was open for food at dinner and tea - we ate there 4 nights out of 6 and the food was of excellent quality each time! The dishes were all traditional and freshly made and there was a lot of choice, even for me as a fussy vegetarian! The staff were quiet yet polite and smiley and the free wi-fi worked for our entire stay. There were plenty of different leaflets of nearby attractions available from the lobby and this was so useful as we weren't too sure where to start when we first arrived. Zirl itself is pretty but quiet, with not a lot happening there but we found it a great base to explore the surrounding areas of Innsbruck and the rest of the Tyrol. I would definitely recommend this hotel, we will definitely be returning in the near furture!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    46
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
38
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Very late review,but something ive been meaning to do!.My daughter and I stayed here a couple of years back.We found it very pleasant and being lucky with the weather ( 9 days of clear blue skys! ) spent most of our time at the open air swimming pool,which is soooo cold you wont believe it! or just packing a lunch and following the river up the mountains.Its a 10 min frequent bus ride into Innsbruck,which is a beautiful city.I think,like anywhere if you can understand how the austrian people do things and learn abit of lingo you cant go wrong!. We,d certainly go back.Only hesitant points would be....expensive and a definate gamble on the weather!.

Room Tip: We had a balcony room on the East side,as you faced the hotel.It overlooked Zirl.Stunning views of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I had a really pleasant stay at Hotel Tyrolis, located in Zirl, just a short drive from the center of Innsbruck. The appearance of the building and the room furniture are those typically found in Tyrol, which I really love!

I would encourage you to visit the wonderful restaurant "Maximilian", located on the ground floor of the hotel. It is all furnished with wood and both the feel and the food are amazing! Really well-appointed and romantic. We had the best meals of our whole trip here!! I particularly recommend the knoedl in a broth sauce, the goose liver pate, the gulash and spaeztl and the outstanding massive icecream. Not recommended the Austrian red wines, too acidic and lacking structure. Better to drink a good, cheaper beer!

As to the guest rooms, we liked the typical furnishing and the balcony, although our room was pretty tiny considering the price we had paid (105 Euros per night). The bathroom was quite small as well, no bidet (of course), comfortable and spacious shower box (the best part of it). We totally disliked the towels provided, which looked quite old, ragged and not adequately thick. We asked the receptionist for a kettle and 2 cups and we enjoyed making our own tea in our room. Very large and nice wardrobe with hangers. Another thing that annoyed us was the heating always switched on, even at night, which made it impossible for me to sleep well under the thick duvet.

Overall we enjoyed our stay, although we would have liked to pay a lower price in view of the quality of our room. Do stop by for a delightful meal if you happen to visit Innsbruck!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

My room stunk like smoke. Even the towels. When I asked about it at the front desk, all they could say is "all our rooms are non smoking". Apparently not. Even though I had prepaid for 3 nights, I checked out a day early, that's how bad it was. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

My wife and I spent one night here as a part of a road trip/cycling holiday through various towns in Europe. The staff were friendly; parking and wi-fi were free of charge. The room was clean and spacious (bathroom a bit small). The location (Zirl) was very convenient for cycling and we (having brought our road bikes with us) were able to enjoy a long afternoon ride on relatively level ground through scenic towns and countryside. Having come from Italy, we were surprised to see the town shut down so early in the evening, but were fortunate to find some good Asian cuisine within easy walking distance (he hotel restaurant was closed the night we were there). The breakfast was typical European and enjoyable. A very quiet location. Nothing spectacular stands out but neither were we disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We were on an amazing family vacation going through Bavaria and Tyrol and in wanting to visit Innsbruck, this hotel made it all the more special. We chose this hotel as most hotels in or near the old Innsbruck were booked or overly expensive, which was our vacation destination on this leg. We were not disappointed.

It is located in Zirl which is a really nice little typical tyrolean village just a few minutes to the west of Innsbruck and not far off the main highway. We were immediately struck by the beautiful hotel facade and how clean and upkept the exterior was. We immediately felt we had come to the "right place for us". The interior of the hotel blew us away. Mostly done in massive wood clearly built by superior professional artisanal workmanship...the dining room alone was worth taking pictures! If you go on their website, the pictures you will see are already beautiful and actually do not render them full justice. The hotel is actually much more beautiful then what you see.

The hotel is surprisingly fairly modern but somehow manages to capture the small town Tyrolean flavor. The rooms are fairly large by European standards. The washrooms are classy and could shame some 5 star hotels. The beds are comfortable, there is a minibar and a safety box. Parking is free and there is lots of it, at a few steps from the front door of the hotel..

Internet is free and was immediately offered to us when we checked in. The hotel service was professional, discreet and friendly. Point to note....We were offered an upgrade without asking.... a very pleasant surprise as they were sincerely trying to accomodate us.

The breakfast is included in the price and is worth it. Point to note otherwise, that the menu prices (lunch and dinner) are a little steep depending on what you buy. However there is a good selection so you can work your way around it if you want...and the quality of the food is excellent. Service was very good, courteous and professional. There is also a bistro type bar and a terrace if you prefer to eat outside.

It is important to note that this hotel is 10-15 minutes to the old Innsbruck by car (add 5 mins with traffic). It was fairly easy to get there as the city has put up some good road signs for unsuspecting tourists like us!

Finally like probably all the hotels in the area...the view from your balcony is simply breathtaking....Mountains as tall and as far as you can see. I don't think there is a bad room with a view anywhere around the hotel. We were in the back and the sun reflecting off the mountains in the evenings or mornings was worth several pictures (major romance and good wine alert!).

I recommend this hotel for families, romantic getaways, backpackers who need to recycle themselves before moving on, people who appreciate beautiful hotels at reasonable prices, those who have cars (saw town/city buses with stops just outside the hotel but not sure of their destinations. I assume some do go downtown Innsbruck) and anyone who just wants the rat race to forget them for a while!

Enjoy!

PS: Wish I could write a "disappointment" but I can't, nor could our 3 very picky teenagers, they simply loved it. All the positives outweighed the negatives by a lot.

Room Tip: Room at back was postercard view and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

My husband and I spent three days here and we loved the hotel. All staff was friendly and helpful, the room was very nice and comfortable. We loved staying in this little town and had a great time hiking around the alps and enjoying the fresh air. The breakfast was included and we were surprised we were expecting a few options, but they had everything, so a great start to the day ! I hope we get the chance to return. We also had dinner at the restaurant a couple of nights and the quality was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tyrolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyrolis Hotel

Address: Meilstrasse 36 | Zirl near Innsbruck, Innsbruck 6170, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Innsbruck
#20 Luxury Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tyrolis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Tyrolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyrolis Hotel Innsbruck

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tyrolis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.