We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Austrian Charm B&B - Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Bistro

Pension Bistro
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pension Bistro to your Saves list
Pension Bistro
Pradler Strasse 2, Innsbruck, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 80 Hotels in Innsbruck
Prospect Heights, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Austrian Charm B&B - Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Walter at the Innsbruck train station visitor desk got us a room at the Bistro, which was a 10 minute walk through a lovely park. What a pleasant surprise. The Bistro is next to a lovely river, overlooking mountains and is just a short walk to the beautiful "old city area" of Innsbruck. The owner was a kindly elder gentleman, who keeps the place immaculate. Everything was perfect, the location, rooms (with wifi), breakfast and hospitality.

Kurt & Barb B - Flagstaff, AZ USA

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
13
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

A very acceptable compromise between cost and comfort, we stayed for 8 days in August on business.
The other reviewers have accurately described Bistro's but I'd add:
It does not now seem to operate as a restaurant.
We were able to get wifi in our room and we were on the 2nd floor.
Very little noise from other guests.
The staff were quiet but always friendly and helpful and spoke good english.
No aircon and a bit noisy if you have the windows open, which might be a problem on hot summer's days.
My wife would have liked a kettle in the room to make tea & coffee.
But we were very happy with it on balance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

This B & B is terrific value.
The proprietor is verv helpful, rooms are spotless, the whole establishment in fact looks and is inviting. We have stayed twice, for these reasons and also because we found it convenient to the train station and also the old town. Initally, Bistro was recommended to us by other Australian friends ad we were not disappointed.

Room Tip: ask for room looking towards the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Nothing fancy, but decent and clean rooms and a very friendly service (I do speak German).
The location is quiet and not too far from the centre (15 mins walk). However there are virtually no eating opportunities in the neighbourhood.
The breakfast is the standard austrian buffet.
There is no Wifi in the rooms.
They do accept credit cards, which is rather exceptional for this kind of establishment in Austria (it was the only place on our trip where we could pay with plastic).
There is no lift.
The ventilation system of the bathroom is very noisy, maybe the only slightly negative point to say about this place.
We paid 72€ per night for a double including breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

The pension bistro is excellent value for money cosidering the close proximity to a major shopping mall and only a 15 min walk into the old town. We stayed there in February for 3 nights and had no complaints with the large spacious room and the cleanliness of the room as well as the small but adequate en-suite facilities. The host and his family were most hospitable and spoke excellent English. Additionally the breakfast selection was far better than we have had in far more expensive hotels. There was a choice of cereal, yoghurts, cold meats and cheese, different bread rolls and we were also offered boiled eggs. Plus unlimited Orange juice or tea and coffee. The Pension bistro is close to the frequent bus service into town, the O bus runs about every 7 mins. The best value is to get the weekly ticket valid on buses and trams inc airport bus and cost 12.5 euro. Alternatively you can take a 10 min stroll along the river to the shopping mall where there are numerous bus and tram stops outside. We would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

Overall this hotel has several good points. It's only about a 10 minute walk to the main train station, is only a few blocks to a mall and a major bus stop where a lot of connections are made. We booked a triple room which unfortunately only had a view of another building, but it was roomy enough and clean. The breakfast was very good which included ham, salami, cheese, jams, cereals and wonderfull rolls. The owner wouldn't win any contests for being talkative, he barely said a word. They were kind enough to let us leave our bags there the day we checked out and we picked them up mid-afternoon. We paid about 90 Euro for a triple including breakfast..

  • Liked — The location was ideal
  • Disliked — Scratchy comforters and pillow covers
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights over the Christmas holidays. For 70 euros/night we found this pension to be a good value. Our room (#22) had a nice view of a small river and the alps beyond. The room itself was quite large and clean and the bathroom, though small, was clean with good water pressure. The owners were lovely and friendly and the breakfast they provided was substantial (cereals, rolls, jams, meat, cheese, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea). We found the location to be ideal given that it is within walking distance of the train station (5-10 minutes) and the old city (10-15 minutes). We even walked to Schloss Ambrass (around 30 minutes). However, it should be noted that this pension is in a rather quiet area and walking to it at night might make some people uncomfortable - especially to and from the train station.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Bistro

Address: Pradler Strasse 2, Innsbruck, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 80 Hotels in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pension Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Bistro Hotel Innsbruck
Pension Bistro Innsbruck

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.