We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but where some of the staff cannot behave properly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gasthof Weisses Rossl

Save Saved
You added Gasthof Weisses Rossl to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gasthof Weisses Rossl
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kiebachgasse 8, Innsbruck 6020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 79 hotels in Innsbruck
Westcoast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but where some of the staff cannot behave properly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

The rooms were large and clean. The cleaningstaff did a great job. We arrived rather late but that was not a problem. The elevator started on the second floor which was a bit of a problem with large heavy suitcases. The staff at the breakfast room had a special form of humor - one of them behaved rather insulting in our point of view. The food in the restaurant was as all Austrian restaurant rather fat and salty but good, except that the waiter managed to forget that all of us had ordererd dinner so one was lacking after we had waited half an hour and after that I had to wait another 20 minutes for my meal and still had to pay full price.... So as long as you manage weird sense of humor and don't eat in the restaurant I do recommend this hote.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    34
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
22
24
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights before Christmas, so found the location of this hotel in the old part of town to be superb. Walk out the door and straight into the Christmas markets. Wonderful. Also only a short walk to the cablecar. We arrived and left by train and it was not a long walk to the station even with suitcases.
If you want to eat in the restaurant, you should book when you book the hotel esp around Christmas as it is very popular. However there are lots of restaurants nearby as well (and the food in the markets is great!). There is a supermarket just around the corner for odds and ends.
We had the triple/family room which was very spacious and comfortable. It is certainly not your average chain type hotel ... it felt a bit more like staying with distant relatives!
Apparently the hotel has been operating since around 1590 and I think that is when they installed the computer!! However, these little things just add to the charm of the place. In fact, a lot of Innsbruck is like this.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

When looking for a hotel to stay at in Innsbruck, I was loooking for something with a traditional alpine feel. This is exactly what we got. This hotel is located in the heart of the city. The rooms were very quaint and clean and the staff was helpful. When we arrived in Innsbruck, locating the hotel was a bit difficult, it is located on a street that is not drivable. Once locating the hotel, the staff helped us find a place to park our car (about 5 minutes away in a garage). The breakfast at the hotel was adequate, but the real draw is the overall feel you get when walking in. Although we only stayed here for a night, I would recommend this hotel to someone looking for a quaint Austrian feeling room for a good price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

Booked our 7 night stay here back in February . Arrived after a wonderful week in Salzburg at an excellent hotel (Weisse Taube) to find the hotel closed and a note on the door telling us to get the key from a nearby cafe. I had to leave my husband with the luggage outside the hotel and go off in search of the keys -- luckily I speak German, but the response of the young lady in the shop was "You`ll have to wait!" I did so for about 5 minutes before deciding to return to the hotel and let my rather irate husband know what was happening. 2 other guests arrived and asked us in German why we were unable to get inside. They expressed concern about our luggage being on the street and used their key to let us into the hotel, then went to the cafe to try to get our room key. Unfortunately they returned with the wrong key altogether, and we felt like leaving there and then. I decided to have 1 last visit to the cafe, where an older lady gave me the envelope with our key. This whole episode lasted almost an hour. We had hopes of a room similar to that in Salzburg as we were paying more at the Weisses Rossl. Unfortunately neither the room nor the bathroom/toilet matched the standard we had expected -- adequate would best describe the facilities. We received no apology from the owners for the trouble we had experienced on our arrival, and were grateful for the extremely helpful and friendly receptionist on duty for part of our stay -- the desk was not manned all day. It appeared to us that the main concern of the owners was the restaurant, and there was little welcome for other guests. Would definitley look elsewhere if we ever return to Innsbruck.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — inadequate shower
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

We stayed at the Weisses Rossl for one night in transit from Italy to Germany via train. The Plank Family was extremely hospitable and exceeded our expectations. Upon arriving in Munich, we realized that we had left our passports (!!) and ipods behind in our nightstand drawer at the Weisses Rossl. Herr Plank arranged for a tour operator to courier them to Munich prior to our return flight to the States the next day. I also highly recommend the family-run restaurant...excellent food and service. I will definitely return to this hoel during my next stay in Innsbruck.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

Stayed 3 nights in July and generally found this an agreeable hotel . Building well situated in the old town Welcome was exceptonal good as we arrived at 9 30 am for a check in that day . They suggested having breakfast and by 10 am we had been given our room . Although large with an adequate bathroom the room was genaerally dfissapopinting . It seemd fairly basic with poor quality furniture that seemed to be more suitable for a student hostel . the bed itself was adequate but a tiny old tv fixed to the wall did little for the rooms ambience . Breakfast was ok with a good selection of breads ham and cheese but boiled eggs would have been a nice touch . Service was acceptable . The restaurant is a however a high spot Good food at a reasonable price on an attractive rear terrace . All in all a mixed bag of a hotel Although we ultimately enjoyed our stay It just felt not quite worth 120 euros a night

  • Liked — early check in
  • Disliked — room fittings
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

Excellent hotel with friendly staff, spacious rooms and excellent food served in the terrace restaurant. It all contributed to the brilliant atmosphere coinciding with the Euro 2008 party which was going on nearby.

  • Liked — Rooms and location
  • Disliked — No aircon so a bit hot
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gasthof Weisses Rossl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Weisses Rossl

Address: Kiebachgasse 8, Innsbruck 6020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 79 hotels in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Weisses Rossl 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Gasthof Weisses Rossl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Weisses Rossl Innsbruck
Gasthof Weisses Rossl Hotel Innsbruck

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasthof Weisses Rossl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.