We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smack” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maximilian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Maximilian to your Saves list
Maximilian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marktgraben 7-9 | 6020 Innsbruck, Innsbruck 06020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 80 Hotels in Innsbruck
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Smack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed there for 2 nights in March 2014 on a business trip. Ideal location smack in the middle of the town next to the river. All restaurants, shops and other facilities are just behind the corner. Rooms are pristine though a bit small if you're not used to european standards but everything is there. Breakfast is second to none and unequaled even in the most upscale hotels. Friendly, efficient and non-invasive staff. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    114
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
125
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great family hotel with friendly staff, superbe breakfast and clean rooms right next to the old town of Innsbruck.

Only minus point was the bedtroom/bathroom seperation out of glas, no real privacy, but for an overnight stay this didnt bother much

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We was travelling to Innsbruck early January for few days and choose this place and where totally satisfied. Rooms good & clean a bit small alltough but all we needed in the middle of town, staff friendly and helpful especially the lady who clean up the room, breakfast for us as breakfast lovers are more than great to start the day, coffee could be better.
So well done we coming back

Room Tip: we had 5th Floor with view to the mountains....great especially for us as we living in Bangkok there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great hotel. I had one of the attic rooms so you had to be careful of the slanted ceiling. It was the nicest room I had my entire trip in Europe. The bathroom was quite small but it was that way in all my hotels. The free WiFi worked like a dream. The breakfast layout was great...it had a exceptionally expansive selection of fruits, nuts, breads, and more. Location was close enough to the train to walk and very close to the Golden Roof, Christmas markets and other shopping. The views of the mountains made it even better. The staff was really friendly and super helpful. I appreciated their help with train schedules and food suggestions. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Innsbruck.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isolde p, Manager at Maximilian, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking your time to write your evaluation about your stay at our Hotel Maximilian Stadthaus Penz.

We are so happy that you've enjoyed your stay at our hotel so much.
It's so good to hear that you've liked our small but comfortable attic room and also the breakfast buffet, which you've kindly described a bit. :)
We do our best every day to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible and we are glad to read that we've got everything to your satisfaction.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel at your next Innsbruck visit.

Kindest regards,
The Penz family with team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect, very close to the downtown but quiet. The taxi stop is just across the street. The room is small but it is normal for a city hotel. However when we arrived, our room was not very clean. The breakfast offers a variety of cold cuts, jams, cheese and many many fresh fruits. The staff at breakfast is very attentive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

I'm so glad we stayed here. The location is perfect and the staff are so helpful. The hotel seems to be newly renovated and yes the rooms are smallish - go for the deluxe if there are two if you traveling. As a family we were well looked after - if you don't want to pay for their breakfast (which was very good) just around the corner there are coffee shops selling a great breakfast. On the same block as the Golden roof - great hotel

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

What a wonderful find! This hotel is situated in the heart of the old town of Innsbruck and is ideally situated for exploring this beautiful city. It is very quiet, despite its central location, and has recently been renovated. The rooms are modern and well equipped with excellent showers. The whole hotel is very clean and the service faultless; we got a very warm welcome and all the staff couldn't do more to help you. The breakfasts are especially good with the choice of fresh fruits being outstanding and better than any other hotel I have stayed in.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and will certainly be re-visiting.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maximilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian

Address: Marktgraben 7-9 | 6020 Innsbruck, Innsbruck 06020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Innsbruck
#7 Romantic Hotel in Innsbruck
#7 Business Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maximilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maximilian Hotel Innsbruck

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maximilian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.