We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondschein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondschein to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondschein
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mariahilfstrasse 6, Innsbruck A-6010, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE UP TO 15%
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Innsbruck
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel was a great location choice when staying in Innsbruck. We had a beautiful room on the 5th floor overlooking the river and right across from the old town. It was spotless and comfortable. We are a family of 4 with 2 teenagers and there was plenty of room for all of us. It is a city and there is parking at the garage behind the hotel, it might be tight but it works! The staff were all nice, friendly and helpful. We especially enjoyed the woman in the breakfast area but I can't remember here name. Breakfast was perfect with plenty of food and choices. We would highly recommend this hotel and would choose it again. A great value I think, location is everything!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    198
    50
    10
    3
See reviews for
124
184
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my wife for three nights in July 2013. The rooms and ensuites are small, but adequate. Breakfast was OK. The hotel is in a very good location just across the river from the old city. Staff we generally helpful. The hotel has parking, but you can not book it and is first in first served. If you do not get a space in the hotel car park, it means you have to park on the street and move you car to avoid getting tickets.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the river with views over the old town
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Spent there 3 nights with my family (2adt + 2chd) and we all were very satisfied. The single bed was big enough for my 8 yr old twins to share it so we did not use the roll away bed provided by the hotel. Our room was simple with a beautiful view of old town on the 5th floor, the bathroom was really nice and sparkly clean and the warm (heated) towel racks were great and made sure that what i washed at night, was dry in the morning. (Hotel doesn't have laundry service) I did notice a coin operated laundromat service just down the street about a 100m away from the hotel (same side of the river, down stream). Reception staff was very helpful, provided us with driving directions. If you plan to explore the surrounding areas of Innsbruck, its worth to rent a SMALL car. Off site parking is good, maybe 200m away, behind the hotel, but has narrow parking spaces. If you need an Innsbruck card, they are available at the hotel reception.
Internet access codes are provided by the hotel upon check-in.
The airport is only 4kms away, 10mins by car (lots of traffic lights) or 20mins by airport shuttle bus and the last 800m on foot. If you come from the Main Railway Station, it takes only 5mins to get there by taxi and costs 7 Euro.
We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back here again if we return to Innsbruck.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Inn River and the Old Town are a bit more noisy, but the view is fantastic. Floor 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmondschein, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondschein, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking your time and writing such a detailled review. We are glad that you and your children enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Maybe you can come back in winter when Innsbruck is covered with snow and enjoy the Christmas market!
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Wonderful lady at the front desk. Fantastic breakfasts in great setting on the second floor. Wonderful historic hotel building across the river from the Old City, right at the foot of a bridge crossing. The room was spartan, but clean and comfortable. The free parking is behind the hotel, up the really narrow street as you cross the bridge. We did not know this, so ended up paying for parking in a garage across the street. We were a bit surprised how all the local eateries close down in the afternoon. Had to adjust our late afternoon lunch time. A must do: hike up to the funicular at the zoo (or catch it in town), then take the ride up the mountain. It's two rides all the way to the top. We had a wonderful snack at the very top--strudel and cafe and cocoa. Very special. Innsbruck is a beautiful city!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmondschein, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondschein, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear guest,
it is wonderful to hear that you liked your stay with us and also liked so much the city of Innsbruck! Thank you very much and we really hope that other travellers will appreciate our hotel as much as you did. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The location of this hotel is great for exploring Innsbruck and the view (if you have a room towards the city center) is very nice.
The room, bathroom, service, breakfast, building,... is ok, but the price/rate is too high for the standard the hotel offers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmondschein, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondschein, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for writing a review! We are sorry to hear that you found our rates too high. Please consider that our rates include full breakfast and a free garage for cars or motorcycles, a service which no other hotel in Innsbruck center is offering! There is also a possibility to get discounts up to 15% booking in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sverige
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Clean and nice looking. Good beds. Attentive staff. Good breakfast but if you arrive near closing time, much is gone. If you arrive by car then you must try the free hotel parking garage. You can continue reading only if you have a small or medium car. Enter the garage backwards and position the car in front of the lift. Yes, a lift, once in a lifetime! Open lift door, press button for basement and you will find several free spaces there. For exit, the same procedue in reverse.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmondschein, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondschein, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your lovely description of our parking garage! Sometimes it is getting a bit narrow, but usually our guests do appreciate very much the fact that we offer a garage completely free of charge!
We hope you had a good trip back home and send you best regards from Innsbruck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I can't add anything more than other contributors have written regarding this excellent hotel. Location and staff are exceptional. Would highly recommend. Receptionist who greeted us when we arrived provided such a great welcome and the attention to detail regarding the location of the garage was superb. Very old building but the newly refurbished bathroom was excellent. Great combination of old and modern.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmondschein, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondschein, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
.... and we cannot do anything more than say thank you for your friendly words and hope to see you again some day in the future!
Best regards from Innsbruck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondschein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondschein

Address: Mariahilfstrasse 6, Innsbruck A-6010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Innsbruck
#4 Family Hotel in Innsbruck
#6 Luxury Hotel in Innsbruck
#16 Romantic Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondschein 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondschein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mondschein
Best Western Innsbruck
Innsbruck Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondschein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.