We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A strudel for everyone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strudel-Cafe Kroell

Strudel-Cafe Kroell
Hofgasse 6, Innsbruck, Austria
0512 57 43 47
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 298 restaurants in Innsbruck
Price range: $3 - $11
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A strudel for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We went along to Cafe Kroell for dessert and was pleasantly surpriised by our strudel, coffee and traditional chocolate cake. The young waiters were really nice and welcoming and no trouble when we moved out of the way of a pipe smoker. They even offered to wrap the remaining chocolate cake that my 9 year old couldn't fit in. I would like to go back one day and try their savoury strudels as they looked just as inviting. My husband had chocolate and raspberry and I had mango, peach and ricotta. Don't forget to ask for some custard which is to die for and icecream is also a nice touch. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    62
    59
    21
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This cafe is situated in the picturesque Old Town of Innsbruck. During our 6 months stay in Innsbruck I lost count of the amount of times we visited Strudel Cafe. We took all our visitors here and they were equally taken aback by the fabulous strudels!
I would recommend going here for either lunch or 'desert' where you can choose a choice of three different strudels. We often chose this option as it allows you to taste a variety of different flavours. The Italian style hot chocolate is also something you must try!
The staff are very friendly and make you feel welcome.

Overall I can not fault this place and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Innsbruck.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf City USA
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Innsbruck's No. 1 Strudel Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Located in the heart of the touristy area of Innsbruck, the Strudel-Cafe packs in visitors and locals alike. The selection of strudels will make you wish you brought your extra stomach along - so you could eat more. They all looked delicious. But we had to pick one, and it was traditional apple strudel with custard. Right out of the oven. To go with it, we had a cappuccino and a Viennese style coffee (served with a glass of water on the side). Just delicious. Bill was under 10 euro. Seating is available inside or outside. Outside was a little hectic, but great for people-watching.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“YUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We visited Studel-Cafe twice - once for dessert and once for lunch.

Both times I got the gluten free cherry strudel, which was fantastic - get it with whipped cream! One note for very gluten sensitive folks - the GF strudel is kept in the same case as the others, and is touching the regular strudel - so definitely cross contamination.

Hubby got the chocolate/hazelnut strudel for dessert the first night, and the sour cherry strudel for lunch/dessert. He said both were fantastic. They warmed both of our strudels in the microwave so they were melty and delicious.

For lunch we both got sandwiches - mine was on gluten free bread. They were smaller sandwiches and didn't come with any sides - hence the need for dessert strudel the second time. They were very tasty but nothing outstanding. Still - five stars for the whole experience because we felt it exceeded expectations and the prices weren't horrible.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice Strudel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The variety of strudels was superb and this is a nice little cafe. Quite a large selection of food on the menu

The apple strudel was very nice, although my wife's Mango one looked nicer (she wouldn't let me try any). The coffee was also good but I thought this place was a little expensive. 3 strudels with vanilla sauce and 2 coffees came to almost 24 Euros. This is an expensive snack unless they mucked my bill up

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strudel-Cafe Kroell also viewed

 

Been to Strudel-Cafe Kroell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strudel-Cafe Kroell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.