We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basic Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Basic Hotel to your Saves list
Basic Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Innrain 16, Innsbruck 6020, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 80 Hotels in Innsbruck
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington MO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My family recently spent 3 nights in a quad room at the Basic Hotel. The hotel is situated in an ideal location just a block from "Old Town". The location was perfect since we did not have a car and it is an easy walk from the train station. Everything about this hotel was excellent! The employees were extremely helpful and gave great recommendations as to hiking, sightseeing and eating. The hotel was very clean and our room had a balcony with a view of the river and Alps. There is a supermarket directly across the street and many bakeries nearby. Innsbruck is a great city and the Basic Hotel a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    124
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
75
88
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you are looking for luxe then this may not be for you. Basic is as its name suggests. A modern style hotel with great views behind it, comfortable beds and a funky bathroom with frosted glass doors that make you question your privacy. Although there is nothing really wrong with the hotel, my impression of it was that it seemed a little "tired" looking. I guess i expected it to feel like a fresh version of Ikea lol. Or maybe I was just spoiled from the 8 luxe hotels I stayed in during our European trip! There is no air conditioning but fans are provided. If you are by the street, however, it could be a bit noisy with the random loud young person walking by. Our kids were at the back with a triple. It had a sitting porch with fantastic views. Location can't be beat. It Is near the picturesque view of the colored houses by the river with the alps behind it. Within minutes you can walk to the city center and enjoy restaurants, shops, and the Golden Roof. Stephan's bakery next door is a real treat! They have the most amazing chocolate croissants and egg dishes. There is a very cool indoor market behind the hotel also. Overall, the hotel is an excellent value and I would definitely recommend if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of alps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Cliche, but this really is anything but basic! Our quad room was spacious and very clean and tidy. Our view was amazing, overlooking the mountains, and we had a little balcony with a table and a few chairs. The staff are really friendly, and will recommend great restaurants. About a 2 minute walk from the old town. The Bakery next door is great for breakfast too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
896 reviews 896 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 197 cities Reviews in 197 cities
675 helpful votes 675 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Located of Marktplatz this hotel is conveniently located for all your Old Town sites. Marktplatz is a minihub of transportation for busses and trams within the city. Everything is walkable.

The rooms are spacious, clean, and modern. The beds are comfortable. The WIFI works well. The bathroom contains a shower. There is no aircon but a fan is provided. This can cause a problem if you are a light sleeper because at night you will most likely have to keep a window open. An open window allows street noise from the busy area.

The staff is friendly and helpful. A prepaid breakfast option is available at the bakery next door. The bakery is very appealing with many options of breads.

This is a good midrange option for hotels in Innsbruck.

Room Tip: Higher floors away from street traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

There's nothing to dislike about this hotel! The location is perfect, easy walk to the old town. The bus and train station is just in front of the hotel. Our room was large with a gorgeous view to the Alps from our balcony (at the back of the room). We had family of 4 in 1 room, there was space for all of our luggages. And parking is free if there's a space availabe at their parking lot at the back of the hotel, we were so lucky to have 1 spot available during our stay. They don't provide breakfast, but there's a very nice coffee shop + bakery next door to the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. In short we were satisfied and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the mountain, it's just beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed in a room for 4 (2 double beds). Between us it was 35 euro a piece. It is a street over from all the main square. The individual at the front desk was helpful when we asked him where to eat. He gave us his honest opinion ("food in the main square too expensive...eat here.."). He recommended Tiroler Bauernkeller, which turned out to be very delicious. This place is easy to find and also near to a parking garage. Lastly, the glass walls of the bathroom was pretty unique. Def worth it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is just outside the Old Town -literally a 5 min stroll and you are in the Old Town. I was planning on booking what is rated the best hotel which is in the Old Town. AM I GLAD THE ROOMS WERE SOLD OUT. This is without doubt the best hotel in Innsbruck. It is close to the Old Town, but because it is notin he Old Town, here is no noise. But best of all, the rooms have a brillant large sit out balcony with a clear view of the mountains. This is something you will never get in any of he Old Town hotels and only when you experienfe it do you realise how brilliant it is to be able to sit out after a hectic day and gaze at the mountains over drinks and dinner. PRICELESS!!! And the rooms and bathrooms are huge and very well maintained. Excellent beds and showers, lots of space and I would rate it as one of the most memorable hotels I have stayed at. Only suggestion is that they included breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Basic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basic Hotel

Address: Innrain 16, Innsbruck 6020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 80 Hotels in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Basic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern city hotel occupies a completely renovated building in the heart of Innsbruck, just one minute from the Golden Roof. Free Wi-Fi is available. Basic Hotel:Innsbruck's guest and bath rooms are totally renovated and feature cable flat TV, a work desk, hairdryer and are bookable up to 4 pers. Our team at the front desk welcome you from 7 am till 9 pm. Outside opening hours, you can access your room by using your credit card at the Check-in-point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Basic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.