We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for food, a drink or both” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stiftskeller

Stiftskeller
Stiftgasse 1, Innsbruck 6020, Austria
+43(0) 512 570 706
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 310 Restaurants in Innsbruck
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
England
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good for food, a drink or both”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stopped by here during a recent visit to Innsbruck. The front bar is a bit smokey but they have a non smoking restaurant at the back. If you just want a drink its a good stop off in the centre. We had some lunch in the back restaurant. I had the pork in beer sauce and it was one of the best dishes i ate in Austria. Service was very prompt. The staff wrre bright and efficient. I d recommend this place for a quick bite and a drink if you re in the centre over lunch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    382
    127
    30
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good for a drink, but don't bother with food!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Very average Austrian food. I have had much better. The potatoes that came with the chewy schnitzel were very bland.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food with even better prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Trying to find reasonably-priced traditional cuisine in Innsbruck was quite difficult, until we came across this place. The staff are friendly and witty, the food is FANTASTIC, and the place has a really nice atmosphere. Definitely recommended if you fancy a taste of Austrian hospitality!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Consistent unfussy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We ate here on 3 occasions. Each time we got good service. Twice we had to share a large table with others which wasn't an issue for us.
Food is very traditional. Ideal on a cold night or day. Good quality and very large portions.
Good selection of beers. All well priced.
Have an adjacent bar with a nice atmosphere but far too smoky. No smoking in restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very representatively”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

If you want to try tyrolyan cuisine this is good place to start.
Nice beer and selection of austrian meals, the atmosphere is quite relaxed.
However, it is really good and very popular it is not the best place in Innsbruck where
you feel really full and relaxed after the whole day of skiing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stiftskeller also viewed

 

Been to Stiftskeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stiftskeller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.