We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“authentic austrian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stiftskeller

Stiftskeller
Stiftgasse 1, Innsbruck 6020, Austria
+43(0) 512 570 706
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 335 Restaurants in Innsbruck
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Mangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“authentic austrian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

the place is like an old austrian house, which serves authentic local cusine with the local house brewed beer. the food is really great. its better to book and then go or else you may have to wait for a long time

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    442
    146
    35
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A very cool place, but food is just ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I loved the atmosphere of this restaurant. It is located in a very old building, and vaulted ceilings and all the decorations make you feel like you are in a real medieval pub. The beer is great. The food was not bad, but we had a feeling that it was a mix of fast food and normal restaurant food. Maybe considering the type of the placet (it's more of a pub) it was silly to expect different. My friend and I had two different soups (can't remember the names), and both of them were average. However, we also split a duck with saurekraut and either cranberry or orange sauce - and this one was delicious! Besides, the plate was huge - like half a duck. The price was moderate for such central location - we paid under 30 euros total for 3 beers, 2 soups and the duck). Also, what's nice about this place is that they have their menu in about 6 different languages and every item has a number, so it's very easy to choose and to order. The staff is very friendly and effecient. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good traditional place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This traditional beer hall was recommended to me by a local. Went there on a Thursday night with my 13 year old daughter without prior reservation. Although the place was quite busy, we were immediately welcomed and taken to a room with free seats at a bigger table. Service is attentive, friendly and astonishingly fast. Drinks arrived in record time, as did the starters, a "Jausenplatte" (cold cuts platter) which we shared, followed by Käsespätzle (local pasta with cheese served in a pan) and ribs. Portions were more than generous and the food among the best I've had in a beer hall. Will return to this place when in town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Pork on Saturday nights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Great pork on a Saturday night which the locals come in especially for. Typically good beer hall. We did have to walk through a smoky bar but found a seat in dining room where there was no smoking. Good value for a quick family meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Disappointing !!! It's living off its past reputation.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We where so excited to visit this beer hall and restaurant but it left us disappointed .
The food was really average and the staff where not helpful or friendly ! It took several attempted to find out where we could sit.
It was also so noisey that we couldn't have a conversation .
We just wanted to leave ASAP !

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stiftskeller also viewed

 

Been to Stiftskeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stiftskeller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.