We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Youth Hostel Nikolaus Glockenhaus

Youth Hostel Nikolaus Glockenhaus
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Youth Hostel Nikolaus Glockenhaus to your Saves list
Youth Hostel Nikolaus Glockenhaus
Weiherburggasse 3, Innsbruck 6020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Easy to find and a short-ish walk from the train station, easy to access town. Comfortable bed; lovely owner; bathroom could be cleaner. For 21EUR a night it's pretty damn good. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
4
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Glockenhaus is about 2kms from the train station; on the other side of the River Inn from the city centre. The place has a rich history; the owner mentioned to me that it's been with her family since the 16th century. The hostel is well known amongst the locals so finding it isn't too tough. It's well appointed, but don't expect too much - a kettle, a charging point, a fairly clean WC and a decent bed is almost all that you can expect.

One problem that I had when I stayed here was that I had to get back by 10pm to get back the deposit for my key (I had to leave early the next morning, so I couldn't hope to get it then). In that sense, the owner is a little rigid - it's more an extension on her home than a professionally run hostel.

All in all, at 19 Euros in a city that isn't the most inexpensive; it's a fairly decent option!

Room Tip: Pick the single room for some privacy; otherwise it's bunk beds for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

First of all, there ain't too many hostels in Innsbruck. I decided to stay as the other hostels were sold out and I just had a night long stay. This place is 15 mins walk from center, rooms are not maintained properly, tiny bathroom and no locker facilities. This is a very basic stay, with no help from owner what so ever . my friend complaint of bed bugs but I didn't notice any. Mattress are old and bed makes noises on even the small movement. Again this is one of the very few options available in the city, but I would avoid if I am travelling for more than a day and of travelling with family.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

basically a gash hostel, glad I only had to stay for one night. woken up hourly by a really loud church bell. no breakfast, dirty showers with no hooks and broken shower nossel. no proper keys to lock the rooms either.

You get what you pay for!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Friendly? Didn't seem so. Her smile seemed to be more of a part of the business. Overall, she was fine as long as you ignore her customer service. Rooms are okay, cleanliness of the bathroom and toilet could be improved. It was quite inconvenient to have shower as there was not really any hooks for the clothes and towels for showering.

First, you have to pay an extra fee if you wanted a personal key for your dorm room. On the other hand, we needed to leave next day early in the morning, around 6am, we couldn't checked out the next morning. We needed to check out and return the common room key by 10pm the night before, which means we will have to stay in the room after that as we don't have the key to enter the hostel anymore.

p/s: Wi-fi was only available at the front hostel, not those at the back, which was where we stayed. Had to go to the front area if we want to have access to wifi

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The building has a remarkable past, the staff is very friendly and attentive to your needs; we wanted a double-room and we got a large room with 3 beds in the attic. The position is very good, between the centre and the Nordkettenbahn plus the price is very good. Overall we enjoyed our stay in Innsbruck!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Youth Hostel Nikolaus Glockenhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Hostel Nikolaus Glockenhaus

Address: Weiherburggasse 3, Innsbruck 6020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Innsbruck
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Youth Hostel Nikolaus Glockenhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Youth Hostel Nikolaus Glockenhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.