We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Hotel Blaue Gans

Best prices from these 12 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Art Hotel Blaue Gans to your Saves list
Art Hotel Blaue Gans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Getreidegasse 41-43 | Herbert von Karajanplatz 3+4, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Moray
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We spent a couple of nights here at the end of our skiing holiday. It was our first stay in Salzburg. We wanted a hotel in the old city. The location is perfect. On the main shopping street, near the Festival Hall, a door or two along from Mozart's birthplace. Although generally expensive they offered a good rate for a double room.

The room was overlooking the street. Small seating area, adequate wardrobes etc, en suite, comfy beds. It was quiet as the street is really a pedestrians only place. Loved the little blue geese in the bathroom!

Breakfast was excellent. Buffet style with yoghurt, fresh fruit, muesli, large selection of breads, delicious fresh coffee, scrambled eggs, cold meats, salmon and more.

There are no doubt many superb restaurants in Salzburg but we chose to eat in the hotel restaurant on the first night. We enjoyed it so much that we went there the second night too! We also ate late the second night after a concert in the Festival Hall, just along the road. The restaurant was buzzing both nights. Tried their soufflé speciality the first night. Would have had it the second night but her Majesty suggested that we show restraint!

The staff throughout the hotel were also excellent. Always quietly helpful and efficient.

I have a feeling we will return to Salzburg and when we do this is where we would like to stay.

Room Tip: Room 110 would be a good choice for a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Front Office at Art Hotel Blaue Gans, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
thank you so much for writing those lines.
your blue duck will get a new friend as soon as you visit us again.
greetings from Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    60
    15
    11
    3
See reviews for
44
133
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The location of this lovely hotel is fantastic. You walk out the door right into the middle of the Old Town and main shopping area of Salzburg. There are many restaurants and shops nearby and it is easy to get to the main sights, such as the funicular up to the fortress. The staff were extremely helpful, with the people at the front desk providing directions and maps, as well as booking taxis for us when we needed them. The rooms are very modern with an antique touch coming more from the design of the building itself. We had a large room with a sofa, separate toilet and nice bathroom, and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was quite good with a decent selection and omelettes/eggs available on request. We spent four nights staying here over Christmas and could not have been happier with our stay. Salzburg is one of our favourite places we have visited yet, and the hotel really made for an enjoyable stay in the gorgeous old city. Highly recommended!

(One piece of advice: if you're staying with kids, check the artwork on the walls on the way to your room. The picture outside our door was quite explicit and I wouldn't want to be explaining it to the kids!)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Front Office at Art Hotel Blaue Gans, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
thank you so much for the recommandation. we appreciate your help a lot.
the arthotel Blaue Gans Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This hotel is in the central shopping area of Salzburg. The views, standing outside the hotel with the hills sweeping around it are breathtaking. The hotel staff is very accommodating, even though there was a language barrier for us. They are more then helpful when it comes to suggesting restaurants to dine at as well as making reservations for you. The room is quite large, the layout very interesting with the bathroom literally next to the bed, but divided by a door. The decor is very modern and simple. We were a little sad we did not have the opportunity to checkout the bar or restaurant as it was closed the night we spent there. The hotel is easy walking distance to everything in the area, we parked the car and venture on foot for our two days there. The only downside to this hotel was the parking situation. You park in a garage that is nearly impossible to find at first, finding your way out of the garage via foot is almost as much of a journey! However, once you figure it out, it is quite simple. It was pretty stressful though getting to the garage and there is not an area to park by the hotel to check-in or drop off luggage. We recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Front Office at Art Hotel Blaue Gans, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
we are very much looking forward if you do so - stay again with us.
and if for the next time you arrive by plane or by train - there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel.
Herbert von Karajanplatz is the name of the station with bus no. 1 or 10.
best regards, Iris and the arthotel Blaue Gans team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel is located on a very lively street and when you step out you are in the hub of Salzburg's shopping area. It is easy to walk from here to all the sights. And the staff was fabulous. They were very helpful and accommodating. The breakfast was great and we ate at the restaurant twice. Both times were excellent. The room was interesting. The only thing I didn't like was a step down to the bathroom, which may have only been in our room. We took the bus from the train station and that was very convenient. The hotel is in a very busy area, so if you need quiet, this may not be for you. But we like the sounds of the city. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Front Office at Art Hotel Blaue Gans, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
thank you very much for your positive review.
you are right: all of the rooms are different - with more or less stairs. :-) as we are an old building - 660 years.
if you want to enjoy yourself again in Salzburg, please return.
greetings to the USA
the arthotel Blaue Gans Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights... it is in the beautiful old part of the town and perfectly located close to everything. Salzburg is a beautiful Fairytale City and the hotel just added to the instant attraction. It has a very contemporary feel with amazing artwork everywhere. The staff are exceptionally helpful with everything you may need or enquire about... our room (medium sized) was just fabulous with such lovely comfortable beds, duvets and pillows and was exceptionally clean. Our particular room was on the fourth floor but anywhere would be just as good. Really delicious breakfast served every day and the food in the restaurant was very very good.. fantastic wine list.. and again very friendly, helpful staff. Thank you Blaue Gans for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Front Office at Art Hotel Blaue Gans, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for the great Feedback
We wish you the best for 2014
Your Team Blaue Gans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Overall a nearly perfect accommodation choice in Salzburg. Excellent location, great service, comfortable (I wouldn't say luxurious) room and well appointed facilities, and unique atmosphere/design with history of the building and all the exhibited art inside. The hotel has a top restaurant as well which offers a delicious buffet breakfast for guests.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Front Office at Art Hotel Blaue Gans, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
thank you for the 5 points. we are honnored.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights with our 2 young children aged 3 and 6.

The hotel was perfectly located on the main shopping street in the old town. It was very quiet inside, yet stepping outside the place was alive with people, and beautiful shop window displays and lights adorning the street.

Our room was clean, modern and spacious. It was so nice having a separate toilet and bathroom, and also a heated towel rack!

From the moment we entered, we staff were very welcoming and helpful. All staff on reception went the extra mile to provide information throughout our stay and make our train bookings on departure.

Breakfast was fantastic, and service exceptional. The staff were very attentive and got to know and anticipate our hot drink and egg orders, and we they were presented without us having to ask.

Salzburg has been one of my all time favourite cities I've travelled to, and our stay at this hotel definitely enhanced the experience! Thank you to all the team at Art Hotel Blaue Gans for a marvellous stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Hotel Blaue Gans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Blaue Gans

Address: Getreidegasse 41-43 | Herbert von Karajanplatz 3+4, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Blaue Gans 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blaue Gans, whose tradition dates back 660 years, is the oldest inn in the city of salzburg. It boasts a prime location opposite the festival hall and in the heart of the historic centre, which has been declared a world cultural heritage site, and is only a short walk from mozart's birthplace.We have carefully combined the historic walls of this inn, which is steeped in tradition, with a modern design and contemporary art.The result is a place that exudes a natural feel, a venue for people who like to pursue their own way. we are pleased to accompany you along a part of this way.artHOTEL: more than just a Designhotel, synonymous with the personal freedom for an individual lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Escapio, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Art Hotel Blaue Gans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthotel Blaue Gans Salzburg
Arthotel Blaue Gans Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Hotel Blaue Gans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.