We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a few minor quibbles, but overall a nice, ideally located property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Hotel Blaue Gans

Save Saved
You added Art Hotel Blaue Gans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Hotel Blaue Gans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Getreidegasse 41-43 | Herbert von Karajanplatz 3+4, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“a few minor quibbles, but overall a nice, ideally located property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

the positives:
- the location of the blaue gans is perfect, right in the heart of the city center on the main pedestrian shopping street.
- the hotel's common spaces and guest rooms have a contemporary/minimalist decor. it's a very chic looking property.
- my guestroom was nice -- bathroom was recently updated, shower had terrific water pressure. wi-fi signal was strong, and the there was an in-room safe in the closet. i traveled alone and booked a 'regular' double. this room was perfectly comfortable for 1, but it was pretty small -- i would recommend booking one of their larger double rooms if you're traveling as a couple.
- the front desk staff were always very kind, friendly, and helpful.
- the property is kept very clean and neat.

my minor quibbles
- the air inside my room was extremely stuffy, even in late march/early april when it was freezing outside. there is an individual heating/air con unit in each room, but turning that on did little to circulate the air or help the situation. the single, small window in my room faced the hotel's inner courtyard. noise from the hotel's bar and restaurant went on late into the night, so leaving the window open all night wasn't an option. it made for an uncomfortable night's sleep.
- the service at breakfast was painfully slow. the food was totally delicious, but i'm not sure it was worth the long waits, having to get up and track down wait staff if i wanted to order a refill on my espresso, etc. one morning i waited 50 mins(!) for an order of scrambled eggs -- there were only 3 other tables taken in the restaurant so it's not like they were overwhelmed with customers. it's nice that the food was good, but frustrating having to wait so long for it.
- despite hanging the 'do not disturb' sign on my door handle, housekeeping entered my room twice one afternoon. this should not happen ever, let alone 2 times in the same day.

but overall i would recommend the blaue gans -- the location and the value make up for the small inconveniences mentioned in my review.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    58
    14
    10
    3
See reviews for
42
122
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Located on the Altstadt's center of activity, Getreidestrasse, a visitor is ideally positioned to explore Salzburg. A short and cheap bus ride from the airport or train station, it is a beautiful, contemporary hotel. The entire staff is friendly and helpful. The included breakfast is staffed, serving the hot drinks you request and omelets. The customary breakfast foods served in Austria and Germany are here, with an especially good variety of breads. Our room was clean and well-appointed; the bath was a highlight. Find the wine cellar and the library; the latter has tea available in the afternoon. The wifi is fast and reliable. We were very comfortable here and this hotel enhanced our visit to this wonderful city. We will stay here again on our next visit.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This arty quirky hotel is great fun. We stayed in the Maison Room - fabulous but difficult to find in this 660-year old building. No one offered to show us the room, just sort of pointed us in the direction. It was a difficult room to find, down narrow corridors, and small steps up to the room - lugging our suitcases. But once we found the room, it was 1,500 sq feet - had a small cooktop, cooking utensils, rooms on multiple floors, large living room, bathroom, 2 bedrooms (one bedroom with fold-out couch. GREAT Breakfast included, discount on nearby parking, poor WiFi but there is a computer near the front desk for guest use. Not a whole lot to do in Salzburg, but some nice walking around.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great location on Getreidegasse close to many highlights in the Altstadt.
Friendly and helpful staff on the desk and at breakfast.
Tasteful decoration and some homely touches.
Our suite was unique, and in an older section of the building, revealing some of its long and interesting history - though perhaps the stairs would be challenging for older guests.
Altogether a very enjoyable stay in a unique property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The room was nice but the air was extremely stuffy. Opening a window was not really an option because of the intense traffic on Sunday night in die Altstadt. Which is strange as traffic is banned, however there is a lot of traffic still. So the front desk advises to switch on the airco on the middle of oktober in Vienna!!! That all for the "special" rate of 200 euro, while the restaurant is closed because it is their "rest day".

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great location, but lacks the ambience of a boutique hotel. The check-in/lobby area is extremely small at best...cold and crowded as it is a pass through for other people in the old town. The restaurant is excellent as is the breakfast. The restaurant staff were very good. At the price of a "ROOM ONLY" at this hotel, I would expect a coffee maker in the room as well as international/ English T.V. (I.e. CNN, BBC, SKY). Again, the location is great, but the room isn't special. You don't have the feeling of a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Found my suite to be large and accomodating, along with the points noted above. I was pleased with the stay and would gladly stay again. The entry was through a segregated hallway, making the room very private.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Art Hotel Blaue Gans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Blaue Gans

Address: Getreidegasse 41-43 | Herbert von Karajanplatz 3+4, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Blaue Gans 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blaue Gans, whose tradition dates back 660 years, is the oldest inn in the city of salzburg. It boasts a prime location opposite the festival hall and in the heart of the historic centre, which has been declared a world cultural heritage site, and is only a short walk from mozart's birthplace.We have carefully combined the historic walls of this inn, which is steeped in tradition, with a modern design and contemporary art.The result is a place that exudes a natural feel, a venue for people who like to pursue their own way. we are pleased to accompany you along a part of this way.artHOTEL: more than just a Designhotel, synonymous with the personal freedom for an individual lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio and Expedia so you can book your Art Hotel Blaue Gans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthotel Blaue Gans Salzburg
Arthotel Blaue Gans Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Hotel Blaue Gans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.