We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Falls Short of Experience Described” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Art Hotel Blaue Gans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Art Hotel Blaue Gans to your Saves list
Art Hotel Blaue Gans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Getreidegasse 41-43 | Herbert von Karajanplatz 3+4, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #6 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Hilton Head Island
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Falls Short of Experience Described”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great location, but lacks the ambience of a boutique hotel. The check-in/lobby area is extremely small at best...cold and crowded as it is a pass through for other people in the old town. The restaurant is excellent as is the breakfast. The restaurant staff were very good. At the price of a "ROOM ONLY" at this hotel, I would expect a coffee maker in the room as well as international/ English T.V. (I.e. CNN, BBC, SKY). Again, the location is great, but the room isn't special. You don't have the feeling of a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    72
    16
    11
    3
See reviews for
49
145
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Found my suite to be large and accomodating, along with the points noted above. I was pleased with the stay and would gladly stay again. The entry was through a segregated hallway, making the room very private.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Its in a great position and the rooms are clean and well equipped, the restaurant good and the staff helpful. However if you are taller than 5'9" tall TAKE NOTE.....some of the rooms have low doorways into the bathrooms. These helpfully have warning signs on them which is quaint in the light. However you may not remember in the middle of the night and nearly knock yourself out as I did! Twice! A week later and I still have the bump on my head. So a great little hotel but management please note: If the guest is of adult size, put them in a room with adult doorways!

Room Tip: some rooms have dangerously low doorways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Front Office at Art Hotel Blaue Gans, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for your note.
We will be more careful in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The experience is one of a kind!! In one word "outstanding". Everything from check'in to checkout was perfect. The fantastic front desk staff, one of a kind room, perfect location and great restaurant. This is the only place to stay while visiting Salzburg!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Front Office at Art Hotel Blaue Gans, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
we are proud.
thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Lovely hotel, perfect location, bus from Salzburg airport stops directly outside the hotel. Excellent food, excellent service. The outdoor restaurant area is lovely. Beautiful breakfast. Extremely clean. Very helpful staff. We had a courtyard facing room which was very quiet. Contemporary stylish decor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Front Office at Art Hotel Blaue Gans, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Google Translation
dankeschön
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel which is in a very good location. The breakfast was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. The only problem we had was that the TV didn't have any English speaking channels. When we spoke to the reception desk the TV was changed over on the same day for us. The restaurant at the rear of the hotel was also excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Front Office at Art Hotel Blaue Gans, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
thank you very much for your words.
next year new tv-sets will arrive - looking forward to it.
best regards and greetings from salzburg
the arthotel blaue gans team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My friend and I had a very nice stay at the Blaue Gans in June 2013. The location is outstanding: right on the main walking street in the old town of Salzburg. You are within easy walking distance of anywhere you could want to go in Salzburg. We had no problem getting there from the train station. We took a taxi (about 10 minute drive) and just showed the driver a print-out with the hotel name and address and he got us there without any problem. Our room was on the third floor and overlooked Getreidegasse. The room was very comfortable. The bathroom was large but was a little strange - it had frosted glass doors instead of a regular door. It ended up being fine but was a little awkward. The room had a satellite TV but we couldn't find any channels in English which was a little disappointing. Breakfast was excellent. It had many American and European options and made-to-order eggs were also available from the servers. Overall we had a very comfortable stay and I would happily recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Front Office at Art Hotel Blaue Gans, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
thank you very much for writing such a lovely review.
concerning the TV-Sets: new ones will arrive the next year.
and for the meanwhile:
you might install the BBC or CNN news app on your mobile phone - so you will get english news as we de have free WLAN in the hotel.
all the best for you
Iris - front desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Hotel Blaue Gans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Blaue Gans

Address: Getreidegasse 41-43 | Herbert von Karajanplatz 3+4, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#8 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Blaue Gans 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blaue Gans, whose tradition dates back 660 years, is the oldest inn in the city of salzburg. It boasts a prime location opposite the festival hall and in the heart of the historic centre, which has been declared a world cultural heritage site, and is only a short walk from mozart's birthplace.We have carefully combined the historic walls of this inn, which is steeped in tradition, with a modern design and contemporary art.The result is a place that exudes a natural feel, a venue for people who like to pursue their own way. we are pleased to accompany you along a part of this way.artHOTEL: more than just a Designhotel, synonymous with the personal freedom for an individual lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Splendia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Art Hotel Blaue Gans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthotel Blaue Gans Salzburg
Arthotel Blaue Gans Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Hotel Blaue Gans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.