We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Art Hotel Blaue Gans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Art Hotel Blaue Gans to your Saves list
Art Hotel Blaue Gans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Getreidegasse 41-43 | Herbert von Karajanplatz 3+4, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #8 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The location is great but somehow this hotel was not all that I had expected. We had booked a large room and it was pretty much as shown on the website. However we were shocked to find one wall had been drawn on! I asked reception if we could be moved and was told it was "artwork" by a famous artist drawn on the wall after a few cocktails! Well art is of course always in the eye of the beholder, but we thought it looked ugly and it really spoiled the room for us. Others may love it.
The room was comfortable, the bathroom bright and spacious, but more storage space would have been useful and in general it just felt tired and dated.
Breakfast was very good with a large selection of cold dishes and hot foods cooked to order.
This is a good hotel, but I didn't feel we got value for money here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    70
    16
    11
    3
See reviews for
46
140
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Took the wife here in early December for our wedding anniversary and quickly fell in love with the city, the Christmas markets and the gluhweine. The Arthotel Blaue Gans is right in the middle of it all, only a 10 Euro taxi from the airport, and nice an intimate. The bedroom was clean and well-decorated, albeit a bit on the small side, but being in such an old building that was very much to be expected. And the restaurant downstairs was excellent for dinner, albeit at a top-end cost. All-in-all, perfectly met my expectations.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

As a part of our roadtrip from Munich to Budapest, we stayed one night in Salzburg. In every city our priority of choosing a hotel was that it should be centrally located to save time. The location of Hotel Blaue Gans was perfect! The building is old and the rooms are simple, modern and functional - I guess the layout of every room is a bit different. The breakfast buffet was very nice. The atmosphere of the hotel was fresh and relaxed. The only minus was the parking, which was situated pretty far and there was no valet service, so you had to drive and park the car yourself.

Next time in Salzburg will choose this hotel again!
Shoptravelfood Blogger

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We had two days at this hotel including Christmas day and it was just wonderful. From the friendly staff at the front desk, and everywhere else, to the breakfast, and the room which was delightful, nothing was left to chance. We stayed in a suite on the third floor and it was huge. We had a seperate room within the suite for our 9 yr old daughter which was easier when she needed to go to bed and we didn´t want to. Whilst this was a little expensive it was well worth the extra cost. The location is also second to none. Not many places as are charming as this with a mixture of the old and new.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in September, 2011 in the middle of a tour of Germany, Austria and the Czech Republic. Overall, my feelings about this hotel are mixed. There was no part of it that I would say was absolutely horrible, but nothing that was exceptional either. Probably the best aspect of this hotel is the location, right in the center of town in the middle of all the action. You just walk out the front door and you are on the busiest, quaintest street in town. Tons of shops and restaurants. This part of town may actually be too busy for some, so if you're not into the tourist scene and are looking for a more quiet, laid back stay in Salzburg, you may want to consider one of the grand hotels on the other side of the river.

We tend to prefer small, boutique style hotels and this one definitely fit the bill. It was decorated very nicely and contrast between the historic building and the ultramodern decor and art work was indeed intertesting. However, there were definitely things that were lacking in terms of service and maintenance. In general, aside from the person at the front desk, there seemed to be very few staff members around at all. There was no offer of help bringing the bags to the room which can be quite a feat considering the small hallways and numerous steps. There is a lift, but the hotel is built on several levels, so you will probably be able to take the lift up to your floor, but still have to haul your bags up several short flights of stairs. The room was ok. It was very modern but was on the small side. The bed was very hard and the room itself just seemed poorly thought out and not well maintained. We were facing the interior courtyard which was quiet, but not much to look at. The air conditioning did not work well so I tried to open some of the several casement windows. One actually fell right out of the frame and almost onto my foot. I lifted it back up and put it back in the frame locking it in place and making a mental note not to touch it again. The bathroom was nice but the shower enclosure was more form that function and we literally had a flood every time we took a shower because the shower door did not close properly. Storage was sparse and everything seemed just a bit tattered and worn.

Free internet was a welcome amenity, but the reception was very spotty and I kept getting thrown off and had to log back on continuously. Breakfast was good, but not enough was put out and if you got there on the later end of the time frame, you were probably going to miss most of the offeriings. One morning we were offered hot entrees like eggs, another morning we were not. We were only there two nights, so none of this was too much of problem because we really didnt spend much time in the room. Any more than two nights and I probably wouldnt have been happy.

Overall, the location worked for us and the hotel was decent for the price (but certainly not inexpensive). I may consider going back for another short visit, but there are probably nicer choices if you're looking for something more posh.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Right on the Gertreidegasse (with an exit at the back of the house too), a nice 20min walk from the station the Blaue Gans is a very welcoming hotel. The check in is competent and swift, the house itself a maze, with nice modern rooms thougha bit small - given the age of the house small wonder. Excellent breakfeast and a wonderful restaurant in the evening complete the picture.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Front Office at Art Hotel Blaue Gans, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
thank you so much
the team of blaue gans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I really liked the design of this hotel, it is super modern but you somehow never forget that you are in an old building. I have stayed in other places with a similar concept that have lost the feel of the old building. I particularly like the breakfast/dining room just off reception which has retained the shape of the old room with an arched ceiling and the old 'Blue Goose' paintings on the wall but with fresh and modern looking table settings. The breakfast was really good too! There are also nice touches that link different parts of the hotel - for example similar paintings appearing in different places or the use of lime green as an accent colour in our room and for the napkins in the breakfast room.

The service here was excellent - friendly and welcoming - which always makes the difference between good and great! They made a great dinner recommendation for us (St Peter) which exactly suited to what we were looking for - a bit traditional but with veggie options.

The location is brilliant too - easy walking distance from all the main sights in the centre of Salzburg. A tip if you are driving here - the postal address of the hotel is actually on a pedestrian street so you need to make sure you get advice from them ahead of time on where to drop off luggage and where to park as my navigation system got very confused, but it is not difficult when you know where to go.

Overall, I was charmed by this hotel and would definitely stay here on another trip to Salzburg.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Hotel Blaue Gans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Blaue Gans

Address: Getreidegasse 41-43 | Herbert von Karajanplatz 3+4, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#8 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Blaue Gans 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blaue Gans, whose tradition dates back 660 years, is the oldest inn in the city of salzburg. It boasts a prime location opposite the festival hall and in the heart of the historic centre, which has been declared a world cultural heritage site, and is only a short walk from mozart's birthplace.We have carefully combined the historic walls of this inn, which is steeped in tradition, with a modern design and contemporary art.The result is a place that exudes a natural feel, a venue for people who like to pursue their own way. we are pleased to accompany you along a part of this way.artHOTEL: more than just a Designhotel, synonymous with the personal freedom for an individual lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Art Hotel Blaue Gans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthotel Blaue Gans Salzburg
Arthotel Blaue Gans Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Hotel Blaue Gans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.