We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Panorama Tours Original Sound of Music Tour

Panorama Tours Original Sound of Music Tour
Hubert-Sattler-Gasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria
+43 662 88 32 11 0
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #4 of 24 activities in Salzburg
Type: Tours
Activities: Group tours/bus tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A bus tour of several of the sites seen in the classic film The Sound of Music.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Must Do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

How can one not go to Salzburg and not do the Sound of Music Tour - it was a lovely sunny day and Helen our tour guide from Sale in Manchester dressed for the part!
Singing, beautiful weather and wonderful scenery, yes ok, a little cheesy but my wife (and me a little) loved it - oh yes, the 9 and 5 year olds had fun too!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    165
    56
    42
    38
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A High Point of our Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Sound of Music is my wife's favorite movie--thus the tour a "must" when we were in Salzburg. What a delight...bus was very comfortable; tour guide very informative--learned a great deal about the making of the movie. The scenery was absolutely gorgeous! Visiting the church where wedding was filmed (in Mondsee)..we got to spend an hour at a fall festival of sorts. This trip was well worth the time and money. We highly recommend it!
Bob and Libby Cunningham (Louisville, KY)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great tour of Salzburg sound of music.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had a great time on our tour, panorama did a great job, excellent driver & very funny tour guide, he kept us entertainted the whole time, He knew every aspect of the sound of music movie & all the area's in Salzburg. This tour is a great way to see the salzburg area & enjoy some of the culture outside the city. We got to see & take great pictures of the mountains & lakes near Salzburg. We felt we were not rushed at anytime on the tour, they gave us plenty of time to see all the the sights. The bus was very new & comfortable. I recommend this tour company. Thank you.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Sound of Music disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

What makes this tour is the incredible scenery between Salzburg and Mondsee. Similar to other reviews, if you rent a car and do a bit of research, you can recreate the tour yourself fairly easily. Our guide was sweet and tried her best to get everyone to sing along, but the group just wasn't in to it. There was a nice film to watch on the way back to Salzburg from Mondsee, but again... nothing that you couldn't research and watch yourself on the web. Really not worth the 40 Euro.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curlysue123, Manager at Panorama Tours Original Sound of Music Tour, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
First of all, thank you very much for your honest and critial feedback.

We take costumer views very seriously and it saddens us greatly that our tour did not meet your expectations.

We full accept that you were unhappy with some facettes of the tour but I am sure you appreciate as much as we try it is very hard to keep everthing to everyones satisfaction. Most of the Sound of Music sites are nto open to the public and therfore can't be visited from our tour participants.

We understand that it would be possible for costumers to visit the sights by their own with a rental car or by taxi, but with our Original Sound of Musci Tour we would like to take you beyond the story of Sound of Music and tell you about the movie sets and stories behind.

We would be happy if we would get the chance to welcome you once again on any other tour!

All the best and kind regards,

Katrin Mayr
Operations Manager - Salzburg Panorama Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brno
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“My wife cried twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife loves this movie. We came to Salzburg inspired by the movie. She loved it so much she was overwhelmed. Very friendly staff. They pick you up at the hotel

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panorama Tours Original Sound of Music Tour also viewed

 

Been to Panorama Tours Original Sound of Music Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panorama Tours Original Sound of Music Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Panorama Tours Original Sound of Music Tour to your Saves list