We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thanksgiving Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Peter Stiftskeller - das Restaurant

St. Peter Stiftskeller - das Restaurant
St. Peter Bezirk 1/4, Salzburg 5010, Austria
43 662 84 12 68 0
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 498 Restaurants in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Austrian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tradition and contemporary are not mutually exclusive. History and Zeitgeist can have a harmonious coexistence. St. Peter Stiftskeller - The Restaurant is an impressive living proof. Guests virtually partake in the living inheritance when they enter our courtyard. Here they can truly sense the history; however the doors are also open to the modern world. The twelve historic Salons with their incomparable character and charm meet all requirements of contemporary, luxurious hospitality. The exquisite cuisine offers timeless favourites and absolute classic dishes such as the famous Tafelspitz, side by side with more international combinations, all guided by the season.This is not just a living legend, but also a place for new anecdotes and new emotions.St. Peter Stiftskeller - The Restaurant. ‘Blessed are those who enjoy’
Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Thanksgiving Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We came to Salzburg for American Thanksgiving weekend last year; this was the only restaurant we could find that had turkey on the menu so we booked there. We returned again this year and it was even better. The service is excellent and were most accommodating to Thanksgiving. It claims to be the oldest restaurant in Europe dating back to 803. We've found nearly everywhere in Europe has an oldest something-or-other, but this seems as good a claim as any. The downstairs dining rooms are all different and really interesting - nothing to refute a 1200 year legacy. Upstairs are more rooms of varying sizes and the dinner concert - didn't attend so can't comment but it looked a bit like a machine processing people as much as an elegant dinner venue.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    200
    76
    48
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The World
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fairy tale dinner experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We booked dinner here on the recommendation of the (outstanding) tour guide we hired for the day. The combination of fascinating ancient structure and fabulous over-the-top Christmas decorations made the evening a true fairy tale experience. The meal began with a compliments appetizer of three small globes of subtly flavored cream cheeses to spread on slices of tiny boiled potatoes. Wow! Continuing, my wife had the Cordon Bleu, suckling pig rather than the more customary veal Cordon Bleu and I went very "ordinary" with a perfectly prepared Wiener Schnitzel. While the entrees were wonderful, we topped off dinner with Salzburger Nockerl for two, a very light, frothy meringue-like dish with an incredible rich (raspberry?) sauce. Truly a dish from the heavens. Two days later and we're still pinching ourselves over this entire dining experience.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A very nice lunch in a historic restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We had this restaurant recommended to us by our hotel, and I was quite skeptical because I thought might serve low quality tourist food, but we actually had a very nice lunch and the prices were surprisingly reasonable. For those so inclined, they offer a very nice vegetarian menu, and if you happen to be going to a concert at the Grosses Festspielhaus (as we were), it is only a short walk to the theater. We got a window seat looking out on the church courtyard (while a wedding ceremony with horse and carriage was taking place). The fact that it (and St. Peter’s Abbey) are among the oldest in Europe certainly sets you wondering and adds to the experience. Highly recommended (based on one lunch!).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant with yummy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We were there 2 weeks back and the xmas decor were almost ready. Very beautiful and impressive decor for photo taking.

Being oldest means being EXPENSIVE too! We took their 3 course set meal and it took them closed to 30mins to send us the soup then another 10mins for the main course then another 10mins for the dessert and lastly, another 10mins for the bill! We weren't expecting this long and we were in a hurry as we had to get back to the meeting point for our train back to Munich at 4pm. But I guess that is the thing about fine dining.

Their Tiramisu with Peach ice-cream is a MUST to try! One of the best we ever had!! Though they took quite a while to serve our food, we have to agree that they taste really good too.

Try to allocate more time like 2h to dine here. You will enjoy it more. :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A lunch to remember”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had lunch in the cellar after a walking tour of the city centre. Very atmospheric, having been there since 803(AD). We had a shared mixed grill platter, which came with a huge amount of rice, chips and vegetables - more than we could eat! Nice glass of rose wine with it and a bottle of water. All very nice but rather expensive for what was after all a basic meal. Service was pleasant and quick. Not a lot of people in the celler, so it was quiet - could be rather noisey if full, I suspect, with so many bare walls.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Peter Stiftskeller - das Restaurant also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to St. Peter Stiftskeller - das Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Peter Stiftskeller - das Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.