We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gasthaus Zwettlers

Gasthaus Zwettlers
Kaigasse 3 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
662-84 41 99
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 494 Restaurants in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Austrian, Diner, Gastropub, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The "Zwettler's" is located in the city center of Salzburg and is run by a new and young team since June 2011.We offer typical austrian classics as well as seasonal changing dishes.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Had a great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

I went by myself but I was looking for a place to eat beyond the (also nice) Christmas market goodies. Turned out to be a great choice as prices were not so high and food was really hearty (hello, first snow of the year) and portions were big. I had a very nice meal made with a fried egg over potatoes, bacon and meat with a local beer and was utterly satisfied. I almost wished I had left some space for an equally traditional dessert, which looked great in the other tables.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    222
    38
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Very nice place, very typical, the restaurant is very full of tourist at any hours, but the staff is friendly and fast. I like the beers but autrian food is not my favourite so I can not make a valid judgment but overall it is very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Hearty Austrian fare and a great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This restaurant had such a great atmosphere that we ate here twice. Popular with locals and tourists alike, it serves traditional, hearty Austrian food and good beers with a great, buzzy atmosphere. The front of the restaurant has a bar, where smoking is permitted and it was bit smoky if you want to eat but the restaurant at the back was very comfortable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved the attmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We ate at this restaurant after reading reviews from Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed.
We ate at a table with other people that we did not know, but were fine with it since most people were doing the same. WE had traditional schnitzel and it was delicious. The bar is smokey, but the restaurant was fine. We had a waitress that spoke English so were able to understand the menu a bit better. A must go when in Munich.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very good local attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The local food variety and beer was very good. The service was quick and effective.
The design makes you feel the history also.
The most disappointing part is you have to pass through the smoking area in order to go the non smoking area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthaus Zwettlers also viewed

 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Gasthaus Zwettlers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasthaus Zwettlers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.