We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gasthaus Zwettler's Stiftskeller

Gasthaus Zwettler's Stiftskeller
Kaigasse 3, Salzburg, Austria
662-84 41 99
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 490 Restaurants in Salzburg
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Austrian, Diner, Eclectic, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The "Zwettler's" is located in the city center of Salzburg and is run by a new and young team since June 2011.We offer typical austrian classics as well as seasonal changing dishes.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Probably the best pub/restaurant in Salzburg if you add up food+service+price. The staff is friendly and the local dishes were delicious. I recommend the shnitzel and green salad with turkey. The unfiltered beer was very good. We sat and had dinner in the no smoking area, then moved to the high tables in the smoking area to finish a great meal and a great time in Salzburg with a cigar. What a delight!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    175
    33
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Real Austrian Feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Situated just off of the Mozartplatz Square, this restaurant gives a great Austrian feel with local decorations, atmosphere and especially the food. We arrived and got shown to our tables which we requested in the non-smoking area. We ordered Wiener Schnitzel for about 11 euros and Beef Goulasch for about 13 euros. Both dishes were delicious and the portion sizes were good too. We finished with dessert which was reasonably priced and again, a nice size. Overall, our bill for two came to just under 35 euros for two courses and two drinks. Alcohol is not overly expensive, however this evening we opted for soft drinks. The staff are friendly, and the service is fast and efficient. Our food arrived within about 15-20 minutes of ordering. Compared to other palces in Salzburg, this restaurant is definitely value for money and a perfect place for those not wanting to spend alot of money, but wanting a proper Austrian dinner feel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge VA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Authentic Austrian food in quaint setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Very good tradtional Austrian dishes. Separate nonsmoking area. Tasty soups. And breads to start meal. Great place to sample local flavor and not take a big hit to your wallet.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic bar and restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Spent 6 days in Salzburg and we ate and drank regularly there .. it was our favourite stop after being out for the day. We found it by chance on our first afternoon and the whole ambience was just great.. staff friendly, food fantastic local fare and the beer was to die for... it could not be faulted and is a must visit for any visitor who wants the beer cellar atmosphere. Very busy so best to book.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had tried several other restaurants which did not appeal, but this one hit the spot, as with many others as it was full. While the winelist was limited, the food was good traditional Austrian fare, the staff helpful and friendly. We returned for lunch the next day!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthaus Zwettler's Stiftskeller also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Gasthaus Zwettler's Stiftskeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasthaus Zwettler's Stiftskeller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.