We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gasthaus Zwettler's Stiftskeller

Gasthaus Zwettler's Stiftskeller
Kaigasse 3, Salzburg, Austria
662-84 41 99
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 485 Restaurants in Salzburg
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Austrian, Diner, Eclectic, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The "Zwettler's" is located in the city center of Salzburg and is run by a new and young team since June 2011.We offer typical austrian classics as well as seasonal changing dishes.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had tried several other restaurants which did not appeal, but this one hit the spot, as with many others as it was full. While the winelist was limited, the food was good traditional Austrian fare, the staff helpful and friendly. We returned for lunch the next day!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    174
    33
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minehead, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Liked everything about this lovely keller. The welcome was warm and friendly, as it was full of local people we assumed it must be good and it was. The beer was excellent, the food just amazing and the service 1st class. It was, in fact, so good we went there on both nights of our stay. If you want authentic Austrian food this is the place, delicious !!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Ate here on Valentines day, booked through our hotel which was lucky as it was very busy and wouldn't of been seated otherwise. The bar was easy to find and made for a nice walk back through the old town. The service was great and the staff were very friendly. It advertised Austrian cuisine and beer which is exactly what it delivered. We were recommended to try the house beer which was great - and served in the litre steins! The menu was slightly limited but the food was very tasty and plentiful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A popular choice...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We ate here twice on out trip to Salzburg we went back the second time as we where very impressed with the food and service the first time. It is popular and always busy so best to try and book if you can or you may be disappointed. On both occasions the staff where very helpful and accommodating and the food was very nice and well presented. Nice choice of wine and beers too. Highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton IL
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Austrian cuisine in Austrian setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Each of us had the grilled plate--a selection of skewered meat, spicy cevapcici (Serbian sausage so part of Austrian cuisine that harkens back to the Hapsburg Empire days), cabbage roll, French fries and rice with tomatoes and peppers. It's a hearty serving and was very tasty. You do get hit with cigarette smoke upon entering but the back section of the restaurant is non-smoking and we found that to be acceptable.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthaus Zwettler's Stiftskeller also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Gasthaus Zwettler's Stiftskeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasthaus Zwettler's Stiftskeller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.