We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salzachgrill

Salzachgrill
Schwarzstrasse 5-7, Salzburg, Austria
662-88 9 77-0
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 489 Restaurants in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
san diego
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great view good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

location is fantastic by the river overlooking the oldtown and the fortress, food delicious bit longer to cook.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    32
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville, Texas
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Cute grill, good fries, great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

It was nice to eat lunch in the grill one day in Salzburg. I got a burger, and admittedly, I don't think it was the best burger i ever had, but the fries were delicious. This was where I also had the famed Sacher Hot Chocolate, and it certainly was succulent.

Service was polite and friendly

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“some of the best food on our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

it might have been that we were so hungry after our bike trip but this place was fantastic. The setting, right on the Salz Auch was so beautiful and the service was really top notch. Everything was tasty and fresh. We were not expecting great food in Salzburg but this dinner was probably the best on our whole trip. Also, the breakfast is served here and on the terrace overlooking the river, you really can't ask for more. Well done Salzach!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice Authentic Austrian Grill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Sacher and ate here upon our arrival. We were very pleased with the quality of the food and the service staff. My husband had the traditional wienerschnitzel and I had an amazing hungarian goulash with dumplings that tasted like stuffing on Thanksgiving (that was a very good thing!!). Comfort food at it's finest! Being picky eaters, our 9 year old twins thought that the schnitzel (breaded veal) was just about the best 'chicken strips' they had ever eaten!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great location with great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We had too lovely meals here. The first was on the balcony, one of the best locations in Salzburg and the other inside which was nice and cozy...

The food was lovely, particularly the lettuce hearts salad and the chanterelles with herb cream sauce and bread dumplings.

The service was also great. We are traveling with an 8 month old baby. Not only did they have high chairs but the way they looked out for our little man was very nice. Their young waitress Monika is fantastic!!!

Advice, book an outdoor table on a nice night. We got lucky without a booking and it would have been a shame to miss that location. Also try the fishes beyond the schnitzel and goulash. You won't regret it. Oh and finally the Sacher Savarin was amazing for dessert!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salzachgrill also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Salzachgrill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salzachgrill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.