We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salzachgrill

Salzachgrill
Schwarzstrasse 5-7 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
662-88 9 77-0
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 493 Restaurants in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Salzachgrill is famous for its grilled meat and fish and our burgers are especially renowned. This informal restaurant with light wood panelling that gives it a rustic feel is the perfect place to eat some fabulous food and admire the view over the river and Salzburg's old town.
san diego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great view good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

location is fantastic by the river overlooking the oldtown and the fortress, food delicious bit longer to cook.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    34
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
342 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Cute grill, good fries, great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

It was nice to eat lunch in the grill one day in Salzburg. I got a burger, and admittedly, I don't think it was the best burger i ever had, but the fries were delicious. This was where I also had the famed Sacher Hot Chocolate, and it certainly was succulent.

Service was polite and friendly

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“some of the best food on our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

it might have been that we were so hungry after our bike trip but this place was fantastic. The setting, right on the Salz Auch was so beautiful and the service was really top notch. Everything was tasty and fresh. We were not expecting great food in Salzburg but this dinner was probably the best on our whole trip. Also, the breakfast is served here and on the terrace overlooking the river, you really can't ask for more. Well done Salzach!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice Authentic Austrian Grill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Sacher and ate here upon our arrival. We were very pleased with the quality of the food and the service staff. My husband had the traditional wienerschnitzel and I had an amazing hungarian goulash with dumplings that tasted like stuffing on Thanksgiving (that was a very good thing!!). Comfort food at it's finest! Being picky eaters, our 9 year old twins thought that the schnitzel (breaded veal) was just about the best 'chicken strips' they had ever eaten!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great location with great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We had too lovely meals here. The first was on the balcony, one of the best locations in Salzburg and the other inside which was nice and cozy...

The food was lovely, particularly the lettuce hearts salad and the chanterelles with herb cream sauce and bread dumplings.

The service was also great. We are traveling with an 8 month old baby. Not only did they have high chairs but the way they looked out for our little man was very nice. Their young waitress Monika is fantastic!!!

Advice, book an outdoor table on a nice night. We got lucky without a booking and it would have been a shame to miss that location. Also try the fishes beyond the schnitzel and goulash. You won't regret it. Oh and finally the Sacher Savarin was amazing for dessert!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salzachgrill also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Salzachgrill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salzachgrill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.