We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect escape from the expensive Austrian Schnitzel/Tafelspitz !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Sole

Il Sole
Gstattengasse 15, Salzburg, Austria
662-84 32 84
Improve this listing
Ranked #251 of 443 restaurants in Salzburg
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Greece
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
“Perfect escape from the expensive Austrian Schnitzel/Tafelspitz !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stopped and dinned at this restaurant, on our 6th day of the Austrian Holidays and we are very happy about it... After a long course of Austrian meat dishes (note that all Salzburg restaurant have a 80% of the same dishes, mostly Schnitzels, Potato Salad and Tafelspitz), we got a little bored of the meat food and this restaurant was the perfect escape to more Meditteranean dishes! The suggested day pasta courses (Tagliattelle with cream and mushrooms and Tortelini Bolognese) were full of flavor and we also had a very fresh salad and excellent Italian style Pizza!
Pleasant surpise was also the bill : Less than 40 EUR for two, incl Beer (which is almost the half price to eat than this that you pay in the Austrian Restaurants).
Restaurant locates next to the lift for the Monchberg, at the edge of the Old City Center and has a few tables for outdoor dinning

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

46% Recommend
    18
    13
    10
    3
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fabulous Italian Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

At the edge of the tourist area, this place is a gem. Not a huge menu, but what they make was absolutely wonderful and full of flavour. I suggest chatting with the host/owner if you can, he can make great recommendations, plus he's got a great sense of humour. Also note the images on the way in and all of the celebrities he's served throughout his life. The pizza is fantastic, as is the Caprese salad. I also had the tortellini special on another day, and it also was great.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Cozy and Convenient to Old Town Salzburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We found this restaurant on Christmas Day, after a long hike on the trail leading from the fortress. We'd had been unable to find a place to eat Christmas Eve and as such we were bent on finding a restaurant for Christmas Dinner. We walked up the fortress and then took a trail to where we thought there was a cafe--according to Rick Steves. After walking 20 minutes or so we came upon the cafe, but it was closed. We continued walking to a Hotel, believing they'd have to have a restaurant. Imagine our surprise when the Hotel turned out to be a 5 Star Hotel with an expensive restaurant. Well this was obviously beyond our budget. My 14 year old daughter was disheartened, and she had no desire to walk all the way back to the fortress. We found an elevator outside the Art Museum. We took the elevator to the ground level only to find we had to pay to exit. We were so tired, we paid the fee, and on walking out we found Il Sole.

Based on the other reviews, maybe we were just incredibly tired and hungry , but we truly enjoyed the restaurant. It is quite cozy and non-assuming. We made the acquaintance of a lovey couple sitting at the nearby table. My daughter enjoyed lasagne, my husband pizza, and I had Veal Piccata. My daughter and I thought our meals were fantastic, and my husband thought the pizza was fair--I personally thought it was tasty as I don't care for too much tomato sauce. The bill came to $60 US, which is a little more than we'd pay in the states, but we were eating in the rock in Salzburg, and it was Christmas Dinner. We thought service was attentive, and overall we enjoyed our experience.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good food - manager different but funny”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

Food is good! Manager is always super busy but funny running around like crazy all the time.
He listens carefully even if it doesn't seem like it and is very charming.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
“Arrogant manager with average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We ordered a penne from the menu but they did not have it so I took a simple bolognese but it wasn't good at all with poor flavor. The lasagna was okay not the best one but also not the worst one. Service wasn't good with arrogant manager who only thinks of money !

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Sole also viewed

Salzburg, Austrian Alps
Salzburg, Austrian Alps
 
Salzburg, Austrian Alps
 

Been to Il Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.