We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great well seasoned Austrian food but average service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alter Fuchs

Alter Fuchs
Linzer Gasse 47-49, Salzburg A-5020, Austria
+43/(0)662/88 22 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 490 Restaurants in Salzburg
Cuisines: Austrian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great well seasoned Austrian food but average service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great food. Loved my turkey salad: turkey grilled to perfection with a sauce that is full of flavours.

Service was average: don't expect the waiters to be gracious enough to help you get a table. You either wait endlessly till they relent or grab what you get. However, once you are seated it is fairly smooth.

We sat outside at one of the tables onthe street. The restaurant's right by a church and its nice to hear the church bells go while you enjoy your drink. That said, inside seemed nice, warm & woody.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    231
    74
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
453 reviews 453 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
337 helpful votes 337 helpful votes
“Bad service this time - not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

After having had good experiences here in the past, there was no question as to where we were going to eat in Salzburg. We arrived on a Monday evening and there were a good few tables available but we were given a terrible high table right by the door. Another which we preferred became free and we asked if we could move and one waiter told us it was fine and as we sat down, the head waitress came over and shouted at us for sitting there! We let this pass and proceeded to order our food. We both had cordon bleu, which was very nice and done in pumpkin seed crumbs. It's not cheap as Austrian prices go therefore expectations are high, particularly in service. When it came to asking for the bill, there were countless instances of breakdown in communication between our waiter and the head waitress, with us having to ask for the bill 5 times. From asking for the bill to it actually appearing, almost forty minutes passed. After complaining about the wait, the waitress only made excuses about how they were understaffed that night and that it wasn't her fault. She then had the cheek to question why we left no tip, saying that the food was good and that we should have tipped as a result! I think it will be hard to return here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Pleasant hidden inner garden + good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Its not located in the centre but it has a value of the inner garden. Centre is usually overcowded and we looked for something quick. Outside seats on the streets were full but we were surprised by the hidden inner garden with seats under old trees. It was very pleasant during the hot weather. Service was quick , but lady a bit chaotic during the order of drink and meal. Food was good and tasty . Boys liked grill teller/plate. Its not cheap but also not so expensive, so typical average Salzburg price. We dont mind to come back again when in Salzburg next time. It is also close to the Mirrabel parking haus where you can leave you car.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great food, economically priced, good 'outdoor, people watching location'. Was the best place to enjoy authentic local cuisine with charming friendly service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, reasonably priced food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

It was wet when we were in Salzburg and we did not want to walk too far from our hotel to find somewhere for dinner. The hotel recommended Alter Fuchs which was just a few steps around the corner. We were able to get in without a booking and had our own private room - the fox hole. The food was perfectly acceptable whilst not particularly special but the whole experience was positive. The waiters/waitresses were friendly and fun and the beer was good. The place was very busy, mainly with locals who all seemed to be having a good time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alter Fuchs also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Alter Fuchs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alter Fuchs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.