We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for short trips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Der Salzburger Hof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Der Salzburger Hof to your Saves list
Der Salzburger Hof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaiserschutzenstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Bayrischer Hof)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Vienna
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Perfect for short trips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed with my family in the hotel for a weekend. The room was very clean and well equipped. We had our own coffee machine and an iPhone dock. The hotel seemed to be freshly renovated. They tried hard to get a fresh styling and in most places that worked.

We had aroom to the main street and while that was no problem with the window closed, I still prefer to sleepwith an open window but forthat the street was too loud.

The hotelis close to the main train station and the sourrounding is not very attractive.

The reception is extremely friendly and triesto make every guest happy. Even rude guests were served with absolute politeness and friendlyness.

I will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    219
    64
    21
    9
See reviews for
149
170
22
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Babylon, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Driving into the part of Salzburg where Der Salzburger Hof is located, we were skeptical about the hotel. However, we were pleasantly surprised with our accommodations. Each floor has a theme from Salzburg (Mozart, The Sound of Music, and the city itself); the rooms were spacious with air conditioning; parking was for free. Each room had a binder of over 100 blu-ray dvds to rent from the main lobby for free. The staff, though, was the reason I was so impressed with this hotel. The gentleman who work the desk at night spoke English very well and patiently provided directions to different restaurants in Old Town. When we asked where a confectioner who would be open on a Sunday was located, he wasn't exactly sure. Upon returning from dinner, the gentleman provided us with a list of Salzburg confectioners, their hours, and a map with directions! Truly outstanding service; the staff couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in Sept’13. Only 800 m from the main train station. It is an older hotel with excellent larger rooms than expected. Very friendly and helpful reception. Superb breakfast and selection – filled to the very last minute, what a feast! Slow internet in the room. We recommend this hotel to all travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

An older hotel that has been well updated. Large spacious rooms and an excellent bathroom. Staff very helpful in printing off Google map directions. Spoke English well. Great breakfast buffet. On the downside, hard to find. You really need a good GPS. Also, a good walk from the old city--figure about 20 to 30 minutes but some interesting places along the way. Take a cab at night--8 Euros or so. Not much in the neighborhood but hotel restaurant is pretty good (I had excellent Indian food but they also offer Italian and German). Parking very close but may be limited.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hof bei Salzburg, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Is a very nice and pretty hotel with nice and clean rooms !! the stuff here is very helpful and it will make your life easier ! The room that i had was 402 ! it have a big private parking and a map with the best places in the city !! i totaly recommed it 100% for every kind of trip !! As for me I will come back one day DEFINATELY !! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

It is a good hotel for the family but in this time was construction but they pay back the car parking fees There brakefast become rotten every day same but they are very cooperative and kind it is very near to main station and no far from old city they have Indian ,Italian restaurant

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a nice family run hotel that we stayed at for one night in late August. Our room for four was in the "annex" building which was across the street in what seemed to be a converted apartment building. Many of the rooms in the building still seemed like they were apartments. The room itself was fine and appeared clean. Parking in the hotel lot is limited and we had to park in a public lot a couple blocks away although the hotel reimbursed us for the nominal parking fee. The positives: location was close to the river for nice walks to Old Town and Castle. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the morning was included in our rate and was one of the better we had on our trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Der Salzburger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Salzburger Hof

Address: Kaiserschutzenstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Bayrischer Hof)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#23 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Salzburger Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Der Salzburger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Salzburger Hof Salzburg
Der Salzburger Hof Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Der Salzburger Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.