We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Der Salzburger Hof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Der Salzburger Hof to your Saves list
Der Salzburger Hof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaiserschutzenstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Bayrischer Hof)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Perth W.Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Unique boutique hotel, with helpfull staff and a good restaurant on site. Parking available free of charge. About 15 minutes walk to old city, but there is plenty close by, convince stores, pubs and cafes. Would stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    220
    67
    23
    10
See reviews for
155
173
23
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taichung, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Everything was nice, to me a little too expensive, but it's Salzburg, everything is expensive, so it's acceptable. The rooms are great, very comfy, with a TV, a sink, towels, soap, and a dryer. Location is great and easy to find, very close to the train station where there are many buses to tourist attractions. Stayed August 2013 @ double bed private w/shared bathroom

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraardsbergen
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Very nice and neat hotel, very close to the trainstation but a little further away from the center of Salzburg, it take a walk for about 20 minutes, but there is frequently public transport to the center and back. The service in the hotel was very good, breakfast with large variation and friendly staff.
There is free parking space at the hotel, the decoration of each floor according to a music theme is beautifull and charming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at the main building (not the annex) of the Salzburger Hof in the beginning of July. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable as were the pillows. The location is excellent to the train and the bus station. It is only about a block away from them. It is a about a 15 minute walk from the hotel to the center of the main tourist area of Salzburg. We didn't mind the walk, it was a very nice stroll along the river into town. We at breakfast at the hotel and they had one of the best that we had during our week long stay in Austria. They had juices, tea, coffee, muffins, bread, rolls, a variety of meats and cheeses, soft boiled eggs, and fruit.

This hotel does offer air conditioning for an additional fee. Most hotels throughout Austria do not have air conditioning. We did not choose to have air conditioning, but if I were to stay there again, I would pay the additional amount to have it. Many rooms in Austria will come with a stationary fan, this does not. Our room faced the street and I was not able to sleep the second night with the windows open. There was too much noise from people outside. I had to close the windows and then it became rather warm in the room. If your not facing the street, then you might not need the air.

The hotel was very nice, clean, and the staff was welcoming. I would stay here again if I returned to Salzburg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novi, michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

First of all, please let me make it clear that we stayed in the main building, not the annex across about which I have seen some negative reviews; So I am not able to say anything about that auxiliary structure.

As far as our stay in the main building, we were overall quite satisfied. The staff was most helpful, everyone one spoke English and provided all the information that we needed. I am sorry I forgot his name, but we need to give a shout-out to the young man who works 3 PM to 11 PM at the front desk, who was delightfully helpful. Our quad room had two queen beds and the room was spacious enough to accommodate us comfortably.

The station is only 2-3 minutes by walk. If you are taking the train, you can walk to the hotel assuming your luggage has wheels. Also, the buses to the old town (the staff will give you the three bus numbers) are right at the station.

If you want to walk instead, it takes about 10 minutes. The only disadvantage is you will have to walk past the Mirabel Gardens every time, and one can see it only so many times before you get Mirabelled-out :-)

One quick note about the breakfast. Quint-essentially European, it was a great spread! For visitors like us from the States, the different breads, jams, and cheeses were marvelous. And they have two coffee machines which make coffee any which way you want it. You will be paying 5 Euros just for the coffee alone in a coffee shop.

For those who are from the Indian subcontinent, and/or the English who seem to love Indian cuisine almost as much, if not more, an Indian restaurant is attached to this hotel (actually I think it serves as the breakfast room also). We never got a chance to eat there, but the menu looked great and the prices were reasonable when compared to Old Town Salzburg.

One tip is you may want to consider buying "The Salzburg Card", it includes all transportation as well as admission to most attractions, including the Fortress, both Mozart houses, the Salzach river cruise, the Residence admission, etc etc. For 26 Euros per day, and less if buy it for two days, it is well worth it. You can get it from the hotel and charge it to the room.

Another tip is if you are considering the Sound of Music tour, you may want to consider the Drop-on Drop off SOM bus. You cant miss it, it has the movie stills splashed across the whole outside. It costs only 16 Euros, all the other "guided" tours cost 40 Euros or more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We were expecting a lot more from this Hotel and so we booked 2 nights. Immediately on arrival we realized we had made a mistake and so booked a new hotel, paid up both nights, and left the next day after breakfast.
The room was not in the main building and was part of an apartment building. The parking area was very small and difficult to manage the car in and out. The room itself had some kind of sand or something in two of the beds and overall was not very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

we stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. good location: 2 min walk from train staion and bus station and 10 min walk from mirabelle schloss .very polite and helpful staff. clean and beautiful rooms ( our room was at third floor therefore the theme is sound of music- so romantic... ). first day i found my pillow uncomfortable but they changed after i asked them to.rich buffet breakfast with a large selection of coffee , tea and cheese.free wifi in rooms but the connection was poor specially in room.overall everything was good so i recommend it .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Der Salzburger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Salzburger Hof

Address: Kaiserschutzenstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Bayrischer Hof)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#19 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#25 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Salzburger Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Der Salzburger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Salzburger Hof Salzburg
Der Salzburger Hof Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Der Salzburger Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.