We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Der Salzburger Hof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Der Salzburger Hof to your Saves list
Der Salzburger Hof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaiserschutzenstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Bayrischer Hof)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Celje
1 review
“Very nice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very nice place to stay. Excellent breakfast, staff very kind and friendly, rooms are big and overall very clean. Location is almost perfect - short walk to city centre. Free parking and internet. I found this hotel very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    228
    67
    24
    10
See reviews for
159
180
23
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is located two blocks from the train station, and it's easy to toll your suitcases there. Once settled, it's about a 20-minute walk to the downtown area with the Mozart museum, shops, and restaurants.The staff is incredibly friendly, and the owner chatted with us a couple of times to ensure we were having a pleasant stay. The breakfast was quite good, and the rooms were comfortable. The bathroom floor was heated -- gotta love that!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon, Israel
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Aftet one night at the Der Salzburger Hof, i can say you get your money's worth and more. We got a nice, clean and well organized room for 4 people. It seem that the room was partially renovated to give it an updated look and they did a very nice job. Breakfast was ordinary, nothing more, nothing less. The receptionist was helpful and friendly so in total - it is a good hotel that i would definitly stay in if I visit again in Salzburg and I can only recommend it to all of you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ploiesti, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had a great time in Der SalzburgerHof. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff were all very helpful and the food was great , both the breakfast and the dishes served at the hotel restaurant.

In short, I enjoyed my time there and I'd like to come back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

The good: once inside, the hotel has a modern, clean feeling. The decor is chic, with fanciful colors and low, modern furniture in rooms (closet was a bit remote, away from the sleeping area). Bathroom is really special, with heated floor (!) and great shower/sink setup. Breakfast has good variety. Staff is friendly. Free Blu-Ray movie rentals are a nice touch.

Not so good: location is not ideal. While it is literally 5 min from station so one can walk to it, that also makes it a good 30-min stroll to town center. You miss the feel of the city by bring here (like an airport hotel). Local neighborhood is pretty ordinary. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was a total disappointment -- food had no flavor and service was borderline offensive.

In summary, if you want to feel more connected to the city, stay in the town center. Otherwise, this is a good value hotel (but skip the hotel restaurant).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Der Salzburger Hof in Salzburg is great hotel to stay at! The staff is very helpful and friendly and you feel very welcome from the start.
The rooms are very clean, though you can see that they have a lot of visitors, since there are some signs of wear, but no dust anywhere, trust me, I checked every corner ;) The bathroom is kept clean and tidy. Bed and linen are clean as well.
The breakfast buffet is opulent. Whether you want warm or cold breakfast, there is plenty to choose from. Also all sorts of coffee, tea and juices are available. Everything is fresh and tastes good :)
As a TV-junkie, it was great for me that there is a good selection of local and international channels to choose from after a long day of visiting the sights of Salzburg. If not, they have a good selection of DVD's to watch, which is free of charge. Also the possibility to make yourself a cup of coffee or tea in your room is great!
I was visiting solo, but saw a lot of groups and families with children too.
The location of the hotel is very good too. I arrived from Innsbruck via train and it's just a short walk from the main station. On the first day I walked to the old town- took me approx. 20 minutes. The next day I took a bus to the city- from the nearby main train station no problem at all.
For smokers- although it is a non-smoking hotel, you can have a cigarette in the front of the hotel, where there's a table and two chairs ;)
All in all I felt very good throughout my stay there and will definitely go back!
Good location, great staff, great value!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 200 in the main building. If you don't want to hear traffic, I suggest you ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariusDonhauser, Inhaber at Der Salzburger Hof, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Katrin.
Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
We really appreciate that.
Such a good review encourages us to continue to do everything that our guests have a pleasant stay in our hotel.
We are very pleased that our guests feel comfortable while staying in our hotel.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you in our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel is very close to the train station. A good value for the money. Great breakfast. Clean. All in all a very nice 2 night stay. We stayed there in late February. Will return next year with our two girls.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Der Salzburger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Salzburger Hof

Address: Kaiserschutzenstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Bayrischer Hof)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#20 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#24 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Salzburger Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Der Salzburger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Salzburger Hof Salzburg
Der Salzburger Hof Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Der Salzburger Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.