We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for travelling families!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Der Salzburger Hof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Der Salzburger Hof to your Saves list
Der Salzburger Hof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaiserschutzenstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Bayrischer Hof)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for travelling families!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a lovely big suite room in the hotel for our family. Room lovely and clean. Reception staff very friendly, accomodating and very helpful for travellers. Fantastic location next to main train station and main bus stop. Served our purposes very well. Cleaning staff were really lovely as well (wish I got the name of the lovely lady with blonde hair who cleaned our room). Breakfast is fine too (only came across one grumpy staff member serving breakfast....don't think she liked tourists!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    219
    62
    21
    9
See reviews for
146
169
22
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a room for 4 as we were travelling with the whole family. They put us in the annex section of the hotel (across the road) which did not have the most glamerous entry. Likewise, this is not the best area of town, but is conveniently near the station and there are plenty of buses into the city. There is also a laundromat nearby which is welcome when travelling for a long time. The room was clean and relatively spacious. The included breakfast had an extensive selection, with some fantastic cold meat and cheese, eggs and bacon and a large selection of breads and more. A selection of espresso coffee, teas and hot chocolate was nice. All in all very good, although some of the staff we a little grumpy/scary. We had one dinner in the hotel which was good, however, I think the restaurant was under different management for meals other than breakfast. The front desk staff were most helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The annex is cheaper but across the road with a ugly entry. I think the rooms are just as good thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We received a warm welcome at this family-run hotel and throughout our time there the people on reception were always pleasant and helpful. The first room we were shown was clean but a little on the small side so we asked if a suite was available. We were shown a choice of two, one of which we accepted. We were told we would not be charged any extra for the suite. There was a flatscreen TV in the sitting room and another in the bedroom and a Bluray player in the sitting area. DVD's were available for free hire from reception.
The following morning we reported one or two minor problems with the room and these were addressed promptly. The buffet breakfast was extremely good with a wide choice of cold food and also heated trays for bacon and scrambled egg. There was a great choice of breads and some already sliced for toasting.
The hotel is situated close to the main railway station and this is over a mile from the Old Town. We could walk this in 20 minutes but a more picturesque walk along the river took almost 30 minutes. There is a very good bus service and with the Salzburg Card this is free. We would strongly recommend purchasing a Salzburg Card which allows free transport and admission to many attractions.

Room Tip: Request a suite - the standard rooms are quite small. The main road in front of the hotel is busy o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This charming hotel is easy to find (just a few minutes walk from the main train / bus station). The staff is incredibly helpful. Upon arrival, we were given brochures and information on Salzburg. The receptionist helped us make bookings for the Sound of Music Tour, as well as the Salzburg orientation tour. They also lent us umbrellas on rainy / snowy days (Which is most of the time in Salzburg)

The room was spacious. We stayed in a Junior Suite. It had a mini bar, coffee machine, bath, shower, TV (Austrian channels only) and a safe.

The breakfast is a typical European buffet, with cheeses, cold meats, beads and cereals. Enough to keep you going until supper, which can be enjoyed at the Hotel's restaurant.

This isn't the Ritz Carlton, but the friendly staff and modest price tag made our trip to Salzburg an unforgettable experience

Room Tip: Go for the Mozart Suite. It has a great view of the street below
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tradate, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel was really good.
Evertybody available for any kind of information/necessity.
Very comfortable room, really very very cleaned, with all the necessary and more.
Nice breakfast with a great choice of......quite everything.
Position: nearly ten minutes walking from the city centre, two minutes far from Central Station, not far from the exhibition center, wonderful position.
Excellent quality/price ratio.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed three nights and found the room large and comfortable and very well located for bus transport. The breakfast was very generous and the restaurant was quite adequate for an interesting evening meal.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed two nights as a family of four. Our large room was very comfortable and well laid out. The restaurant was lovely and convenient for our meals. We walked to all the sites we wanted to visit. We enjoyed the internet service which was wifi at low cost.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Der Salzburger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Salzburger Hof

Address: Kaiserschutzenstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Bayrischer Hof)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#22 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#24 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Salzburger Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Der Salzburger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Salzburger Hof Salzburg
Der Salzburger Hof Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Der Salzburger Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.