We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice for tourists!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum to your Saves list
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hildmannplatz 5 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
cyprus
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best choice for tourists!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

This hotel is the best choice for tourists who want to explore the beautiful city of Salzburg. It is just five minutes from the center, clean, spacious, modern, with comfortable beds. The reception staff have always been very helpful and speak good english. The breakfast is not a good value for those who have just a croissant and a coffee but I found the 10euros a reasonable amount for someone who eats good breakfast. The chinese across the street is a good choice for dinner. It might not have the charm of hotels in the old city center but it is a much better value for money!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    190
    42
    7
    2
See reviews for
73
133
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

Staying there for 2 nights in December we enjoyed the Star Inn in Salzburg. The room was new and clean and everything was exactly as expected. Would go here again !

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam, NL
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

We live in Europe and travel quite a bit. We use tripadvisor reviews religiously. This is the first time we've been disappointed and what a disappointment it was. The only accuracy in previous reviews could be cheap and roomy. I can only imagine a novice traveller in Europe was impressed by the room size after experiencing charm in other European smaller hotels. Everything else about this hotel is insufficient. The bed was uncomfortable, pillows a shame, shower too small, and it was noisy. We were charged extras for children, parking, and the breakfast. After the upcharges the room wasn't a deal after all. I think there was a college frat party somewhere on the premises, which if I think about it, this hotel is the perfect venue for that type of a bash. We had to leave early as we were unable to sleep, they gave us a hard time for canceling two nights of our reservation. If this is the only hotel left with availability in Salzburg and you are stuck there at least save the 20 Euro up charge and eat your croissant and coffee elsewhere. Or better yet, sleep in your car.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

Booked this hotel on the good reviews off this site and was not disappointed at all. Firstly stayed at the hotel during a wet period and the hotel supplied complimentary umbrellas which was a nice and useful surprise. All the hotel staff were helpful, friendly and spoke good english. There is a free internet kiosk in the reception area which was handy.

Location is good, not a lot to eat near the hotel with the reception of the Chinese restaurant which has been mentioned, but the rest of the city isn't far away though the tunnel, and completely agree with everyone else, never felt concerned about our safety walking through this tunnel at any hour of the night or day, much the same as the whole city really.

Rooms were clean, tidy, new, quiet. It was nothing flash but the price was exceptional, couldn't recommend the place anymore.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

We just needed a hotel for one night in Salzburg and I found this one to be pretty good value for the reviews, although we were not expecting too much as it was budget (the double room was 79 euros) .

As we arrived, the front-desk staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The room was a surprise: very spacious for most of the european hotels. The bed was confortable and all facilities looked brand new and modern. The location was pretty convenient: just cross the tunnel and you are in the heart of the beautiful old city. There are many good restaurants arround the hotel, but even the hotel restaurant was worth, with reasonable price and excelent service.

Overall, I would say it was an excelent choice. Overcame our expectations.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2008

the hotel was quite far from the train station if you're to go by bus - but only about 10 minutes if by cab. cross the tunnel to get to the old city, about a 10min walk.
the hotel was quite new and the room was spacious enough. the shower cubicle was a little tight, but it wasn't an issue for me. was really about the free wireless internet in the room.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussies in UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

This is a great hotel in a great location. 5 minutes walk through the wall, to the 'old city'. The hotel itself is clean, with large rooms and good decor. The staff are extremely helpful. This hotel is like a brand new, modern Ibis-type.

The best Chinese food we have had since leaving the Asia region is in the restaurant opposite, 'Canton China Restaurant'. It is well priced, and the food genuine. We can recommend the crispy duck. Even if you do not stay at this hotel (why would you not?), you must walk 'through the wall' to this great restaurant.

Public transport from the airport to the hotel, and then in reverse is easy to navigate, and cheap. Bus no. 2 from the airport, changing to bus no. 1 which drops you directly at the hotel door. The buses run at least 3 times per hour, even on public holidays/Sundays. 2 Euro per person - bargain.

Enjoy this fantastic city.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — We had to leave ...
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Address: Hildmannplatz 5 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star Inn Hotel is located right in the heart of the city of Mozart, only 300 m from the Playhouse and the famous Getreidegasse. Here the birthplace of the musical child genius is situated. Easily reached from any direction, our hotel offers you the ideal starting point for conducting your business. Or for an unforgettable weekend stay: A wondrous environment, a city centre with incomparable atmosphere and culinary delights at every turn are waiting for you there. The hotel has 61 covered parking spaces available, and the two large public garages under the Monchsberg offer many more only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.