We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business style hotel short walk from the Old Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum to your Saves list
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hildmannplatz 5 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 136 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Business style hotel short walk from the Old Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Clean business style hotel only a short walk from the Old Town. Easy to get to with no car, as the bus from the train station drops you right in from of the hotel. 5-10 minute walk to Old Town Salzburg. Clean, efficient, and affordable. I'd recommend this place to anyone visiting the Salzburg who wants to be close to the Old Town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your kind review and that you have taken the time for it.

It's very nice to read, that you felt well with us at our hotel and enjoyed your stay in Salzburg.

I would be very pleased to welcome you again and send lovely greetings from Salzburg

V. Rosenmayer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    238
    52
    8
    2
See reviews for
92
170
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

From central train station, we took a taxi to the hotel to reach the hotel quickly. The ride was not expensive.

We booked 4 nights and asked for 4 bedded room, so we had 2 double beds, and room was reasonably large enough with comfortable space for walking. The rooms were clean, no issues with bathroom and water pressure. Beds were comfortable. Maps were readily available at the reception. Staff was friendly and helpful.

We requested for breakfast at a separate cost and didn't regret it, because the spread was good, and we didn't want to step out of the hotel with an empty stomach to brave the cold waiting for the bus to pass through the tunnel to reach the city centre, especially when the morning traffic jam could take a while to clear up.

The hotel is near to the toy museum and science museum.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor and at the centre. no problem with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice review.

I'm happy to read that you had a good time with us and felt comfortable .

I would be delighted to welcome you with us again and send you lovely greetings from sunny Salzburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Located right at the entrance to Old Town Salzburg, but with the amenities of a first rate business hotel, it would be hard to describe this as anything but efficient, friendly and very well staffed. Couldn't think of a better place to stay!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much that you have taken the time to rate us so nice.

I'm happy to read that you had a good time with us and felt comfortable .

I would be delighted to welcome you with us again and send you lovely greetings from sunny Salzburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked 3 nights at Star Inn Zentrum and were very pleased with our stay. The rates are reasonable, the hotel is well kept, the staff is very welcoming and helpful.This hotel is located right behind the Monchsberg - only a few minutes walk to the city centre (via pedstrian tunel through the mountain).
The hotel has a storage room for the luggage, what was very convenient as we arrived early in the morning. We were very pleased to be accommodated in the Annex – separate building at the back of the hotel. Our room (605) was modern, very clean, quiet and had a comfortable bed.
The optional buffet breakfast was good and well presented with plenty of food choices. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The only inconvenience was the lack of kettle. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the hotel rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much that you have taken the time to rate us so nice.

I'm happy to read that you have with us as comfortable.

On your next stay with us, we are happy to lend you a kettle that you can use during your stay in the room.

I would be delighted to welcome you with us again and send you warm greetings from sunny Salzburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, ON., Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for five days. It is close to major attractions, you could have a nice walk to the market, however, I cannot compare it to the Star Inn Vienna as the latter was extremely clean, with excellent and friendly customer service. When it was time to sleep, found out some kind of hair on the bed, presumably pet hair. I hope they will pay more attention to the cleanliness of their room. They claim you could watch one English channel, but it wasn't available.

Overall it is a good value considering its location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am very sorry that the room was not cleaned properly!
Of course I will inform our maids about the incident and in this respect trained.

I would be delighted to welcome you back with us and we can convince you, that we are improving our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, the city itself is great. Having stayed at the hotel for one night we had limited time. The staff were extremely helpful and gave us detailed information about where to go
Hotel itself is good. Its a chain so obviously doesn't have quirks that family owned places but its a great place to stay
Very close to the centre a couple of minutes walk through the tunnel
Parking costs 15 euros a day but other parking charges are high so we didn't mind paying for the ease of it.
Breakfast was great with plenty of choices

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your nice review.

I am very pleased to read that you have felt so comfortable with us
and you enjoyed your stay in Salzburg.

We look forward to welcoming you maybe once again with us and send warm greetings from sunny Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

When we arrived to check in I realised I had booked our family room for the following day. The staff were wonderful and sorted it out for us without any angst. The room was clean and well appointed. The staff organised our dinner reservation and ordered a taxi for us. They gave us sightseeing ideas and directions. A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us so nice.

We are pleased that you have felt comfortable with us.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in our hotel and send warm greetings from Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
#56 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Hohenstauffen Hotel
#23 of 136 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#44 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#27 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 635 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#17 of 136 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Address: Hildmannplatz 5 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#35 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star Inn Hotel is located right in the heart of the city of Mozart, only 300 m from the Playhouse and the famous Getreidegasse. Here the birthplace of the musical child genius is situated. Easily reached from any direction, our hotel offers you the ideal starting point for conducting your business. Or for an unforgettable weekend stay: A wondrous environment, a city centre with incomparable atmosphere and culinary delights at every turn are waiting for you there. The hotel has 61 covered parking spaces available, and the two large public garages under the Monchsberg offer many more only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Otel, Venere, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.