We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Save Saved
You added Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hildmannplatz 5, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

From central train station, we took a taxi to the hotel to reach the hotel quickly. The ride was not expensive.

We booked 4 nights and asked for 4 bedded room, so we had 2 double beds, and room was reasonably large enough with comfortable space for walking. The rooms were clean, no issues with bathroom and water pressure. Beds were comfortable. Maps were readily available at the reception. Staff was friendly and helpful.

We requested for breakfast at a separate cost and didn't regret it, because the spread was good, and we didn't want to step out of the hotel with an empty stomach to brave the cold waiting for the bus to pass through the tunnel to reach the city centre, especially when the morning traffic jam could take a while to clear up.

The hotel is near to the toy museum and science museum.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor and at the centre. no problem with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice review.

I'm happy to read that you had a good time with us and felt comfortable .

I would be delighted to welcome you with us again and send you lovely greetings from sunny Salzburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    187
    40
    5
    3
See reviews for
61
122
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Located right at the entrance to Old Town Salzburg, but with the amenities of a first rate business hotel, it would be hard to describe this as anything but efficient, friendly and very well staffed. Couldn't think of a better place to stay!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much that you have taken the time to rate us so nice.

I'm happy to read that you had a good time with us and felt comfortable .

I would be delighted to welcome you with us again and send you lovely greetings from sunny Salzburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked 3 nights at Star Inn Zentrum and were very pleased with our stay. The rates are reasonable, the hotel is well kept, the staff is very welcoming and helpful.This hotel is located right behind the Monchsberg - only a few minutes walk to the city centre (via pedstrian tunel through the mountain).
The hotel has a storage room for the luggage, what was very convenient as we arrived early in the morning. We were very pleased to be accommodated in the Annex – separate building at the back of the hotel. Our room (605) was modern, very clean, quiet and had a comfortable bed.
The optional buffet breakfast was good and well presented with plenty of food choices. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The only inconvenience was the lack of kettle. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the hotel rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much that you have taken the time to rate us so nice.

I'm happy to read that you have with us as comfortable.

On your next stay with us, we are happy to lend you a kettle that you can use during your stay in the room.

I would be delighted to welcome you with us again and send you warm greetings from sunny Salzburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, ON., Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for five days. It is close to major attractions, you could have a nice walk to the market, however, I cannot compare it to the Star Inn Vienna as the latter was extremely clean, with excellent and friendly customer service. When it was time to sleep, found out some kind of hair on the bed, presumably pet hair. I hope they will pay more attention to the cleanliness of their room. They claim you could watch one English channel, but it wasn't available.

Overall it is a good value considering its location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am very sorry that the room was not cleaned properly!
Of course I will inform our maids about the incident and in this respect trained.

I would be delighted to welcome you back with us and we can convince you, that we are improving our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, the city itself is great. Having stayed at the hotel for one night we had limited time. The staff were extremely helpful and gave us detailed information about where to go
Hotel itself is good. Its a chain so obviously doesn't have quirks that family owned places but its a great place to stay
Very close to the centre a couple of minutes walk through the tunnel
Parking costs 15 euros a day but other parking charges are high so we didn't mind paying for the ease of it.
Breakfast was great with plenty of choices

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your nice review.

I am very pleased to read that you have felt so comfortable with us
and you enjoyed your stay in Salzburg.

We look forward to welcoming you maybe once again with us and send warm greetings from sunny Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

When we arrived to check in I realised I had booked our family room for the following day. The staff were wonderful and sorted it out for us without any angst. The room was clean and well appointed. The staff organised our dinner reservation and ordered a taxi for us. They gave us sightseeing ideas and directions. A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us so nice.

We are pleased that you have felt comfortable with us.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in our hotel and send warm greetings from Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hey, the place isn't mind blowing expensive. The room/beds are clean, no frills The Manager was a little standoffish when queired for directuon, but I guess that is a fucntion of a busy place with people asking the same questions over and over. The parking is a little tight in the basement but doable. The breakkies was good, 12 euro. IT was quite busy, I think the whole neighborhood must be eating there for breakfast. Overall, if you need a clean place to pass out while you check out the town .. this is your place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us so nice.

We are pleased that you have felt comfortable with us.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in our hotel and send warm greetings from Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Address: Hildmannplatz 5, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have four different room types for you to choose from:48 Standard Rooms 16 m² / 172 ft² in size, furnished with individually controllable thermostats, shower/toilet, and bath with hair dryer, LCD TV with satellite reception, telephone with analog modem, free WLAN access, and a large double bed. Two of these rooms are furnished handicapped accessible. The 17 Business Rooms, at around 20 m² / 215 ft² in size, also feature a comfortable leather sofa. Our 17 Family Rooms are also a good 20 m² / 215 ft² in size and are furnished with two double beds. The 4 suites, each around 50 m² / 538 ft² in size and located on the uppermost floor, furnished with living area, sleeping area, equipped kitchen, and a balcony overlooking the rooftops of the city, guarantee a fantastic stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.