We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cost value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum to your Saves list
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hildmannplatz 5 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 136 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best cost value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

It´s a budget hotel but you don´t need more than 5 minutes to reach the historic sightseeings at Old Town. You just walk through a tunnel (very safe) and it´s in the middle of the Old Town. I realize that there´s a lot of hotels (expensives) located at Old Town but it´s very difficult to get some silence to rest because all the day and at night it´s very noise. Our hotel was very silent, clean but with no luxury. We didn´t have any meal or even breakfast but there´s a lot of places just crossing the tunnel to have lunch or dinner. The room was clean, big and quite modern. You can park behind the hotel just turning right after pass the entrance or use the underground garage from the hotel. I would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.

I'm very happy to hear that you have felt comfortable with us.

We would be delighted to welcome you with us again and send warm greetings from Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    230
    51
    8
    2
See reviews for
89
165
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The room was good, new furnitures and very clean. Modern design and comfortable facilities. Rates are good as well. The location is not far from the center (5-10 minutes by walk). There's an underground garage not far.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice and lovely review.

I'm very happy to hear that you have felt comfortable with us.

We would be delighted to welcome you with us again and send warm greetings from Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were relieved to discover our rooms were air-conditioned even though the hotel website didn't mention it. Great to have, since our weather hit 99F! Easy to find. Excellent value and location without compromising space. Old Town just 5 minutes away through the safe, well-lit pedestrian/bike tunnel. Big rooms that seem like new. Bathrooms fresh and clean with new chalking and grout work... might be all recently renovated. Beds seem like King-size. Breakfast 12E and average with croissants, selection of other bread and spreads, scrambled eggs, meat/cheese assortment, fruit, cereal, yogurt, and sweets. If you can wait on breakfast, walk 10 min towards University Square, you'll pass restaurants and also a market with baked goods. Service at reception was not always with a smile or attentive, but other receptionists made up for the unprofessional one. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms in #600 up are in annex, behind main building. They might be a little dark. We were happy in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review.

I'm very happy to hear that you have felt comfortable with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you with us again and send sunny greetings from Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel the day before we checked in as our travel plans changed last minute. It was well located for the old town, and service was good on reception. The room was clean- except for a mark on the duvet, which was immediately changed when I mentioned it at reception. The rooms were clearly new and modern, and were nice. We didn't use the bar etc. If you want to be close to the old town but not pay high prices (we paid £84) this has well worth it. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice and lovely review.

I'm very happy to hear that you have felt comfortable with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you with us again and send lovely greetings from Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I always choose my hotels based on location and you can't get much better in salzburg than the star inn. Five minutes walk from the famous horse fountain and main shopping street, and with a no. 1 bus stop just outside that takes you to the station. Hotel is very clean and modern, just off a main road but the room was quiet at night. Air con is perhaps too cold! We couldn't find a way to warm the room up. Very friendly man on reception, gave us advice when my friend's bag broke on where to get it fixed. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.

I'm very happy to hear that you have felt comfortable with us.

We would be delighted to welcome you with us again and send warm greetings from Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Early July i stayed at Star Inn, Salzburg. Got a lukewarm response on arrival. Seemed the receptionist had decided not to give a room till 3 pm. They knew we are ariving early but did not tell us their check in times. This is a budget hoel. But cental. Its close to old town attractions. Service is very business like. Stay only if you want to be in a cental location.

Room Tip: No choice. I booke more than 45 days in adance and still didnt get room of choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
We guarantee our guests their room from 3 pm.
You are welcome to check in earlier, if the room is already cleaned, but we can't promise this.

The near of ​​the old town of Salzburg to the hotel is really excellent. After only 5 minutes walk you are already at the center of many attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you again and send warm greetings from Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
#51 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Hohenstauffen Hotel
#19 of 136 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.9 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#23 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#18 of 136 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 720 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#43 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Address: Hildmannplatz 5 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star Inn Hotel is located right in the heart of the city of Mozart, only 300 m from the Playhouse and the famous Getreidegasse. Here the birthplace of the musical child genius is situated. Easily reached from any direction, our hotel offers you the ideal starting point for conducting your business. Or for an unforgettable weekend stay: A wondrous environment, a city centre with incomparable atmosphere and culinary delights at every turn are waiting for you there. The hotel has 61 covered parking spaces available, and the two large public garages under the Monchsberg offer many more only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Venere and Otel so you can book your Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.