We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Mid-level Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum to your Saves list
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hildmannplatz 5 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Good Mid-level Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Please remember that this review is being made by a “spoiled and ugly American” who does not know how to speak German BUT luckily for me, most of the people I ran into in Salzburg knew English and most were more than happy to speak English even though some looked a little disgruntled to have to do it.

The Star Inn is a very clean and nice hotel. The front desk personally were very people friendly and tried to accommodate the wants and needs of a very large group of demanding Americans. There were several different America choirs staying there who were participating in a vocal concert at the DOM (Cathedral). The Hotel was a very short walk to the old town just through a tunnel, cross a road and walk down a pedestrian only road and you were right on the square, a very short walk of about ½ a kilometer or about 1/3 of a mile.

The Hotel had a very good breakfast in the morning but with the amount of people trying to eat, all at the same time, made it difficult for the two attendants to keep up with the demand. (Hint for Americans: There are two “coffee” machines. To make American style coffee take a large coffee cup, make a single shot of espresso then after it is done, hit the “hot water for tea” button (this was in German) but it is the bottom most button on that machines), this will fill the cup with hot water and you have a fair cup of coffee that we are used to). There is a large selection of juices, breads, “cold cuts”, chesses, jam, and two different styles of eggs, one almost hard boiled with shell on and hot, and scrambled eggs.

The room we stayed in was very clean, the bathrooms was tight, again by American standard, but always clean. (3 Hints for Americans: 1. The shower has a double door with magnetic connections and to get to seal, you have to close the doors together so they line up. 2. There will be no washrags and the soup is in a squeeze bottle (it can also be used as a shampoo). 3. The flush for the toilet is on the wall were the toilet is hung, the small button is for #1 and the large for #2 or #1 with TP.)

The two minor gripes. The elevator is small, slow and has a mind of its own at times. Second, there were no channels in English on the television though I did fine it interesting that one channel had the weather for Austrian ski resorts and major tourist towns for two hours from about 7:15 AM to about 9:15 AM. Just live cams from the places with traditional music going on in the background.

Room Tip: The 500 and 600 rooms are in a connecting building and was reported to be a little larger then the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
mumbai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

we had been with the family to this hotel in june 2013, it looked very obvious from the attitude of the reception desk maanger, that they do not like the brown color.
there was an obvious prefferential treatment given to the whites...
after checking in, to our surprise, all the channels on the television were in other laguage and
there was not a single english channel or bbc or cnn...news channel.
on asking them, they were unable give us the proper reply.
so all my friends who only communicate in english, is's our sincere advise to look for the other options,...and avoid this hotel in particular...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doctor102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm very sorry that they did not have felt comfortable.

You had the feeling that our employees make a difference between cultures, I can not understand.
As Hotelliere you have every day to deal with people from different cultures and this is precisely what makes our work so exciting.

We would be very pleased if we can convince you otherwise with your next stay and send warm greetings from Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hotel was very modern with great facilities. I think it was built in 2008. It is closed to everything and there are 2 bus stations nearby.
If i ever go back to salzburg, i am going to Star Inn!.
I wish the breaksfast was cheaper....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slavica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

many thanks for taking your time and review us that good.

We are very pleased to read that you had a nice time with us.

We would be delighted to welcome you again and send lovely greetings from Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed in this hotel from 01-03June, 2013, with my family. I did not go through a tour operator (planned everything on my own), and hence was a bit sceptical. Finding the hotel was a bit of a challenge - it is about 10-12 mins bus-ride from Salzburg Hbf station. However, it is walking distance from the main attractions such as Mozart's house, the main museum, etc. There are only 1-2 shops/restaurants nearby - be prepared for this drawback. The family room where I was booked, could have been a bit bigger. The hotel does not provide electric kettles in the room. However, the staff were very helpful and sorted out small glitches. Cleanliness and security were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnirbanGanguly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback, that means a lot to us.
In deed, there are just a few shops next to the hotel but it's just 5 minutes to walk to the old town where a lot of very nice shops and restaurants are waiting for you. If you want any recommendations for luch or dinner, we will gladly help you.

We do not have kettles at the rooms, that right, but just tell the staff at the reception, the gladly will help you and borrow you one of our kettles.

We would be very happy to welcome you again and send lovely greetings from Salzburg

Vanessa Rosenmayer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

With this hotel you get what you pay for. Budget hotel. Clean. Good sized room. I found the bed hard, but that's my personal opinion. Didn't have breakfast at the hotel so can't comment.
It's location is it's selling point. Only 5 minutes walk to central Salzburg. Parking underneath was easy and convenient. Also had free wifi but you had to re-login every 20 minutes. This is still better than the more expensive hotels that charge for wi-fi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback!

I'm glad to inform you, that we changed the wi-fi system in our hotel. Now our guests are connected for 24 hours and the procedure to connect is much easier.

We would be very happy to welcome you again and send lovely greetings from Salzburg

Vanessa Rosenmayer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

While hard to find and having to park your car a few blocks away, it is well worth it. Very modern and clean. Looks rather new. We really liked it and the location is superb. They need to inform you that to drive to the hotel you need a passcode to lower a pole in the narrow street to enter the area and that there is only one of the few that you can use. It was very confusing.

Room Tip: Talk or email the hotel to get instructions on how to get by the pole to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashevilleguy7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for your great feedback!
I am happy to read, that you had a well stay in our Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbräu. Obviously you mixed up our two locations in the town. Star Inn Hotel Salzburg ZENTRUM is outside oft the pole area of Salzburg. Always accessibly by car without any traffic restrictions and we are able to offer our guest 45 private parking lots at additional cost of 15 Euro.

I will forward for commend to my colleagues from Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbräu. We will work on it to inform our guest in advance about the car access and parking possibility.

I m looking forward to welcoming you again in Star Inn Hotels.
Christian Doppelhofer, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We've just spent a long weekend at this hotel. For the rate we paid we really couldn't fault the room or location. Just a short walk throught the tunnel beneath the mountain and we were in the wonderful old town. The room was very clean but could really benefit from air conditioning. There is a fan in the room but the weather was quite humid and this made the room unbearably hot. Our rating would be much higher except there was a trainee on reception called Tatijana who was so rude - not just to us but to several other guests too. I suggest whoever is training her needs to monitor her more closely as she has a lot to learn about customer service. She was abrupt and never said please or thank you and did not smile despite wearing her 'smiley' badge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaidenheadCocoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest!
Dear Guest!
Thank you very much for the time you spent to give me feedback about your stay in our hotel.

I am very sorry to hear your stay wasn’t as pleasant you expected it to be. Normally our air conditioning works better, but we had hidden problems. After a thorough check-up last week all the problems are now fixed.

Mrs Tatijaner is a student apprentice and still has a lot to learn. This does not, of course, justify her behavior and I truly apologize for her rudeness. I will see to it that this will never happen again. Your feedback is, however, very valuable for it will force her to think about and reflect upon her behavior and her attitude towards our guests. I assure you that we will handle this matter in a correct and constructive way with her and thank you again for your honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.8 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#34 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#17 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
1.1 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#45 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 614 reviews
0.5 mi away
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
#33 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Address: Hildmannplatz 5 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#35 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star Inn Hotel is located right in the heart of the city of Mozart, only 300 m from the Playhouse and the famous Getreidegasse. Here the birthplace of the musical child genius is situated. Easily reached from any direction, our hotel offers you the ideal starting point for conducting your business. Or for an unforgettable weekend stay: A wondrous environment, a city centre with incomparable atmosphere and culinary delights at every turn are waiting for you there. The hotel has 61 covered parking spaces available, and the two large public garages under the Monchsberg offer many more only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing