We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Hotel in central Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Save Saved
You added Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hildmannplatz 5 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Budget Hotel in central Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

With this hotel you get what you pay for. Budget hotel. Clean. Good sized room. I found the bed hard, but that's my personal opinion. Didn't have breakfast at the hotel so can't comment.
It's location is it's selling point. Only 5 minutes walk to central Salzburg. Parking underneath was easy and convenient. Also had free wifi but you had to re-login every 20 minutes. This is still better than the more expensive hotels that charge for wi-fi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback!

I'm glad to inform you, that we changed the wi-fi system in our hotel. Now our guests are connected for 24 hours and the procedure to connect is much easier.

We would be very happy to welcome you again and send lovely greetings from Salzburg

Vanessa Rosenmayer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    183
    40
    5
    2
See reviews for
69
128
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

While hard to find and having to park your car a few blocks away, it is well worth it. Very modern and clean. Looks rather new. We really liked it and the location is superb. They need to inform you that to drive to the hotel you need a passcode to lower a pole in the narrow street to enter the area and that there is only one of the few that you can use. It was very confusing.

Room Tip: Talk or email the hotel to get instructions on how to get by the pole to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for your great feedback!
I am happy to read, that you had a well stay in our Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbräu. Obviously you mixed up our two locations in the town. Star Inn Hotel Salzburg ZENTRUM is outside oft the pole area of Salzburg. Always accessibly by car without any traffic restrictions and we are able to offer our guest 45 private parking lots at additional cost of 15 Euro.

I will forward for commend to my colleagues from Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbräu. We will work on it to inform our guest in advance about the car access and parking possibility.

I m looking forward to welcoming you again in Star Inn Hotels.
Christian Doppelhofer, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We've just spent a long weekend at this hotel. For the rate we paid we really couldn't fault the room or location. Just a short walk throught the tunnel beneath the mountain and we were in the wonderful old town. The room was very clean but could really benefit from air conditioning. There is a fan in the room but the weather was quite humid and this made the room unbearably hot. Our rating would be much higher except there was a trainee on reception called Tatijana who was so rude - not just to us but to several other guests too. I suggest whoever is training her needs to monitor her more closely as she has a lot to learn about customer service. She was abrupt and never said please or thank you and did not smile despite wearing her 'smiley' badge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest!
Dear Guest!
Thank you very much for the time you spent to give me feedback about your stay in our hotel.

I am very sorry to hear your stay wasn’t as pleasant you expected it to be. Normally our air conditioning works better, but we had hidden problems. After a thorough check-up last week all the problems are now fixed.

Mrs Tatijaner is a student apprentice and still has a lot to learn. This does not, of course, justify her behavior and I truly apologize for her rudeness. I will see to it that this will never happen again. Your feedback is, however, very valuable for it will force her to think about and reflect upon her behavior and her attitude towards our guests. I assure you that we will handle this matter in a correct and constructive way with her and thank you again for your honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Star Inn Salzburg Zentrum is just a 5 minutes foot walk away from the city center of Salzburg. You will find many Hotels in this city but just a few in this location and for this price. If you book short before your arrival the Hotel will always tell you that they have no more Standard rooms available but only business rooms. This only means that there is a leather chair in the room which the standard room doesn't have. But selling a business room they will charge you EUR 10,00 to 20,00 more than the standard room. Whenever I booked this hotel, the standard rate was never available but even the business room rate is OK.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you for your feedback!
On our website or triadvisor you can always find good offers. Of course our standard rooms are the first sold out.

I am welcoming you again in Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights and it was good. very good location, just a few minutes to the city center. 2 bus stations in front of the hotel. nice room and nice service staff. i can really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you yery much for your feedback and recommendation. At the trolly bus station in front of the hotel stop the bus line 1, 4 and 10. There are direct connections to train stadion or airport.

Best regards from Salzburg

Christian Doppelhofer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is not a luxury hotel by any definition. It is strictly functional. BUT it is VERY functional. The rooms are small but very warm (this is a very rare feature in hotels in Europe in the winter). The heating is fabulous. And the staff really friendly. The bathrooms are small but good. The hotel is BRILLIANTLY located. And there is a bus from the station that drops you right at the hotel entrance. The breakfast is also very good - one of the best we had in 2 months in Europe. It is not an inexpensive hotel but given how convenient it is, I will surely book here again - particularly if I am in Salzburg in the winter.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your through and through lovely and good rating.

We are very pleased to read that you have a comfortable time with us.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Advent this year.

We send greetings from sunny Salzburg and are looking forward to a reunion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel is definitely not a luxury hotel but a good, clean and functional hotel. The rooms were ideal though the beds were a tad bit hard. The wifi interner was super fast but the only catch was the loggin in very half an hour or so. The breakfast did not have a lavish spread and had the basic essentials like cereals, bread, cold meat and eggs.
The location however was very good. Its a few minutes walk to the old town and the other attractions.We were visiting during Christmas and the whole area seemed very dead. There was a Chinese restaurant bang opposite the hotel which we enjoyed a lot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review. Nice that you felt well with us.

I'm happy to announce that we have fully equipped our hotel with new and thicker mattresses in September. This makes your sleep even more comfortable!

In Salzburg there are many excellent restaurant. Let our staff at the reception give you a recommondation for your dinner in Salzburg .

We would be delighted to welcome you back with us and remain with kind regards from the city of Mozart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Address: Hildmannplatz 5 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#32 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star Inn Hotel is located right in the heart of the city of Mozart, only 300 m from the Playhouse and the famous Getreidegasse. Here the birthplace of the musical child genius is situated. Easily reached from any direction, our hotel offers you the ideal starting point for conducting your business. Or for an unforgettable weekend stay: A wondrous environment, a city centre with incomparable atmosphere and culinary delights at every turn are waiting for you there. The hotel has 61 covered parking spaces available, and the two large public garages under the Monchsberg offer many more only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.