We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum to your Saves list
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hildmannplatz 5 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Just stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

This is an excellent hotel for overall value. Its not a 5star hotel, but it gets 5 stars for what you get vs. what you pay, and location. Nice, clean, modern rooms, and very affordable prices. Even the Suites which are pretty large are still very cheap by European Standards. Location is next to the tourist center-old town. We lived in Salzburg for over a year, and I always recommended this hotel first to our friends. My only complaints would be cost of internet & parking, otherwise great value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    215
    46
    7
    2
See reviews for
80
155
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

It was a good place to stay in Salzburg at a decent cost. It was more than we expected.
It has a good location near old center. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

This hotel has a very good relationship between price and quality. It has simple, yet comfortable rooms for a reasonable price. It's located next to Salzburg's city center, although you have to go through a pedestrian tunnel under a rock to get into the center. The staff is very solicitous and they all speak good English as well as some Italian. This hotel fits more in the range of "budget hotels" (just like the Ibis brand, offering good quality for good price), so it's not very exclusive. As an example the soap in the bathroom was liquid and nailed to the wall (I mean that the hotel does not offer those bathroom kits that are changed on a daily basis). Well that's not much of a problem since the price is reasonable. Breakfast was excellent though, yet it was not included in the room price (it cost 11 euros per person).

Just watch out for the room service in the morning. If you are leaving your room a little bit later, make sure to hang on the door knob the do not disturb sign because they tend to clean the room at about 10 am. During our stay, they knocked on the door and we didn't respond soon enough, so they just opened the door.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

The hotel, located just beside the tunnel leading into central Salzburg is a great location for exploring the city. In just a few minutes walk you can be right in the heart of Salzburg. The rooms are standard, but clean, and the hotel's location just outside the center of the city provides some peace and quiet and lets you take a break from the crowds.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights, and don't have anything to complain about apart from the costs of drinks. 2.50 Euros each for two wee bottles of Fanta!
We did notice though that being able to speak the local lingo helps you a great deal better than always expecting folk to understand English, especially in the current climate.
Anyway, getting to the Hotel is 10 euroes with taxi, considerably cheaper if you use the bus from the train station or the number 8 from the airport, approx. 20 min distance.
Checking in went smoothly with a local girl who did speak good english.
The room was on the top floor, and we felt the hotel was of good standard and secure.
The room was decent size, well for a short stay anyway, with a balcony.
Shower was excellent, bed was hard but comfy, pillows weren't up to much, but still had a decent nights sleep.
Unfortunately we were kept awake a couple of times by our next door neighour on the 2nd night, as down also to the thin walls unfortunately.
We missed coffee making facilities.
If you are looking to stay for one or two nights then this is ok, as its conviniently close to the old town and great for public transport systems.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

Stayed here for two nights week between Christmas and New Years.

Another reviewer mentioned that it is like an Ibis. I think that is correct. The rooms are very clean, everything seems new. My room wasn't small and the bathroom was a good size. Didn't have any of the issues other mentioned with the shower leaking. I think you just have to be careful how you close the shower doors.

Water from the bar is expensive. I wish I had realized there was a SPAR close by. Breakfast is extra. No warm things, but the rest was good.

Bed is slighly hard, but it's a full size bed for two people and was comfortable to me. I had not trouble with the internet, but you do need to ask for it. They didn't volunteer it at the desk and make you sign a form before they give you a logon code. Once on, the speed was good and I had no dropped connections. The heating makes a little bit of noise. Nothing to prevent sleep, but you do hear it. LCD TV and tthe decor is more modern/IKEA style. It was quiet and the area around the hotel is quiet.

Overall, I liked the place. It's very convenient. The tunnel, to the right when you walk out of the hotel, takes less than 5 minutes to traverse and you come out right in the old town. It's not far from anything. 1 or 4 buses come here from the central bus station. A machine by the station sells tickets for 1.90 euro. The bus stop for the hotel is the Reichenhaller Straße stop. I didn't have the pleasure of talking to Thomas...

Even factoring the added breakfast cost, for the location/service, it's very reasonable. I would stay here again if I come back to Salzburg.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

The star inn hotel in Salzburg Austria holds a grumpy old man night receptionist name Thomas. He is an arrogant man that will tell you off at a drop of a hat. The internet service drops with out warning and some areas of the building I was told that hardly works. The night man receptionist is a grumpy old man that refuses to answer any questions as how to use the room’s phone or how to give simple directions. He actually told me “I DO NOT WANT TO TALK TO YOU” I spoke to the manager and informed him about Thomas. The manager apologized and brushed me off by offering me free breakfast. Overall very bad experience. Rooms are good Young girl receptionist, was nice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Address: Hildmannplatz 5 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star Inn Hotel is located right in the heart of the city of Mozart, only 300 m from the Playhouse and the famous Getreidegasse. Here the birthplace of the musical child genius is situated. Easily reached from any direction, our hotel offers you the ideal starting point for conducting your business. Or for an unforgettable weekend stay: A wondrous environment, a city centre with incomparable atmosphere and culinary delights at every turn are waiting for you there. The hotel has 61 covered parking spaces available, and the two large public garages under the Monchsberg offer many more only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.