We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, except for the mosquitoes!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof

Save Saved
You added Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof
Hammerauer Strasse | Nr. 4, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
North Caldwell, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful, except for the mosquitoes!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

I picked this hotel based upon the stellar reviews and I am not sorry I did. The room was much bigger than expected (had a kitchenette!) and had a separate toilet (great for young children), but the best part was the meals. Outstanding breakfast (cooked to order eggs!) and dinner was fabulous. We stayed three nights and had dinner there the first two. Something for everyone, although the menu didn't change when we were there and dining there three straight nights might have been a stretch.

Free parking is a plus and we drove downtown because there were five of us (three adults, two children) so I can't comment on the bus, but did see the stop, maybe 150 meters away. Parking all day in the Allstadt garage is 14 Euros, so economical from our standpoint and it took no longer than 10 minutes. I'd also watch my step walking around the hotel. It appeared the horses pulling the horse-drawn carriages in the Old Town are stabled quite close to the hotel, and they're not quite so diligent cleaning up after them as they are downtown.

My one criticism is the lack of screens on the windows and the dearth of information on how to deal with the mosquitoes in the rooms. When we arrived, the windows in our rooms were open and I didn't think anything of it until we returned from dinner, only to find a ton of mosquitoes in the rooms. There were these green, air-freshener-type things that you could plug into an outlet on the tables, but no instructions on what they were or what to do with them (ignorant American?), so I didn't do anything. Boy, was that a mistake!!! I woke up in the middle of the night, swatting like crazy. I closed the windows but the damage had been done. My son had 27 mosquito bites! I felt awful. It wasn't 'til the next day that we figured out what to do with those green things, but how I wish some mention of them had been made in the Hotel Information in the room. But our bad luck is your gain and shouldn't deter you from visiting this gem. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    375
    98
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
149
258
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

This was our first stop on our first trip to Europe, and we loved it. We received a very warm welcome, some good advice on things to do and see, and a very hearty breakfast in the morning. Our room was well-furnished and very clean. We had a great view of the mountains. There's a bus stop just across the street, so we used all-day bus passes to get everywhere we wanted to go around Salzburg. It's only a 20-minute drive to Berchtesgaden and Eagles Nest. Our only complaint was the sloping roof in our top-floor room. I hit my head a few times getting into bed and the shower.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We were very pleased with our stay here! The bus was pretty easy to figure out compared to other places we've been, but the days that we had a car were even easier. We used a car the days that we drove to the outskirts of Salzburg, and we took the bus to visit the city. This worked out very well. Just make sure that you have an updated bus map, etc, and that you read the signs carefully for the departure/arrival times. The breakfast was very good at the Blobergerhof. I especially enjoyed the coffee cake! The room was just right! The hotel is in a great setting, and it really is "top value!" I think that the rates were appropriate- I think that one thing that makes the Blobergerhof so marketable is that they don't overcharge their guests. Everything was wonderful! If I ever make it back to Salzburg I will stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

We stayed 3 nights at Bloberger Hof Pension about 20 minutes out of Salzburg. We found it easy to get into town by bus, with the stop a few minutes walk. The Hotel is set amongst open fields and residential areas. Make time to go for a relaxing stroll along the country roads and discover the charm of the local houses and farms. Our room was split level, with lounge downstairs, and bedroom, ensuite upstairs. It was tastefully furnished and kept very clean. We awoke to a magnificent view of the Untersberg Mountain from our bedroom window, and a view of open fields from the spa bathroom. The house is spacious and charming, with an Austrian cultural feel. Our host family looked after us very well, from picking us up at the train station, to settling us in on arrival. We particularly enjoyed the dining experiences , with good breakfast choices, and the delicious dinner menu, which made it easy not having to travel for meals. The best kept secret of Salzburg is the cable car trip up the Untersburg. Take the bus from the city, and enjoy the beautiful countryside views on the way up, and the eerily quiet atmosphere on top of the mountain. Salzburg was a refreshing change from the bigger cities, with it's old town narrow streets, the fortress, and the Sound of Music Tour. (A must see). We found the Salzburg card to be the best value of all city cards, as it offered more benefits to sightseeing highlights etc. We bought ours from Inga at the Pension Hotel. We recommend the Bloberger Hof as quality accommodation In Salzburg.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domburg, Suriname
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Value for money, even included the taxi ride to and from the historical center of Salzburg. Nice room (we had a junior suite), good breakfast, friendly owners, and beautiful, quiet, rural location. Very good restaurant. Fly screens could make a stay perfect: many mozzies.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We only stayed 2 nights in this pension and wish we would have stayed longer. Initially we were booked in a 2 bedroom apartment we did not like and we were moved to another room with no problems (additional charge for superior room). The first room was a 2 bedroom apartment (Room 7) which was dated in my opinion and had a small bathroom. The second room was Room 17--which was a recently decorated room, 2 story loft, pine furniture and marble bathroom--much larger than the previous bathroom. The location like everyone has mentioned is 15 minutes bus ride which we took because downtown was very busy at the moment with festivals and the parking is a lot more difficult and expensive than riding the bus. The bus ride itself was very simple once you figure everything down. The breakfasts were wonderful. Chef Robert has a great menu available for dinner. I loved the dinners in this place and they add a special touch to the Pension. The pension is a family business and they work very hard to make everyone happy. I would stay again at the Pension if we return to Salzburg.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We wanted to stay one night in Salzburg in oder to do the Sound of Music tour and a Mozart concert, so I booked two rooms at the Blobergerhof, based on price mainly (it was much more reasonable than any of the places in downtown Salzburg). I was hoping that the rooms would be at least clean and adequate. Little did I imagine that we had found the true gem of our two week stay in Europe! What a splendid little place this is! A beautiful, rustic location, with stunning views (but only fifteen minutes or less from the center of Salzburg by car). Wonderful, professional management-- most friendly and accomodating. The cleanest rooms I've ever seen, and very charming, too. A wonderful breakfast in the morning (we were sorry not to be able to try the restaurant), with omelettes made to order! We mourned when we had to leave for Mittenwald, and cursed that we hadn't booked at least one more night in Salzburg! Then, on checking out, Inge, the innkeeper informed us that the rooms we had were "only" "standard" rooms (not deluxe as in our original reservation (could have fooled us-- they were large & charming, both)-- so she was refunding 15 euro per room to us! Talk about ethical; she could have charged us the full amount, and we still would have thought it a bargain. What an honest woman-- and charming, too! We've been back from Europe only a week-- but it's the Blobergerhof we miss the most! Highly recommended for anyone traveling to Salzburg!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof

Address: Hammerauer Strasse | Nr. 4, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small but beautiful family-run 3-star hotel just outside of the Mozart city of Salzburg is surrounded by nature, yet is only 5 km from the historic centre. The main sights of Salzburg can be reached within 15 minutes by bus. Our stylishly furnished rooms offer great views of the Untersberg mountain or the Hohensalzburg Fortress. Enjoy a tasty dinner in our restaurant and let the day come to an end with a glass of wine in a friendly atmosphere. The hotel offers you the chance to relax and recharge your batteries, but is an ideal starting point for many sights as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Bloberger Hof

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.