We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast in Austria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof to your Saves list
Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof
Hammerauer Strasse | Nr. 4, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Austria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We landed in Munich and drove to the Austrian countryside, to find this adorable pension! our garmi took us in circles to find Bloberger Hof, but when we finally came upon it, it was wonderful. This is a very nice place to stay, and the family that runs it are wonderful. The breakfast is beyond compare and our room was extremely clean and neat. We were within a very short walking distance of the bus that took us right into the center of Salzburg. There are restaurants and shops nearby, but the dinners at the Bloberger Hof were great too. The grounds are beautiful, and the surrounding area is great for walking or cycling. Bloberger Hof sits right at the base of the Alps, and I have a great photo of a sunrise over the Alps! Beautiful accomodations, great people, great food, great location...I can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    107
    23
    6
    1
See reviews for
163
284
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

As we approached Bloberger Hof on our way from the Bahnhof station, we were taken up by the picturesque location. The Hotel which is in a typical Austrian traditional style was very charming and we could not have made a better choice. The fact that it is a family run hotel added a personal touch to our stay. Sylvia who takes care of the bookings and reservations as well as tour reservations is very efficient .Her mother , a very pleasant lady,oversees the breakfast which is served in a very cozy room. We had dinner during 2 nights of our stay and were very pleased . The food was very appetizing and well presented. The restaurant is closed on Sunday and we ate at a restaurant down the road.
WIth the convenience of a having a bus stop in close proximity to go to the town centre gives one the option of staying in the country side with beautiful views of the mountains .
The rooms were cozy ,yet spacious and spotlessly clean.
Would love to stay there again! Hopefully soon. ......

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed here in June and had a very nice stay. The place is very clean and the room was perfect for a family of four. Two adults and two kids ages 14 and 10. The owners are very helpful and friendly and the hotel and grounds are well maintained and there are nice views of the nearby mountains. The hotel is about a 15 minute drive in Salzburg. Very convenient and easy. You can take a bus as well, but we drove. It is a great location for trips to Berchtesgaden and Lake Konigsee as well. The only downside was the lack of air conditioning (which is typical in this area). We happened to hit Salzburg when the temps hit 85 degrees F. The fan the supplied wasn't quite sufficient.

The restaurant in the hotel was a pleasant surprise. They served a great dinner menu - even had a kids menu for our picky eater kids. It was pleasant to eat out on the patio and have have some nice cold Austrian beer and a nice meal. Ended up eating there two nights out of a 4 night stay. I would recommend this place for families. The place seemed to be filled with Americans with their Rick Steves books, so if you want to get "away" from Americans you may want to stay elsewhere....

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Bloberger Hof for five nights at the beginning of May, 2010 on our two week trip through Munich, Salzburg, and Hallstatt. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again. Our "Superior" room was very roomy, tastefully decorated, and had a scenic view of green hills. The best features of Bloberger Hof are its location in a quiet, serene, residential neighborhood, its excellent ground floor restaurant, and the large, comfortable room. We had a rental car so did not try the bus transportation into Altstadt (Old City). By car, it was an easy 10 minute drive to the Altstadt parking lot. It was also easy to access the A10 for the Eisriesenwelt Ice Caves, Hohenwerfen Castle, Golling Waterfalls, Konigssee, and Obersalzberg. We received a recommendation from the hotel to visit Gut Aiderbichl animal sanctuary, 20 minutes by car from Salzburg. It was not in any of the guide books but turned out to be one of the highlights of our stay. Bloberger Hof was our favorite hotel during our two week stay in Germany and Austria.

Pros:
large, comfortable "Superior" room with balcony and view
buffet breakfast with good selection and eggs cooked to order
hard working and friendly owner, Inge
restaurant with excellent menu downstairs for dinner
quiet, serene neighborhood 10 minute drive to Altstadt
excellent wifi reception
plenty of parking behind hotel
easy access to A10 for surrounding sights
large bathroom with separate room for toilet

Cons:
must take bus into Altstadt if don't have a car
ceiling above shower is slanted and too low
floor of bathroom gets wet from shower

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Bloberger Hof which can be described as traditional a chalet style with lots of pine in all rooms. The room was spotless and a good size. We had a balcony with clear views of the mountains across the fields. The room was cleaned daily and the towels were replaced as needed. There was a separate bathroom and toilet. The bath was a good size even for my 190cm length and I could easier lay out in it. We had a comfortable bed settee to sit on with a coffee table next to it. The bed was wider than the one at home with separate duvets. There is ample free parking but the hotel is on the outskirts of Salzburg though this is not a problem as the bus stop is close by and the buses run until about midnight. The hotel is on the right side of Salzburg if you wish to drive into Bavaria with Berchtesgaden about 25 minutes away. We tried the restaurant about four times in the evenings and were not disappointed with a 3 course meal working out at about 20 to 25 euros each. The restaurant was always busy and one evening we were shown to an overspill dining room, there is also an outside area when the weather is good. For vegetarians there is limited choice which is mainly fish and pasta dishes. The owners are friendly and speak English, and will provide a kettle and cups as well as an ironing board and iron if needed. The breakfast is more than adequate with the extra offer of freshly cooked eggs. There were some minor criticisms which consisted of there was only one English business channel on the TV. The road from the airport to the hotel is only a narrow single track road in places. There are no shops in the immediate vicinity if you want to get in some extra supplies. There was mini bar in the room but the drinks were slightly expensive and you would only use it as a last resort. As with all hotels it can be noisy with passing traffic, gravel car park and inconsiderate guests. There is no air conditioning but fans are available from the reception. Would we stay there again, yes we would and are starting to plan another trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Just returned from a four night break in Salzburg where we stayed at the Bloberger Hof. The hotel was wonderful - beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and friendly staff. The breakfast is great and the evening meal delicious. The hotel is a 20 minute bus ride into the main city, however the bus is very reliable and stops very close to the hotel. We actually preferred staying a little out of the city. We got the best of both worlds with city sights and beautiful country views after a day of sight seeing. I cannot recommend the Bloberger Hof and the city of Salzburg enough. We had a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenbower, West Sussex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We were in Salzburg for 3 nights during a 17 day holiday in Bavaria and Austria and this was the perfect choice for this stop. It also coincided with my son's first birthday and they made us feel very welcome. Apologies to the other guests who were very gracious while he excited opened cards and presents during breakfast.

One thing to note, the Sat Nav made our arrival very interesting, taking us along the road a very interesting way. It is worth putting Moostrasse in first, then once in the area, change to the hotel address.

The hotel is about as quaint and authentic Austrian as you could get, but note there is no lift so rooms on the second floor shold be avoided for the hard of walking.

While in the city my parents did the Sound of Music Tour which the rest of us had already done. We instead did the Hop On Hop Off tour which visits most of the same locations that are in the city for 6 euros less.

Wealso went to the Eagles Nest which is worth a trip but don't expect a historical attraction, it is more a restaurant at the top of a mountain with historical significance and consequently, more protected.

The first night was a Sunday so the restaurant was closed, so we were pointed to the restaurant at the end of the road which was very good. On the 3rd night (Tuesday) we decided to go to the same place but that was then closed. So we tried the restaurant and, although they were incredibly busy, they found room for the 7 of us. And we are so glad they did. Food was fantastic!

Just remember to buy your diesel fuel in Austria as it's 20% cheaper than Germany, across the border.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof

Address: Hammerauer Strasse | Nr. 4, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
#2 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small but beautiful family-run 3-star hotel just outside of the Mozart city of Salzburg is surrounded by nature, yet is only 5 km from the historic centre. The main sights of Salzburg can be reached within 15 minutes by bus. Our stylishly furnished rooms offer great views of the Untersberg mountain or the Hohensalzburg Fortress. Enjoy a tasty dinner in our restaurant and let the day come to an end with a glass of wine in a friendly atmosphere. The hotel offers you the chance to relax and recharge your batteries, but is an ideal starting point for many sights as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Bloberger Hof

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.